PitchBook Reviews | Glassdoor

PitchBook Reviews

Updated 14 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 136 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
PitchBook CEO John Gabbert
John Gabbert
105 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Good growth opportunities, lacking in org maturity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at PitchBook full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - There are many opportunities for career growth, including lateral movement within the company. - Some of the managers provide great support for their teams -- fostering career growth, shielding them from organizational turmoil, advocating for their value to upper management. This varies from team to team, but when present was the largest factor in employee success in my view. - The Seattle office can be a... pretty fun place to work - some teams in particular do a great job of building community through casual conversations, sharing food, etc. - The benefits package is fairly good (401k match, transportation, med/dent/vis)

    Show More

    Cons

    - High churn in surprising parts of the company, like product (top talent at PB is regularly poached by other companies) and admin (ex: during my tenure, PB went through 3 different HR directors). Some of this might be explained by the following notes. - Salary and other compensation lags behind the tech industry. - I observed several diversity-focused initiatives lose momentum because, in my opinion, they... had no access to data on hiring, compensation, promotion and were not empowered by leadership to make a real impact within the company. - For a company of its size, particularly after having been acquired by a large firm several years ago, PitchBook either (a) lacks robust HR policies surrounding performance reviews, harassment, parental leave, & more or (b) has failed to communicate changes in policy to existing employees.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Internally publicize data on employee diversity, hiring and attrition rates for minority groups, etc. - check out Google's annual diversity reports for inspiration. Only through transparency on these metrics will it be possible for the company to hold itself accountable from quarter to quarter on whether progress is being made, and all employee deserve to see that progress.

    PitchBook2019-04-10

    PitchBook Response

    May 8, 2019VP, People

    Thank you for the feedback. I am glad to hear you were able to take advantage of many of the great programs and benefits over your three+ years at PitchBook. As you experienced, PitchBook doubled in size over the past few years and certainly experienced growing pains as part of that ...

    Show More
  2. "The pay just doesn’t cut it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PitchBook full-time

    Pros

    Great culture Fun environment Team activities

    Cons

    Management is lacking true leadership

    PitchBook2019-04-03

    PitchBook Response

    April 15, 2019VP, People

    I am glad to hear you are enjoying the culture and the environment of teamwork we strive to create. I encourage you to give specific feedback and suggestions you have regarding leadership to me or to Paul directly or, if more comfortable, you can use TinyPulse or our Quarterly Pulse ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (2)

    "College-like atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PitchBook full-time

    Pros

    From a social standpoint- the company is very dynamic. Work-life balance is great.

    Cons

    Did not find the work itself particularly challenging or engaging. Homogenous and very male dominated in terms of demographic. Strong “hook-up” culture even at the director level- which leads me to the lack of mentosrhip available at the company. I was very underwhelmed by leadership.

    PitchBook2019-04-08
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Avoid at your own risk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Researcher in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PitchBook full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - you will learn about the basics of VC, PE, and M&A - you will learn basic communication and data collection skills - you will meet a few friends - a few free kegs of beer in the office

    Cons

    - It is pure data collection. period, end of story. - management is terrible (micromanaging, disloyal to employees, limit opportunities for growth...also they just had a round of mgmt layoffs in the research dept and gave employees no notice and no options) - little opportunity for growth - delayed action (payroll and bonuses not coming in on time, delayed title transitions) - laughable below-market pay (they... will tell you it's competitive until the cows come home) - extremely political - extremely high turnover in research (people get sick of the low pay, friends realizing it and leaving, and of the mgmt) - sales and customer success will always be the cash drivers for PB and will always be more important than research

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Wake up. There is so much disrespect towards the research dept and hard-working and loyal employees coming from research mgmt and upper-level mgmt.

    PitchBook2019-03-28

    PitchBook Response

    April 1, 2019Marketing Director

    Hello, this is Peter Escher, Director of Research at PitchBook. Thank you for taking the time to write and provide feedback. Given the byline, I assume we worked together for over a year within the Research department; thank you for your contributions to the team while you were here. ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Fun company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PitchBook full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company culture and opportunity to move your career forward. All departments work together providing a lot of transparency throughout the organization.

    Cons

    Not a lot of flexibility for working from home and the vacation time is pretty limited, but there are other great benefits with the company. Management is extremely open to feedback and takes all things into consideration.

    PitchBook2019-02-11

    PitchBook Response

    March 4, 2019VP, People

    I am glad you are enjoying the culture and see the opportunity for growth that is available at PitchBook. Please keep providing feedback through avenues like Glassdoor, TinyPulse, Quarterly Pulse Surveys and directly, we appreciate it!

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great company for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Development Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PitchBook full-time

    Pros

    Treat their employees very well Lots of good perks Room to grow

    Cons

    Not great pay for the work

    PitchBook2019-01-22
  7. "Why PitchBook is great..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSA in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PitchBook full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -full transparency -great onboarding process -incredible people and upper management -everyone is about the team, so there's always a helping hand

    Cons

    i have nothing negative to write about PitchBook

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    PitchBook2018-12-04
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Needs Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PitchBook full-time

    Pros

    - Nice office space - Central location

    Cons

    - Disconnect between leadership - Doesn't seem like there is an overall plan for roles/departments - Too much focus on alcohol

    Advice to Management

    Get it together. Talk to one another and work together strategically on next steps. I witnessed many moments where there was lack of communication and contradicting directions/feedback.

    PitchBook2018-11-05

    PitchBook Response

    November 26, 2018VP, People

    I am sorry to hear you felt leadership was disconnected and that you were unclear about our overall plans. I assure you the leadership team is working hard to share goals and bring clarity to planning, as we describe in company meetings and our company goal tracking tool. If you ...

    Show More
  9. "Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PitchBook full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People, culture, beer, events, fun

    Cons

    Salary might be a little lower than the industry

    PitchBook2018-10-29
  10. "Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PitchBook full-time

    Pros

    A good first job out of college. I met some of my best friends through this company and they remain my best friends today. Lots of opportunities for growth and learning if you take advantage of resources available and set goals with your own manager

    Cons

    A little disorganized and chaotic at times. Management had little training.

    PitchBook2018-10-15

    PitchBook Response

    November 26, 2018VP, People

    I am glad to hear you had a good experience in your first job out of college and that you built strong relationships while at PitchBook!

Found 136 reviews