Pinnacle Promotions Reviews | Glassdoor

Pinnacle Promotions Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
40%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Pinnacle Promotions CEO Dave Weintraub (no image)
Dave Weintraub
10 Ratings
  1. "As in life - it's what you make it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Norcross, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pinnacle Promotions for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Beautiful office, great people, lots of parking, dog days, agency-like atmosphere, potential to work from home in some cases, and overall trending upward.

    Cons

    Not unique to here, but health insurance is expensive.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on the current track. Large majority of dedicated hard workers who love and succeed here - who don't spend much time doing Glassdoor reviews. Not much you can do about people that you take a chance on and it doesn't work out - or ones that complain about the free coffee.

    Pinnacle Promotions2018-05-16
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Employees need to be empowered, not baby sat"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Norcross, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pinnacle Promotions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun work culture, generous PTO allowance, pretty casual dress code, nice new office and lunch room, vendor lunch 'n learns

    Cons

    As someone who was hired by Pinnacle to be in an "account manger/sales" position, I rarely did neither of those roles. I was more of an assistant to the VP and was given daily tasks to do. I was not allowed to do any proactive outreach. Our team was extremely chaotic, which included leadership not knowing who on our team was working on what, even though they were the ones giving out the small projects to each of us.... They could not keep track of which projects they assigned to each of us. I had never worked with such disorganized management. The coordinator on the team was doing more work than the account managers, and this was due to how leadership was managing the team. I was very disappointed in my experience with Pinnacle. I was never really given feedback during my time there. I felt like a robot doing exactly was I was told to. How can one expect to grow as an employee and as an individual in such a work culture?

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You have good people. You have people who want to be sales people and not micromanaged. That is why there is such high turnover (almost 30 people in less than a year!). The overall management of programs needs to be looked at. Failure to recognize these essential changes to the leadership team will only result in continued high turnover and unhappy employees.

    Pinnacle Promotions2019-06-12
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Don't do it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pinnacle Promotions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Ha - is this a joke?!

    Cons

    Upon entering the company, they will dump you on an overworked manager, who wants nothing to do with you, to "train you". Then they will tell everyone how worthless you are because you can't cover for them after 2-3 weeks on the job. Upper management is a joke and the majority of them have no idea how to help you when you finally work up the nerve to ask them because they don't know what your actual job is. You will... be berated constantly over $100 orders and they will try to make you think you are not capable of doing this job. A goat with one good leg could do this job so maybe you should stop hiring humans and look to livestock. They will probably put up with more of your abuse. Well, actually don't...now I'm picturing a bunch of goats getting yelled at by the owner's friends and PTA moms and that's just not cool....Back to humans - DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME HERE!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Nothing because you think you're doing everything right so it's pointless.

    Pinnacle Promotions2018-06-20
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Don't get pulled into this mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pinnacle Promotions full-time

    Pros

    Compared to any other corporate environment, not many. 'Relaxed' work environment perhaps, weekly pet visits.

    Cons

    The ability to be relaxed in the 'relaxed work environment' is not possible when you do the work of 5 other people due to the inadequacies of the hiring processes of a non-existent HR Department. Managements' inability to have the backs of their employees and offer proper training, support, and communication is slowly destroying any productivity that Pinnacle could truly have. The lack of communication between... departments, and even individual sales team members is constant and is debilitating to any sort of progress. If you are a professional, and a skilled worker who wants to do the best at any job they have, this is not the place for you as it will not reward you for raising the bar, they will simply give you more work that other people weren't capable of doing. Pinnacle will pile work upon you and never give you and expect nothing but a smile from you, and also expect you to do so for no additional payment. If you bring in enough sales, they will coddle you with pointless awards and tiny gift-cards. You will not get bonuses, you will not get raises. If they value you and you decide to leave, they will create some meaningless title as an attempt to promote you, but it will change nothing about your position in the company and likely not even change your pay. There is no way to move up in Pinnacle, only from side-to-side. I would have voiced all of my complaints to management while there, but the culture has changed from an 'open door' policy to a 'fear of termination' policy in regards to voicing an opinion that is not complimentary of the company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Update your hiring practices, actually train your staff, and don't require your art department and IT department to train your sales people on the fly. If your staff wasn't so over-worked and underpaid, perhaps sales could train itself and it's middle management could do their jobs and save you from the troubles you're currently in. Pinnacle has so much potential and four or five years ago had a great culture and... work ethic, but that culture and future potential are all souring as each day passes.

    Show More
    Pinnacle Promotions2018-03-16
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Not as wonderful as it may seem"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Norcross, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pinnacle Promotions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Generous PTO and fun work environment

    Cons

    Low pay, cliquey, empty promises with regard to career path, and lots of position changes

    Pinnacle Promotions2018-02-12
  6. Helpful (16)

    "Old Boy's Club!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Norcross, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pinnacle Promotions full-time

    Pros

    The only pro at Pinnacle is your fellow "minions" and the weekly dog visits.

