Pinnacle Airlines "flight benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

Pinnacle Airlines Reviews

Updated Mar 12, 2015

To filter reviews, or .

2.1
13%
Recommend to a Friend
23%
Approve of CEO
Pinnacle Airlines President & CEO Ryan Gumm (no image)
Ryan Gumm
4 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "This is a bottom of the barrel airline. They work you until you quit if you can afford to do that."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pinnacle Airlines

    Pros

    You have flight benefits. If you do your job well you can do your job and not have management overseeing your day to day.

    Cons

    You have flight benefits but our seniority is awful. We are the last of the last to get a seat. We are below other company employees buddy passes and retirees. The company opted out of a better flight benefit package. We pay $50 a year to activate and there are no buddy passes. Parents can fly but they pay aprox .09 cents per mile. Other companies have buddy passes and parents fly with no fees. If I could I would go mainline. If I stayed regional I would choose SkyWest. I have met many of SkyWest flight crew and they are happy with the way they are treated. Ask any Pinnacle flight crew and I cannot say I am in the least bit confident you would get a complimentary response. Pay for first officers and flight attendants are very poor. Flight attendants and a first officer with any family qualify for food stamps, it is very shameful. People should be payed a living wage in this country.

    Continue reading
    Pinnacle Airlines2012-04-03
  2. "A mess.. I hate not knowing if I will have a job next week."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pinnacle Airlines

    Pros

    Good flight benefits Nice way to get your foot in the door of aviation

    Cons

    No respect for another person but themselves.. No union or someone to fight for you.. No help or new hires.. No management skills in this Airline just family and friends looking out for one an another.. No training just on the job experiences.. No way to enjoy your job!

    Continue reading
    Pinnacle Airlines2012-01-16
  3. Helpful (1)

    "get in, do your time and leave"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    A&P Pinnacle Airlines in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pinnacle Airlines

    Pros

    1) work on commercial jets 2) flight benefits 3) not a bad place out of school 4) no union

    Cons

    1) pay not the greatest 2) speed over quality 3) high turnover 4) poor management 5) base managers and foreman treat the mechanics like crap 6) NO COMMUNICATION between any part of the company starting from the top and on down 7) terrible training company (learn as you go, then get written up for not knowing enough) 8) have to deal with the constant "hair on fire mentality" 9) as of 2012 no more pay raises 10) only incentives are "you got through the day without being written up", no bonuses (unless you work in Memphis HQ, then you do every quarter, at least 11) lack of inventory of parts required to do daily fuctions 12) "health benefits" *note sarcasm* 13) expected to do way more than time permits, LOTS of cutting corners and lack of safety equipment. 14) If you can't get a 3 hour job done in 1 we will replace you with someone that can 15) doing procedures by the book optional 16) Ramco computer system (logbook entries, inventory systems and etc.) is a nightmare at best I could continue but I'm getting sick of typing

    Continue reading
    Pinnacle Airlines2011-12-17
  4. "OK place to work if you are desperate or want to get your foot in the door."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    A&P Mechanic in Fort Wayne, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pinnacle Airlines

    Pros

    -Will hire pretty much anyone with a A&P license. -Easy to gain seniority due to extremely high turn-over rate. -Flight benefits though poor, at least you have them. -Typically manageable work load.

    Cons

    -Below average pay for the industry. -Incompetent and naive upper management -Condescending and unwilling to help middle and lower management. -Will hire anyone is both a pro and a con due to employees typically have poor work ethic. -More interested in getting work done fast then have adequate training and follow proper procedure. -Management is not interested in helping the employee . They often say they will do something to make your job easier but 7 months down the road it has yet to happen. -Job responsibilities are typically passed down from upper management all the way to the mechanics. -Lower management rarely complies with job duties lines out in the companies General Maintenance Manual which forces mechanics to pick up the slack. -Unevenly delegated work load at times. - I hope you don't like performance reviews because you wont get them .

    Continue reading
    Pinnacle Airlines2011-08-06
  5. Helpful (1)

    "DANGER WILL ROBINSON! .....DANGER!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Parts in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pinnacle Airlines

    Pros

    -Flight benefits -Better than no job -Good comradery with most employees

    Cons

    -Not enough employees in dept. to keep up with job duties or demands from management -Lack of training and recurrent training -Wont hire more employees -Hires unqualified people -Some co-workers are lazy or just dont care -New/different proceedures introduced almost everday -Unorganized -Management expects unrealistic expectations from employees -Extremely hectic pace job for low salary -Ramco. "Nuff said"

    Continue reading
    Pinnacle Airlines2011-06-07
  6. "$8 Hour Drama"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Ground Service Agent in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pinnacle Airlines

    Pros

    Flight benefits. The opportunity to travel the world and meet folks from other cultures.

