Pinnacle Foods Reviews | Glassdoor

Pinnacle Foods Reviews

Updated September 17, 2017
176 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Pinnacle Foods CEO Mark Clouse
Mark Clouse
104 Ratings

176 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Great people to work with, great brands to support and a place where you can advance if you take ownership of your career (in 17 reviews)

  • Fast-paced, focused on winning, puts up results (in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • Leanly staffed can also be a con; have to be able to stand up for yourself in prioritizing your work and creating work/life balance (in 14 reviews)

  • Lack of leadership- No upper management leadership (in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "A place where you can have a lot of impact!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Parsippany, NJ
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Parsippany, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pinnacle Foods full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Leanly staffed so everyone has a big role to play; your work can have big impact. Opportunities to work on projects beyond your regular work. Results oriented company. Great co-workers. Everyone plays to win. Winning track record of results. Easy access to senior leadership. Values are not just a poster on the wall - people actually live them.

    Cons

    Leanly staffed can also be a con; have to be able to stand up for yourself in prioritizing your work and creating work/life balance

    Advice to Management

    Be better at prioritizing and recognizing the limited resources to get things done


  2. "Sanitation Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sanitation Supervisor in Darien, WI
    Current Employee - Sanitation Supervisor in Darien, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pinnacle Foods full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Benefits are good, including vacation

    Cons

    Disorganized with programs that does not show continuous strength.

    Advice to Management

    Treat supervisors with respect.

    Pinnacle Foods Response

    Sep 21, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. We would like to encourage you to share your feedback with your manager and HR Business Partner. We wish you continued success here at Pinnacle.

  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great Employees- Terrible Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Parsippany, NJ
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Parsippany, NJ
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pinnacle Foods full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    - great place to cut your teeth- very lean, learn on the job very quickly
    -open work space- beautiful, modern office
    - incredibly smart, hardworking employees who keep the company afloat despite a lack of direction from sr. leaders
    - great brands & positive financial returns for the street

    Cons

    - lack of history around processes, starting from scratch every time a new project gets implements leading to same mistakes being made
    -extremely high levels of turnover- great people leave for a more stable environment & management doesn't understand the basic drivers that motivate employees
    - constant state of chaos, everyone spends their time fighting fires, no focus on strategic goals
    -new acquisitions are typically a huge challenge to manage, some handled better than others
    - corporate strategy never well implemented at plants, lack of synergy between plant teams' reality and the expectations of corporate directors

    Advice to Management

    implement summer fridays, develop a better onboarding process for new hires, take REAL measures to reduce your turnover, take steps to implement a more cohesive relationship between plants & corporate teams, do more to create a culture that employees can be proud of.

    Pinnacle Foods Response

    Sep 12, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback regarding your prior employment with us and will take all of your points into consideration. We wish you the best of luck in your future... More


  4. "Middle of the road"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pinnacle Foods full-time

    Pros

    Work/life balance is good. Pay is good for area

    Cons

    High management turn over. Shifting schedules for production employees

    Pinnacle Foods Response

    Sep 12, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. We would like to encourage you to share your feedback with your manager and HR Business Partner.


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Stay away!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Parsippany, NJ
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Parsippany, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pinnacle Foods full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    People are very nice and dedicated to their careers. Easy access from major roads.

    Cons

    Management changes monthly---we NEVER know when a current manager will find a better job. There is a total lack of stability here. Any good reviews are posted by management. Do yourself a favor and work at any other company.

    Advice to Management

    You wouldn't listen anyway, so no advice is adequate.

    Pinnacle Foods Response

    Sep 20, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. We would like to encourage you to share your feedback with your manager and HR Business Partner. The best way we can improve our organization is by exhibiting our company... More


  6. Helpful (3)

    "Horrible and Deplorable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Leadership Position
    Former Employee - Leadership Position
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pinnacle Foods (Less than a year)

    Pros

    There is nothing good to say.

    Cons

    The company prides itself on being lean and nimble, yet, once hired they expect you to cut corners, work 60-70 hour weeks everyweek and not complain. HR gives no support whatsoever but the run around. Do not even consider this company. They don't honor their core values and they pit teams against each other. Very unhealthy place to work. Very stressful and game playing.

    Advice to Management

    Employees want to do a good job. Help them do it, believe what they say. Don't lie. Don't do manipulation and isolation tactics. Consider paying a bit less salary but having more people support the roles.

    Pinnacle Foods Response

    Sep 20, 2017 – Human Resources

    We want to acknowledge your feedback and give assurance that your comments are noted. We understand individual experiences vary, however this is not a typical description from the majority of our... More


  7. "Success follows your work ethic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Parsippany, NJ
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Parsippany, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pinnacle Foods full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Fast-paced, focused on winning, puts up results. Surrounded by smart people who work hard & want to win.

    Cons

    You can be successful by taking yourself out of the equation & make decisions about the business, not your feelings!

    Advice to Management

    Focus on professional development to improve retention.

    Pinnacle Foods Response

    Aug 23, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback! We would like to encourage you to share your thoughts with your manager and HR Business Partner to discuss Pinnacle's variety of professional... More

  8. "Director of Transportation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Pinnacle Foods full-time

    Pros

    Diverse product offering and flexible work hours

    Cons

    Silo management style adds unnecessary friction

    Pinnacle Foods Response

    Aug 23, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback regarding your prior employment with us. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors.


  9. "A place where you can thrive!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Parsippany, NJ
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Parsippany, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pinnacle Foods full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - there is opportunity to grow in this company. I started as a contractor then was hired as a full time employee which then led itself to a promotion a year later. Pinnacle showed me that they recognize their employees that thrive and succeed.
    - no red tape or bureaucracy - your opinion matters and you can make a difference in the work that you do
    - visibility to Senior Leadership

    Cons

    - with a lean environment, work may becoming overwhelming at times but there is a never dull moment at Pinnacle and I am always learning something new

    Pinnacle Foods Response

    Jul 21, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback! We are glad to hear you are having a great experience at Pinnacle. We wish you continued success!


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Life at Pinnacle"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Parsippany, NJ
    Current Employee - Manager in Parsippany, NJ
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pinnacle Foods full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good people to work with.

    Cons

    Staff is way too lean. Workloads can be overwhelming.

    Advice to Management

    Realize that employees cannot work 24/7


Showing 176 of 192 reviews
Reset Filters