    Cons

    Pinnacle, Pinnacle, Pinnacle....where to start. All of the reviews are true, this place is a cesspool, RUN!!! There is reason as to why all of your employees are leaving or looking to leave! When I first started, upper management was pleasant, friendly and trustworthy. Then a few of the really good managers left and things turned for the worse. Let's just say if you're not part of the "Old Boy's Club" you're... of no value to them so women and minorities need not apply! I'd also like to take a minute to discuss the extreme nepotism that Pinnacle exudes. You would think that in any successful business plan they would want to promote from within to impact employee morale and to prevent lower training costs. Instead, Pinnacle thought it would be wise to hire someone's wife to work directly under her husband. Now, I know I'm "just a woman" but why would you create an environment that is demoralizing to your current employees? And an even bigger question is why does the C-Level Executives allow it? Let's be real, it's not like any of their friends or family members actually contribute to the greater good! I could go on but why waste my time, as I'm sure this post will be taken down soon after I press submit in order for them to save face. Or someone will reply saying I'm simply a 'disgruntled employee and I am not a true representative of the culture'. In summation, if you thrive in the above mentioned atmosphere you are probably a terrible person and Pinnacle is just the place for you. But for those of you who are looking for or simply take pride in working for a moral and ethical company, this is not the place for you and I recommend to keep searching! To the current amazing Pinnacle employees, you are worth more than they will ever tell you and you deserve better! Thank you for being the only positive thing to look forward to during my tenure there. PS, your coffee sucks.

    Show More
    Pinnacle Promotions2017-11-12

    Pinnacle Promotions Response

    November 20, 2017Director HR & Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate all feedback and the time and energy spent to reflect upon your time at Pinnacle. While we would like to point out that six of the thirteen members of the Executive team are female and the above referenced new hire possessed over 15 years experience, we would have welcomed such a conversation during your tenure versus after. We wish you the utmost success on your future endeavors.

    Show Less
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Worst Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Norcross, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pinnacle Promotions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice office, showroom and that's about it!

    Cons

    All of the cons listed previously are true and the CEO, Dave will ask you to leave a good review. They are shady, backstabbers, and not to be trusted (get everything in writing). The management or lack of over Sales is a joke and very unprofessional. Do your homework, seek previous employee's feedback and note that turnover is at the highest l have ever witnessed. They are bleeding out and prime for being bought out... of the industry. They are the epitome of Micromanagement. Nothing is transparent and Dave makes it a hobby to stalk people, slander them, and only spends time with his elite few. Be prepared to change roles regularly, so you don't make a bonus because they are non-existent. It's a chatic bullpen selling environment and people are very superficial.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Retire, take up a hobby (golf) and sell your business! Or learn some people and communication skills. Your employees are the only ones who have made Pinnacle Promotions look good and you keep running them off. Invest in leadership training, so you can retain quality people. Clean up the expletives that you use and allow in the office. It's extremely unprofessional street talk and a very bad example to those you... employ. Stop having your peons rebuttal all your shortcomings and reviews on here. It's time you face the music and own it. Lastly, leader are one's who knows the way, goes the way, and shows the way!

    Show More
    Pinnacle Promotions2017-08-15

    Pinnacle Promotions Response

    August 17, 2017

    Every company has individuals that are in the wrong position for themselves or do not fit with the culture. When someone at Pinnacle is struggling or unhappy and they let us know, we do everything we can to try and make them successful at their job. Unfortunately, we are not always able to make it work. This can cause anger and resentment. We encourage truthful feedback from every employee and have numerous feedback channels within Pinnacle. This allows employees to express their concerns and be heard, but it doesn’t always mean they get the result they think they deserve. Never once has anyone in management ever written or asked someone to leave a “fake” review about Pinnacle. It is absolutely true, however, that we have asked those who are happy at Pinnacle to post real reviews to give prospective employees a full view of the company. As for the other sentiments expressed — Even though we are almost 25 years old, we are still learning and trying new things every day. As an e-commerce leader and technology-centric organization, we also require a lot of flexibility in our employees. That is one of the things that make it a great place to work! It is a fast-paced environment and we have an entrepreneurial spirit that embraces change. It is one of the things that keeps us competitive in a tough marketplace. Unfortunately, that constant change causes challenges - especially from those who lack the business experience to understand why we make those changes and don’t feel comfortable asking questions. That is one of the reasons why we have monthly company meetings, quarterly town halls and a true open door management policy. It is also one of the reasons why we have had more previous employees return to Pinnacle than in any other time in the company history. They enjoy being challenged and contributing directly to our success in an an environment that fosters teamwork and creativity. We are not perfect. But, management works hard at trying to be a great company and providing an environment where individuals can thrive. The tone of this posting, lack of real constructive feedback and anonymity demonstrates exactly why this person doesn’t fit in at Pinnacle. - Dave Weintraub, CEO

