Pioneer Natural Resources Reviews

Updated May 9, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
64%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Pioneer Natural Resources CEO Scott Sheffield (no image)
Scott Sheffield
55 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits and office atmosphere(in 35 reviews)

  • "Free lunch, weight room, coffee bar(in 21 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Constant stress of worrying about layoffs in oil and gas(in 12 reviews)

  • "It's the oil & gas industry so there seems to be lots of volitility(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Pioneer Natural Resources and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years
      Featured Review

      Reservoir

      Jun 25, 2020 - Senior Engineer in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They have a Great culture and great benefits

      Cons

      Nothing other than ebbs and flows of working in the oil field

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      One of the Best

      Mar 31, 2021 - Director in Irving, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This is one of the best organizations in the oil and gas industry. They are forward thinking and know how to really take are of their people.

      Cons

      Nothing really bad to say.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Was once a great company

      May 9, 2021 - Analyst in Irving, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay and benefits for Engineering and Geoscience fields is exceptional.

      Cons

      Purging of seasoned employees. Over the course of 2 years, the average age dropped from 45 to 35. Pioneer went from a company where employees were really a family to just another big company. The company lost what made it different from other companies.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      System administrator ii

      Apr 17, 2021 - Systems Administrator in Midland, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits and competitive pay.

      Cons

      Thin it staff. Lots of work.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Horrible Company

      Mar 28, 2021 - Automation Technician in Midkiff, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Pay for labor/hourly positions

      Cons

      Horrible Leadership. I came from the Parsley Acquisition and was very mad about where I was put. Pioneer put me in a role that was not what I had done before. I didn't get the option for a severance. I asked and was told no. My commute over doubled to a location I did not sign up for. My bonus was cut by over 50%. My stock grants were abolished. This accounted for a large portion of my compensation. Everyone I talked to hated their jobs. Stay away unless you are desperate for good pay. Management was horrible from the top all the way down. Micromanagers at the bottom level and incompetent at the top levels of management.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good company, lost its way the last few years

      Apr 5, 2021 - Geologist in Irving, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits, free lunch, high salary

      Cons

      2 layoffs in last 2 years, bad management

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Company, Poor Leadership

      Apr 13, 2021 - Landman in Irving, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits and pay are exceptional, even for an industry that generally overpays.

      Cons

      Management in the land department does a poor job at developing its employees and communication. To be frank, I've had maybe 8 total managers in my career so far, and the only two I'd characterize as "bad" were with Pioneer.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great Company

      Apr 2, 2021 - Human Resources Professional in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great pay and benefits. Generous PTO.

      Cons

      Many managers like the title of being a manager without doing the hard work to manage people.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Identity Crisis

      Apr 21, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Irving, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits, friendly employees, solid opportunities

      Cons

      One asset company, limited upward mobility, not as fun of a place to work at like it was 5-10 years ago

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Cold atmosphere

      Apr 26, 2021 - Accounting Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      no Pros at the present time

      Cons

      Low moral, job security worries

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 248 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Pioneer Natural Resources Job Seekers

    Engineering Analyst
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Pioneer Natural Resources? Share Your Experiences

    or