Pinnacle Airlines Reviews

Updated Oct 21, 2018

To filter reviews, or .
2.1
12%
Recommend to a Friend
23%
Approve of CEO
Pinnacle Airlines President & CEO Ryan Gumm (no image)
Ryan Gumm
4 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flight benefits, lots of upward mobility, family atmosphere(in 22 reviews)

  • "Travel benefits thru Delta, that's it(in 11 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Corporate left Memphis TN to relocate to MN(in 11 reviews)

  • "Pilots complain about line maintenance, dispatchers complain about(in 10 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work, opportunities were made possible to staff from upper management. Sawyer - Trineary .

      Apr 28, 2018 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work, opportunities were made possible to staff from upper management. Sawyer - Trineary, great leaders

      Cons

      AIRLINE INDUSTRY AT THAT POINT IN TIME WAS EFFECTED NEGATIVELY.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Flight Attendant

      Oct 21, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      pros are the Travel benefits

      Cons

      cons are the Long hours

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good not great

      Sep 11, 2018 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They were good to work with. Growth and a lot of history

      Cons

      Not a clear sense of direction

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      The Facts About Flight Attending

      Nov 20, 2008 - Flight Attendant in Detroit, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Visiting different cities within the country. Medical and dental insurance. Free travel on Northwest Airlines (on standby). Reserve doesn't last long (reserve is like being on call) only about 2-6 months. There isn't someone watching you all the time, telling you how to do your job. You come in and do your best. The training lasts about 3 weeks and isn't difficult to someone with half a brain.

      Cons

      Other airlines seem to treat their employees better. The destination cities are places that no one really wants to visit (it is a commuter airline). The days are too long, sometimes 13+ hrs. Some overnights are not long enough, resulting in tired and grouchy crews. The hotels, although paid for, are not great. I would recommend staying at the Hampton Inn at every city we go.... The flight attendant contract isn't good. The pay doesn't seem fair because we only get paid from the time we close the aircraft door to the time we open it. This means that sometimes, the work day will be 13 hrs, but the actual amount of hours that we get paid for is maybe 6-8. Trips last anywhere from 1-4 days, which becomes difficult if you have children, pets, or health issues. Also being gone for days at a time has proven to have an extreme effect on personal relationships :(

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      This is a bottom of the barrel airline. They work you until you quit if you can afford to do that.

      Apr 3, 2012 -  in Minneapolis, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You have flight benefits. If you do your job well you can do your job and not have management overseeing your day to day.

      Cons

      You have flight benefits but our seniority is awful. We are the last of the last to get a seat. We are below other company employees buddy passes and retirees. The company opted out of a better flight benefit package. We pay $50 a year to activate and there are no buddy passes. Parents can fly but they pay aprox .09 cents per mile. Other companies have buddy passes and parents fly with no fees. If I could I would go mainline. If I stayed regional I would choose SkyWest. I have met many of SkyWest flight crew and they are happy with the way they are treated. Ask any Pinnacle flight crew and I cannot say I am in the least bit confident you would get a complimentary response. Pay for first officers and flight attendants are very poor. Flight attendants and a first officer with any family qualify for food stamps, it is very shameful. People should be payed a living wage in this country.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      get in, do your time and leave

      Dec 17, 2011 - A&P Pinnacle Airlines in Detroit, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1) work on commercial jets 2) flight benefits 3) not a bad place out of school 4) no union

      Cons

      1) pay not the greatest 2) speed over quality 3) high turnover 4) poor management 5) base managers and foreman treat the mechanics like crap 6) NO COMMUNICATION between any part of the company starting from the top and on down 7) terrible training company (learn as you go, then get written up for not knowing enough) 8) have to deal with the constant "hair on fire mentality" 9) as of 2012 no more pay raises 10) only incentives are "you got through the day without being written up", no bonuses (unless you work in Memphis HQ, then you do every quarter, at least 11) lack of inventory of parts required to do daily fuctions 12) "health benefits" *note sarcasm* 13) expected to do way more than time permits, LOTS of cutting corners and lack of safety equipment. 14) If you can't get a 3 hour job done in 1 we will replace you with someone that can 15) doing procedures by the book optional 16) Ramco computer system (logbook entries, inventory systems and etc.) is a nightmare at best I could continue but I'm getting sick of typing

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      I enjoy working there. Sure the paycut sucked but I enjoy the people and nature of the business.

      Mar 6, 2013 - A&P Mechanic in Detroit, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great coworkers, ok, 3 out of 5 coworkers are fun if you can take and give in the joke department. We are mechanics....high strung, highly rude mouthed but get the job done kind of people. I work on aircraft. Aircraft people trust to go 35,000 feet in the air and not break apart. Everyday is a learning experience no matter how long you've been in the field.

      Cons

      Recently took a paycut and had a hike in the health insurance department. Not for the faint of heart. Only thing worse would've been if the company didn't pull through bankruptcy and we ended up out of a job.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      OK place to work if you are desperate or want to get your foot in the door.

      Aug 6, 2011 - A&P Mechanic in Fort Wayne, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Will hire pretty much anyone with a A&P license. -Easy to gain seniority due to extremely high turn-over rate. -Flight benefits though poor, at least you have them. -Typically manageable work load.

      Cons

      -Below average pay for the industry. -Incompetent and naive upper management -Condescending and unwilling to help middle and lower management. -Will hire anyone is both a pro and a con due to employees typically have poor work ethic. -More interested in getting work done fast then have adequate training and follow proper procedure. -Management is not interested in helping the employee . They often say they will do something to make your job easier but 7 months down the road it has yet to happen. -Job responsibilities are typically passed down from upper management all the way to the mechanics. -Lower management rarely complies with job duties lines out in the companies General Maintenance Manual which forces mechanics to pick up the slack. -Unevenly delegated work load at times. - I hope you don't like performance reviews because you wont get them .

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Terrible Management, Horrible Treatment

      Jan 25, 2012 - Pilot in Memphis, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's an opportunity to get industry experience to MOVE ON. Other than management, the flight crews are alot of fun.

      Cons

      Management constantly makes terrible decisions jeopardizing the financial health of the airline. Money is constantly wasted throughout the operations. Benefits department staff is never ever helpful. Promotions are unfairly handed out. Evaluations are not fair, especially with certain indivuduals. The majority of the people in power from Chief pilot to Line Check Airman have found themselves in these positions because they do not qualify to get a job at a major airline.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great coworkers, everything with mgmt and corporate is a giant mess with nobody being accountable.

      Dec 2, 2012 - Flight Attendant in Memphis, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing crewmembers and use to have great benefits including health insurance but that's all going away with the new TAs

      Cons

      You can't get any answers from corporate regarding leaves, pay mistakes, schedule errors, etc... I spend my entire leave trying to get the things I needed and had questions of how it worked and nobody could answer them and didn't know who I could talk too. We (crew) are people too and should be treated with respect. Crew scheduling went through a phase of constantly lying and hanging up on us. Per our contract I'm required to talk to you and you made the mistake so don't hang up on me!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 118 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Pinnacle Airlines Job Seekers

    Flight Attendant
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Pinnacle Airlines? Share Your Experiences

    Pinnacle Airlines logo
    or