    Show Less
  8. Helpful (10)

    ""It'll get better" ...OK, when?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Executive in Norcross, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pinnacle Promotions

    Pros

    Dogs in the office on Wednesdays and Fridays, casual work environment, occasional fun activities like food trucks, DJ Wednesdays, free promo products and lunches from vendors, opportunity to work with a lot of different clients/books of business, use of Salesforce which will be a plus when move to a new job, generous time off, certain people are granted privileges to work from home (if you're applying here,... negotiate to have that in your contract), you'll work with an amazing team of intelligent and passionate people that will become some of your best friends, and if the President forgets your name you'll probably win Employee of the Month. NOTE: Your experience here is largely dependent on your team and department. I had the pleasure of working with some excellent managers, directors, and execs during my time spent at the company, who were always willing to help and were fun to be around. If given the right opportunity, working at Pinnacle can be very advantageous in your career path. Some of the loveliest and most hard working people I've ever met work at Pinnacle, and I know I've made some life-long friendships if nothing else.

    Show More

    Cons

    Pay disparities among people in the same roles (I was personally discouraged to attempt to negotiate), shady business practices, minimal opportunity for advancement (and introduction of new positions to delay advancement), external hiring before promoting from within, constant changing of teams and books of business, the "team" is more important than the professional development of individuals, HIGH TURNOVER,... monthly commission and former quarterly bonuses have been replaced with a lesser annual bonus, previous reviews of people crying at work are 100% true (although one person cried daily and threatened to quit and was promoted... so this could be a pro if you're into that), beer and wine perks don't exist anymore, and the President walks around yelling, "SELL, SELL, SELL" at everyone. NOTE: I unfortunately also worked directly with people who are ineffective at managing, teaching, and growing the people beneath them. Towards the end of my employment, I felt stagnant and unsupported, and dreaded being around overstressed, dissatisfied people or managers that were incompetent in their roles. This was a point that was discussed often in my weekly 1-1 meetings and also on occasion with HR, to little or no avail. While you will learn a lot in your first six months at Pinnacle, the ignorance does wear off. You're going to question the constant changing of teams, your salary, and whether or not there is any real opportunity for professional advancement. I woke up one day and realized that I had supported EIGHT managers across programs and web sales in a year's time, having to learn different books of business and adapt to different manager styles every couple of months, and cover for manager's with seemingly endless PTO... while being paid an entry-level salary as an Account Coordinator turned Assistant Account Manager turned Account Executive (only the last one came with a company-wide raise). I was told my workload was the same as those who assisted only one manager, and - instead of ever being promoted to manager or told what I needed to do in order to advance ("Just keep doing what you're doing") - I had to help train (and do the work for) new managers that were hired externally. Did I learn a lot about business, multi-tasking, and management? Yes. Did I enjoy going to work in the morning my last few months of employment? Nope.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Better understand the needs of each sales team before continuing to hire in an attempt to temporarily bandage some increasingly dire situations. It doesn't matter the number of people you have if they aren't the right people (as evidenced by the recent firings of relatively new hires), and the right people aren't going to work for a company that doesn't have much to offer in terms of job satisfaction or growth. Take... time to learn each employee's strengths, and put them on teams where they will excel and better serve the company. Give your employees real feedback on their performance and create a plan to help them get promoted (why have weekly 1-1 meetings or annual reviews if this isn't done?). John (President) -- the reason people love working for Pinnacle is because of how genuine everyone is, starting with Dave and Mitch. Don't ruin that dynamic by continuing to act like a sleazy salesman to your people. No one is going to respect you or want to continue working for Pinnacle when you treat them like a number, call people by the wrong names, play favorites, have unrealistic daily sales expectations, and don't understand the basics of how different accounts operate/who manages them. How many people have left since you arrived? (At minimum there have been 14 quitters + 4 fires = 1/5 of the company)