    Cons

    Inexperienced workforce who lack basic people skills. No respect from co-workers and a severe lack of experienced supervisors- who resign constantly due to minimal pay and 70+ hour work weeks. Minimal OJT, NO experienced mature mentors. An insane amount of responsibility for $8 an hour. Constantly pushing "co-workers" to manage operations on their own. No one is held accountable for their lack of production, or acknowledged for their positive contributions. Frequently heard- "Your NOT my supervisor." Racially based cliques and inappropriate actions condoned in order to have a "body" in place. If this is the future of low cost air travel, then the traveling public has much to be concerned about.

    Continue reading
    Pinnacle Airlines2011-06-06
  7. "Barely good enough to be considered a good entry level experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Mechanic in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pinnacle Airlines

    Pros

    Will take just about anyone just out of A&P School. Looks good while building experience time for other employers. Flight benefits.

    Cons

    Lack of training, lack of supervisory support, lack of trained/qualified supervisors, lack of proper tools, lack of parts, lack of trained or motivated stores people, lack of caring if the job is done right as long as it is done fast (scary), lack of mechanics to do the job. Supervisors have many mini 'fiefdoms' revolving around themselves. There is no conformity or commonality between the way shifts are run, you have to figure out how each lead and foreman work and cater your work around these individuals. Micromanagement...it would get done a lot quicker if you did not constantly ask me to show you where I(we) are at and how much longer it will take. They seem to have no grasp that if you loose over 50% of your workforce, things are going to take longer to get done. Medical and Dental benefits are horrid and expensive. RAMCO!!! Redundant and inefficient computer systems. They will waste a boatload of money unnecessarily in one area and push for megar savings in areas that annoy and endanger the employees, like cheap paper towels, no rags, one size fits all safety gear, don't use the safety gear...yes, they buy the 'safety' gear, tell you 'wink, wink' to use it but if you do, you will be berated for taking to long to do the job. Jobs that should take several hours of safety prep, are completed in just a few hours because safety is blown out the door! If you insist on working safely, you will not perform that function in the future, they will find someone willing to take the risks. If the FAA or OSHA ever made an unannounced visit and really looked at what was going on this company would be fined, big time.

    Continue reading
    Pinnacle Airlines2011-04-19
  8. "STAY AWAY!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Aircraft Dispatcher in Memphis, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pinnacle Airlines

    Pros

    Positives are far outweighed by negatives. Jumpseating privileges are the most worthwhile benefit. Pinnacle employees pay to fly plus 6 international passes but no buddy passes. Health benefits used to be industry leading... until they DOUBLED in monthly cost. Headquarters will be moved to downtown Memphis in the fall, however this makes it more difficult to get to the airport from work and raises concerns about personal safety outside the building after dark.

    Cons

    Where do I start?! I was surprised to see the CEO resign on two weeks notice - very odd at the executive level and a sign of serious issues at the top. This company's SOC has earned a horrible reputation in the industry for good reasons. This SOC has the highest turnover I HAVE EVER SEEN in any workplace but management doesn't care - as long as Dispatchers keep walking out, newly licensed green horns who need to pay back student loans will jump into the fire, thus keeping costs low. The pace, workload and stress of the job, especially during irregular operations, can be overwhelming. It's just not worth the pay. Speaking of pay, check your paystubs! Need to make a schedule adjustment? Read your contract! The company does everything it can to short you or deny coverage to save a buck. Don't count on your union to support you either; they are clueless. As stated before, the cost of health insurance shot through the roof and flight benefits are not free. Flights in and out of Memphis are being cut by up to 25% in the next year so it is becoming increasingly difficult to find a seat and FedEx does not allow offline dispatch jumpseaters. So why bother? Do yourself a favor and STAY AWAY!

    Continue reading
    Pinnacle Airlines2011-03-30
  9. "Go somewhere else for pilot jobs."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    First Officer in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pinnacle Airlines

    Pros

    Safety at this airline is not bad at all, as a matter of fact they do a decent job. But they only pro there is here is that you get to build jet time.

    Cons

    Well, CDOs (Continuous Duty Overnight) trip, scheduling is a mess, they misinterpret the union contract all the time, if not they ignore it. Compensation is way below industry average, management has dragged the contract negotiations for too long. Pilots at this airline are working under a 10 year old contract that has not adjusted for inflation at all. Delta took away most of our flight benefits, and management is not very lenient if you make innocent mistakes.

    Continue reading
    Pinnacle Airlines2009-12-16
  10. "Working for the airlines is a love-hate relationship!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Memphis, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pinnacle Airlines

    Pros

    The benifits were great. You could travel anywhere that NWA flew for little or nothing. Other than that the job sucks!

    Cons

    The management is horrible, most employees are lazy and incompetent, and frequent mistakes are made that cost both the airline and the airport. Also to be paid minimum wage to load bags in the 120 degree airplane bins and deal with irate customers, is an atrocity. If the flight benefits were to be eliminated, there would be no incentive to work there.

    Continue reading
    Pinnacle Airlines2009-07-29

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 26 reviews