Pioneer Human Services Reviews | Glassdoor

Pioneer Human Services Reviews

Updated May 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 86 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Karen Lee
52 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, especially the education assistance program (up to 100% paid for my BA)(in 7 reviews)

  • "for the most part, decent co-workers, good benefits after 6 months without a write-up for performance, etc(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Probably to be expected at a non-profit(in 6 reviews)

  • "Low pay is worth working in that field(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    ""A Chance for Change""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pioneer Human Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - The organization feels like it lives it's mission. - Great, dedicated coworkers. - Good annual performance review. - For a widely spread organization, there is a lot of effort to try to share what's going on in each department.

    Cons

    I don't know that there are "downsides" to working at Pioneer. Working at a rapidly-growing, state-wide spread, social-enterprising non-profit that has diverse divisional priorities in order to move forward the overall mission will always present challenges.

    Pioneer Human Services2019-05-17
  2. "Not A Place I'd Recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Spokane, WA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Pioneer Human Services part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good cause; helping people; PT position good for those who don't need to make the bulk of their household income.

    Cons

    Low pay; few benefits; high stress; poor communication between employees and management; no motivation from management to change.

    Advice to Management

    None. They wouldn't listen to it anyway.

    Pioneer Human Services2019-05-19
  3. "Great company with opportunities to advance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Skagit Residential Programs in Skagit City, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pioneer Human Services full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefit package Tuition assistance Flexible schedule Supportive leaders and mentors Employees are driven and prove excellent client care Provides internship

    Cons

    The ability to cross train from one pioneer unit to the next.

    Pioneer Human Services2019-04-08
  4. "Great Mission - Leadership needs help"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pioneer Human Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits Good work/life balance for those not in support departments Mission is wonderful

    Cons

    If in a support unit, expect to work more than 40 hours/week to get your work plus your "project" work completed, and don't plan on that being appreciated or acknowledged. Growth before maintaining and fixing existing programs

    Pioneer Human Services2019-03-07
  5. "Good Organization, Compensation Needs Improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Pioneer Human Services

      Pros

      Overall good company and mission; management is supportive

      Cons

      Salary rates needs work; caseloads are high

      Pioneer Human Services2018-12-08
    • "Awesome company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Accounting Manager in Sedro-Woolley, WA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Pioneer Human Services full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      PHS is a great company with a vision to help others.

      Cons

      The only thing I can think of is to trust your employees when they tell u something is wrong.

      Advice to Management

      Keep a better eye on those in upper positions

      Pioneer Human Services2018-09-25
    • Helpful (3)

      "Social Enterprise with valuable and rewarding mission"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Pioneer Human Services full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      The mission of Pioneer is one that is so valuable for the communities in Washington state. Being able to work with and help people that other employers/programs would not work with due a previous history of incarceration is extremely rewarding. Pioneer also cares about their employees and listens to what the employees have to say. There have been a lot of positive changes recently based on employee feedback and the senior...

      Show More

      Cons

      Pioneer Human Services is a non-profit so some of the wages offered are a little lower than what other companies will be able to pay.

      Advice to Management

      Really learn about what the great managers and leaders at some of the Pioneer programs are doing right and then implement those behaviors with other leaders with programs that are suffering.

      Pioneer Human Services2018-08-29
    • "Case Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Pioneer Human Services full-time

      Pros

      A lot of opportunity for growth, good benefits, and good leadership. They have a good mission and vision and the company is expanding its interests.

      Cons

      Pay is a little low, raises are minimal, and turnover is high in youth and young adult services.

      Advice to Management

      My advice to management is to find a way to pay their employees more and provide proper training to prevent high turnover rates

      Pioneer Human Services2018-08-26
    • "A strong and positive non profit"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Director of Talent Acquisition in Seattle, WA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Pioneer Human Services full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Strong mission driven focus to do the right thing for our community.

      Cons

      We need to continue to refine our efforts and provide more structure

      Advice to Management

      We are focusing on the right things and need to just continue our efforts in this direction.

      Pioneer Human Services2018-08-22
    • "Recruiter"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Recruiter in Sea Cliff, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Pioneer Human Services full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great benefits, especially the education assistance program (up to 100% paid for my BA). Love the culture and the desire to keep improving and growing.

      Cons

      We could improve how modern we are (with systems), but it seems like this opportunity for improvement is being addressed.

      Pioneer Human Services2018-08-22
    Found 86 reviews