    Show More
    Pinnacle Promotions2016-09-02

    Pinnacle Promotions Response

    September 8, 2016H.R. Director

    Thanks for taking the time for writing a thoughtful and thorough review and thanks for sharing much of this in our exit interview. For the benefit of those reading who might be unfamiliar with Pinnacle, I would like to offer some explanation and put some things into context, especially to points made in the “cons” section. I have to start with your reference to “shady business practices: I’m very curious and concerned about this reference, I encourage you to call me or Dave and speak to that. We have the most ethical leadership I have ever been associated with. One concern that has been mentioned in reviews on this website has been lack of a career path. To answer that, we have started to clearly define those paths and recognize and elevate people who had more responsibility but the same job title as someone else. The role of assistant account manager, for example, included a wide range of job duties and people with those titles have very different levels of responsibilities. The introduction of the account executive role recognizes the experience and job responsibilities of the more advanced AAMs. With the addition of this position, the focus is now developing that employee to work towards the next step of becoming an account manager. They will have their own accounts and make day-to-day decisions, but with the support of an account manager. In the past, because of turnover, people were promoted to account manager before they were ready, causing more stress and turnover. The expectation of being promoted to account manager within a year is not realistic. We are moving in the right direction, giving people more and more responsibility and the support that is required- the career path people have been asking for. External hiring compliments our internal hiring, but certainly doesn’t replace it. Everyone hired directly into an account manager role has had industry experience and had been serving in that role. We want to promote from within and we will when we feel people are ready and will be successful. Monthly commissions- yes, monthly commissions and bonuses were changed and will now be considered at the end of year, what was not mentioned was that everyone was given a substantial raise in their base pay. Employees now have more income potential than ever before. There is stronger emphasis on growing our accounts, and we try to do that in a fun way with team goals and progress posted. The “unrealistic” sales goals were met last month and were celebrated! Pinnacle, like all other companies, is not perfect and your comments, the good and bad, have been taken to heart. Thank you. Cindy

    Show Less
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Norcross, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pinnacle Promotions full-time

    Pros

    I work with many great people, we work hard, but still have a lot of fun. I love that we are a family and team oriented company. The family that plays together stays together!

    Cons

    I wish there were more job share or work from home options.

    Advice to Management

    Your employees are your best asset. Take the time to get to know your employees on a personal level and let them get to know you. Todays generation has a tendency to be loyal to people, not to institutions. Relationships matter.

    Pinnacle Promotions2016-08-10

    Pinnacle Promotions Response

    August 15, 2016H.R. Director

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. When I meet with the employees and ask the best part of Pinnacle the answer has consistently been "the people" Exploring work-from-home opportunities is of high interest to me and I would love to hear your thoughts on job sharing! Thanks again for taking the time to write and sharing your perception of Pinnacle. Too many times, only people on their way out write reviews and they certainly don't reflect the overwhelming majority of the talented professionals that come here everyday and work hard and play hard.

    Show Less
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Good Entry Level Job, but Nothing Further"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pinnacle Promotions

    Pros

    *Laid Back Atmosphere: Pinnacle has a nice work setting, and the culture is pretty laid back; there is a Pinnacle Pup brought in every Friday. *If you work hard and stay for a couple of years, you will eventually get promoted *Account Managers now have delegated Account Directors for them, which is a lot more helpful than just one floor Supervisor. *Pinnacle recently went through a transformation of Presidency,... and I can tell that they're trying to go from a "small start up" image to a larger company.

    Show More

    Cons

    *Absolutely no Recognition- Besides their Monthly "Employee of the Month" I never received a single ounce of recognition from my manager or anyone else. *Frustrating deadlines, lack of respect: You will always hear that there is someone crying in the Pinnacle bathrooms, and it's true: Employees are tired, overworked, underpaid, and are not taken seriously by upper management. There is extreme belittlement... (especially from the Finance Controller and one of the Account Directors), who, like many other Managers, treat you like a child. *Constant Drama- It comes from all employees here (Managers Included). I felt like I was always in High School every day I went to work. There was constant rumors of firings, hirings, and other conversations behind closed doors. *Stop setting the expectation of your employees to act like Target employees, yet, pay them as if they're Dollar general employees: Employees here are vastly underpaid, and with a competitive market, you're not comparable at all in terms of salary. 401K Plans are also pretty much non-existent.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You're letting Good People go- Trust your employees, show them some respect, and appreciate the offers that they have to bring. Start acting like a serious and professional company; you need to take charge of situations and have your Manager set a good example of how employees should behave.

    Pinnacle Promotions2016-07-27

    Pinnacle Promotions Response

    July 28, 2016H.R. Director

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughtful comments regarding Pinnacle. Thanks for recognizing the transformational efforts that are underway. Creating a management structure that allows for more communication (in both directions) was a paramount goal. While most of our account directors are new to management, it was important to promote from within and give our best people a new opportunity. We are continuously offering management training and have recently started an executive mentorship program to further support them. Getting people in the right positions, that fit their preferred style (people vs process) is also a high priority to increase employee engagement and lessen frustrations. Creating a new sales operations department has certainly helped our valuable employees find the environment where they feel most comfortable. All of this change is not easy and we appreciate all of our employees and welcome their feedback. Again, thank you for your feedback. We wish you the best of luck. Cindy J - HR

    Show Less
Found 36 reviews