Pinpoint Global Communications Reviews | Glassdoor

Pinpoint Global Communications Reviews

Updated Oct 26, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29 reviews

1.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
24%
Recommend to a Friend
21%
Approve of CEO
Bob Sullivan
20 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Awesome place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pinpoint Global Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, great benefits, friendly atmosphere, abundance of work, and creativity allowed Absolutely great environment if you like a fast-paced hard deadline self managing environment. If you can't cut it here, its not because of pinpoint. Its because you're not as good of a developer as you thought you were.

    Cons

    A lot of shifting deadlines. Requirements may be vague at times.

    Advice to Management

    Bring back the old soda machine

    Pinpoint Global Communications2016-11-23
  2. "Great place to work for those with the right personality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pinpoint Global Communications full-time

    Pros

    Very competitive salary Casual atmosphere flexible schedule

    Cons

    Need to have better processes in place Need to ensure adequate resources for projects

    Advice to Management

    Don't be afraid to listen to employee suggestions

    Pinpoint Global Communications2017-10-26
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Not worth it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nashua, NH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pinpoint Global Communications full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Location is good. Lot of options for lunch if you want to get away from your desk. Casual dress (shorts OK in summer). Free snacks. Red Sox tickets and a nice company Christmas party. Some managers try really hard and are actually effective.

    Cons

    No options to advance. Your role is your role and that's it. Training is Google. Expect to spend hours correcting issues caused by poor or nonexistent requirements gathering, ineffective or missing specs, and overall bad management. I saw a lot of questionable business decisions in my time there. Tremendous amount of internal friction, though most of the people here are cut from good cloth.

    Advice to Management

    If a feature doesn't work, don't double down on it.

    Pinpoint Global Communications2017-04-30
  4. Helpful (11)

    "Fast-track to burnout"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Nashua, NH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pinpoint Global Communications full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    ​Good codebase, strong place to use a lot of current technologies including extensive JavaScript and SQL with ASP.NET MVC. Location is excellent. Pay is higher than average for the industry. Can offer flexible working hours, though you get dirty looks for it.

    Cons

    ​Toxic atmosphere. The development environment is run like a competitive sales team, pitting employees against each other. Scapegoating is a way of life at Pinpoint, as is disparaging others' abilities (note the positive reviews' references to people who "can't cut it"). The CEO is a sociopath and a tyrant, not a leader. He is manipulative, deceitful, and abusive, telling you everything you need to hear to make you...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management should cash out and let someone else take the helm.

    Pinpoint Global Communications2016-11-28
  5. Helpful (9)

    "Die of starvation first"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nashua, NH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pinpoint Global Communications

    Pros

    Nice people, it's a wonder how they manage that, a few blowhards in engineering group. Coffee is free, great location.

    Cons

    Every aspect of a nightmare you could have is at Pinpoint. BELIEVE the other reviews. I would not believe it if I had not witnessed it.

    Advice to Management

    Can't get rid of the owner so sell the place to someone who is NOT insane.

    Pinpoint Global Communications2016-09-30
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Haters Gonna Hate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Support in Nashua, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pinpoint Global Communications full-time

    Pros

    Management takes care of employees Great group of coworkers Always evolving with technology - creates great learning environment Very intelligent team, from the top to the bottom

    Cons

    Sink or Swim mentality -but in the end, it pushes the type of employee they want to work harder. If you want easy, work at BK. The only CONS I can think of are having to read all these idiots reviews. Trust me when I say that none of those negative posts are from an clients. Just people who couldn't make the cut. PPG is as positive as it gets.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on keepin on. I love working here, and hope this will be my job for years to come.

    Pinpoint Global Communications2016-03-18
  7. Helpful (13)

    "Production"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production in Nashua, NH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pinpoint Global Communications for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Zip, nada, zilch, smoke and mirrors of above market average pay. That's about it. Oh, Lots of great people have worked here. And left. Clearly.

    Cons

    Too many to list. I worked here for several years. Not only has this place been by far the worst job I have ever had, but the mental stress it put on me (and others based on the reviews here) haunts me years later. I actually left this field of work entirely because of my experience here.

    Advice to Management

    The CEO must go. No other problem comes close to how bad this person is responsible for acting and treating people. Anyone who is happy here and raves about this place jut hasn't had their "whack-a-mole" moment yet. Don't worry... You'll get your turn.

    Pinpoint Global Communications2016-04-04
  8. Helpful (20)

    "False review - written by management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pinpoint Global Communications

    Pros

    High pay in order to get developers to stay

    Cons

    The prior review was clearly written by management. That makes it clear the level of desperation they feel about acquiring and retaining good people. PG (not PPG - Pinpoint is one word) treat their employees terribly. Their technology is awful. Their infrastructure is a house of cards. It is also a spaghetti mess that will take months to understand and then you will realize just how bad it is. PG doesn't know what...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    What's the point? They don't get it.

    Pinpoint Global Communications2016-03-21
  9. Helpful (15)

    "No amount of money is worth the pain..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pinpoint Global Communications

    Pros

    We were all WAY WAY WAY overpaid, (20-30% more than comparable positions.) Cheap snacks, great comradeship between employees. Seriously some of the BEST talent I've ever worked with was at PPG. Former employees went on to work at Kiva Systems, Amazon, Google, TomTom, Dyn.com, and others.

    Cons

    The interview process is filled with lies and misdirection. Beware the snake oil salesman that runs the place. Anything considered best practice is frowned upon for taking too much time. If you are offered a promotion look out, it's not what you're sold, ever. Promotions make people targets for abuse. Team leads were regularly rotated in and out. Management wasn't looking for true leadership but rather a "Yes" woman/man...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Overpaying your employees is not the solution. Find a solid leader, cut the CEO out of daily operations. Train your sales people to actually sell the product you have, not invent new features to snag new clients. Listen when your employees speak to you, you certainly are not the smartest people who work at PPG. Stop lying, stop bullying, stop pitting your employees against each other. Get an actual CTO instead of using...

    Show More
    Pinpoint Global Communications2016-01-18
  10. Helpful (9)

    "I'd Give 0 Stars if Possible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Pinpoint Global Communications

      Pros

      Hard working employees and that's about it.

      Cons

      Literally everything else. Management is horrible, harsh work environment where people are publicly ridiculed. Revolving door of employees.

      Advice to Management

      Ax the CEO and start over.

      Pinpoint Global Communications2016-01-17
    Found 29 reviews