Pinnacle Foods Reviews | Glassdoor

Pinnacle Foods Reviews

Updated July 12, 2018
213 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Pinnacle Foods CEO Mark Clouse
Mark Clouse
118 Ratings

213 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Fast paced, always working on something new and different" (in 15 reviews)

  • "Great people to work with, great brands to support and a place where you can advance if you take ownership of your career" (in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "Leanly staffed can also be a con; have to be able to stand up for yourself in prioritizing your work and creating work/life balance" (in 14 reviews)

  • "Horizontal movement, high turnover rate" (in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "A great place to make an impact and advance your career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pinnacle Foods full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    - Talented people and great brands. I really do enjoy working with the people around me.
    - Fast paced, always working on something new and different. Never bored.
    - The company is maintaining its winning mentality and entrepreneurial culture despite its growing size.
    - Lean organization, which creates an opportunity to grow and advance if you take ownership of your own career.

    Cons

    - “Scrappy”: Systems and processes still in its infancy, but company is finally investing in these capabilities
    - Lean organization can also be a challenge at times. Need to be organized, good at prioritizing and influencing to stay on top of your work.

    Pinnacle Foods Response

    May 30, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback! We take pride in unleashing brand potential and are glad to hear you are having a great experience at Pinnacle.


  2. "Deployment Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pinnacle Foods full-time

    Pros

    Great teams and opportunities

    Cons

    I have no experienced any Cons in the company

    Pinnacle Foods Response

    Jul 16, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback! We are glad to hear you are having a great experience at Pinnacle.

  3. "Leanly-operated with many opportunities but heavy workload"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Multitude of opportunities if you’re willing to work for them

    Cons

    Workload can be heavy due to lean staffing

    Advice to Management

    Update systems and more clearly define responsibilities and duties of lower tier positions

    Pinnacle Foods Response

    Jul 16, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback! We would like to encourage you to share your feedback with your manager and HR Business Partner. The best way we can improve our organization... More


  4. "Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pinnacle Foods full-time

    Pros

    Lean operating model gives opportunity to stand out, access to senior leaders

    Cons

    Two corporate offices a few hours apart.

    Pinnacle Foods Response

    Jul 16, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback! We are glad to hear you are having a great experience at Pinnacle.


  5. "HR Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Human Resources Manager
    Former Employee - Senior Human Resources Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Pinnacle Foods full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good pay for the area, Growing Company with lots of Opportunities for advancement and development. Younger company and moldable to best practices.

    Cons

    The company is still developing in some of its processes and policies. Company soon to be sold to another. Very strong focus on quarterly earnings and not on long term development.

    Advice to Management

    Look beyond the quarterly reports to long term growth and individual development. Focus on building a company with a brand for more than just profits. People are the greatest asset.

    Pinnacle Foods Response

    Jul 16, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors.


  6. Helpful (3)

    ""lean and scrappy""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Pinnacle Foods full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    lots of exposure to different brands, teams, and senior management

    Cons

    Company prides itself on being lean and scrappy but in reality that just means everyone is overworked. Management in stuck in their old ways and the turn over is extremely high - people make jokes about not learning your name until you've "survived" a year here. Communication is poor and my team does a lot of unnecessary work. I'm constantly worked until 6 or 7 pm, even when I come in early.

    Pinnacle Foods Response

    Jun 19, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. We would like to encourage you to share your feedback with your manager and HR Business Partner. The best way we can improve our organization is through transparency.


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Complete Lack of Diversity!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Parsippany, NJ
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Parsippany, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pinnacle Foods full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    -High visibility
    -Talented workforce
    -Flexible work schedule
    - Work life balance
    -Entrepreneurial spirit

    Cons

    It’s disheartening to come to work everyday and barely see other minorities, especially in leadership positions. There is not one single African American woman in a leadership position in the entire company and executive leadership is so out of touch with doing anything to change this. There are no affinity groups or resources to support or encourage diversity in the workplace. A new careers video was recently shot as a way to appeal to potential candidates...and not surprisingly, not one minority was featured or even seen in the video. The workforce is nowhere near a representation of the consumers who support their products!

    Advice to Management

    Start paying attention to your minority employees! Do more to bridge the cultural gaps in the workplace by implementing and supporting affinity groups. Actions speak louder than words...do something!

    Pinnacle Foods Response

    Jun 19, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. We are glad you have recognized our employee talent, flexibility, and entrepreneurial spirit. We appreciate your concerns and will relay your feedback to the appropriate... More

  8. Helpful (4)

    "A poor environment and a company that seems lost"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Manager in Parsippany, NJ
    Former Employee - Finance Manager in Parsippany, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pinnacle Foods full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Some good people who work here

    Cons

    Massively inefficient processes
    Poor decision making
    Terrible communication
    Functional leaders have little to zero technical skills and delegate everything
    Really poor work life balance entirely based on the inefficiencies of those in power
    Nobody seems happy and the overly lean culture is a nightmare.
    Cafeteria food is horrible and way overpriced.

    Advice to Management

    If you have no technical capabilities you shouldn’t be put in power. It’s a new generation and pure delegation doesn’t work anymore. For a company priding itself on “nobody stands on the sidelines” you have an awful lot of people that don’t have the ability to do anything but that. Because of this you’ll continue to lose good people who have more potential than just pulling together someone else’s incorrect vision. Empower those with talent and recognize it.

    Pinnacle Foods Response

    Jun 25, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback regarding your prior employment with us. We will take your feedback into consideration. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors.


  9. "Food Scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food Scientist in Parsippany, NJ
    Former Employee - Food Scientist in Parsippany, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pinnacle Foods (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Fast pace
    High visibility
    Talented people
    Great office culture

    Cons

    Disorganized at times
    Senior management not always decisive - constant changing objectives

    Advice to Management

    Commit to strategies earlier and execute them

    Pinnacle Foods Response

    May 8, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors.


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Former Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Pinnacle Foods (Less than a year)

    Pros

    They have great brands you can stand behind.

    Cons

    Disorganized management. High turnover rate

    Advice to Management

    Reorganize

    Pinnacle Foods Response

    May 30, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback regarding your prior employment with us. We wish you luck in your future endeavors.


Showing 213 of 234 reviews
Reset Filters