Pioneer Reviews | Glassdoor

Pioneer Reviews

Updated Feb 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
61%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Pioneer President Paul E. Schickler
Paul E. Schickler
187 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours, no advancement, constant changes in head count(in 21 reviews)

  • "Upper management has unrealistic expectations of what can be done with little resources (monetary and staffing)(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Research Associate in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pioneer full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work life balance is great

    Cons

    Lots of work and change

    Pioneer2019-01-16
  2. "Great People, Not So Great Upper Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Johnston, IA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pioneer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The teams I worked with were fantastic. Very smart people and I learned a ton during my time there. People with great ideas and wanted to make a difference. It was an exciting place to work with all the advancements happening and the merging of biology with information technologies.

    Cons

    Constant threats of layoffs looming over our heads made it difficult to be excited about coming to work. Meetings with upper management seemed to be canned talking points instead of answering questions that matter to employees. In the several years I was there surrounding the merger with Dow and change to Corteva, there was a definite slide from a company who truly valued their employees, to a company who was more concerned about pinching pennies. It really took a toll on team morale.

    Continue reading
    Pioneer2020-02-26
  3. "Good Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nampa, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Pioneer full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Company Sold to S&W Seed Co.

    Cons

    S&W Seed Co down sized employees

    Pioneer2020-01-18
  4. "Times Changing in the Agricultural Business Model"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Anonymous in Johnston, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pioneer full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    If you have or get a job with Pioneer currently, you are in good shape (I think).

    Cons

    DuPont focuses on Wall Street valuations...DuPont Pioneer (e.g. Corteva) was a golden child in the 2005-2014 era until prices for AG commodities fell. I suspect cost cutting measures are severe now until commodity prices improve (as of Dec'19).

    Pioneer2019-12-23
  5. "production tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tipton, IN

    I have been working at Pioneer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    pay, vacation, 401k, summer is the slow time of year

    Cons

    Constant change of schedule with little to no notice, no work and home life balance

    Pioneer2019-10-28
  6. "Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Technician 

    I worked at Pioneer part-time

    Pros

    Good pay, benefits, time off

    Cons

    Closed without notice, too much overtime

    Pioneer2019-09-17
  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Administrative Coordinator 

    I worked at Pioneer full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, and pleasant coworkers

    Cons

    Extremely busy season, and lulls between

    Pioneer2019-08-28
  8. "Do more with less"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Research Associate 

    I have been working at Pioneer full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good vacation, comparable pay, work varies day to day

    Cons

    Long hours, no advancement, constant changes in head count

    Pioneer2019-08-26
  9. "Simply horrid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pioneer

    Pros

    The people here are great

    Cons

    All other options are better in the seed industry

    Continue reading
    Pioneer2019-09-14
  10. "Great site group, but bogged down by big corporation rules"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Associate in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pioneer full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Close knit and small R&D site in Bay Area. Very innovative and well funded and good scientists/workers.

    Cons

    Lots of bureaucracy due to large and older parent company. No room to grow or learn new skills.

    Continue reading
    Pioneer2019-08-20

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 444 reviews