Pitney Bowes Employee Reviews about "pitney"

Updated May 21, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 62 of over 2,290 reviews

3.6
68%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Pitney Bowes CEO Marc Lautenbach
Marc Lautenbach
836 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Benefits are good and right(in 192 reviews)
  • "At my position I enjoyed the challenge was paid well and worked with great people.(in 171 reviews)
  • "Work Life Balance is good(in 160 reviews)
  • "Job was remote and pay was good.(in 71 reviews)
  • "Training was good and when you traveled for training the hotel they put you up in was really nice.(in 51 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Pitney Bowes and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "pitney"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Warehouse job

    Aug 22, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very nice people 😁 Not hard to get the job, just apply and come on down . We need more motivated employees on our team 🙌🏾 It’s all about team work and most importantly getting the job done right 🤓 .

    Cons

    Really are no downsides of working at Pitney Bowes. I like it a lot really.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Current Employee

    If you just want to grow roots... and never leave

    Oct 14, 2020 - Security Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Disclaimer: all information provided here is available to general public and potential applicants, or is solely my opinion. Albeit this review is anonymous, I intend to honor the Non-Disclosure Agreement that I have signed. I have worked for this company a number of years, and I have to say that over the years the company has tried its best to give its employees a comprehensive benefits package ranging from general "hygienics" like health care and education reimbursement to various discounts and growth opportunities through internal learning programs. If you invest your time, you could harness as much of that as you want.

    Cons

    Disclaimer: all information provided here is available to general public and potential applicants, or is solely my opinion. Albeit this review is anonymous, I intend to honor the Non-Disclosure Agreement that I have signed. The Pros are enough to put the company at three stars, but not higher. Number one con, at least for me, is that the growth opportunities are actually limited. The company may tout its commitment to employee advancement, but development in technical fields is limited. Look at the company's hiring page, and you will see that the majority of weight-pulling IT development, Information Security and related roles are located outside the United States. The C-Suite and Senior Management is based in the U.S., but that's about it. I understand the cost-cutting strategy, and it pays to develop, defend and support cheaper elsewhere and make more money in the U.S., but if you are interested in those fields at an entry/mid level - steer away from this company unless you want to move to Poland, India, or China. However, if you want to work in sales, marketing, product/project management or improvement, and just in general operations and production management - opportunities are almost always open. This is probably due to the con number two of working at Pitney Bowes: the pay does not match that of similar positions on the job market. Finally, the last but not least con for me is that it is not clear where the company is going. If you look at the company's financial statements and history, you will find out that since the election of the last CEO, the company has gradually lost over 75% of its stock value, its liquidity ratios are horrifying, and its largest segment has been losing more money than it had brought in since inception. In 2018, the company made roughly 6 cents on a dollar, depending how you calculate its profitability using their financial statements. Granted, the company is 100 years old and has been hauling along all the baggage of outdated culture, practices and processes, and it has been gradually disposing of them, but I cannot be a part of that any longer. I have done my share and hope that others will benefit from it.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Good Place to Work

    Jan 2, 2019 - Major Account Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The pay and benefits at Pitney Bowes are good. Management is trying to be transparent with the direction of the company. The training is excellent.

    Cons

    A company trying to stay relevant in the market. New management is struggling with determining who Pitney Bowes is. The strategy appears to change constantly with no clear direction.

    3 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    A Company in Decline

    Jan 12, 2019 - Account Manager in Shelton, CT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great coworkers who are generous with their time and extremely kind.

    Cons

    Pitney Bowes is currently in desperation mode. Turnover is extremely high, management is unresponsive, and the postage equipment business is in extreme decline (check the stock price). As a result, management has began cost cutting (offshoring jobs) to the dismay of customers. Management is disconnected from the core business and the company is losing customers at an extremely fast rate. It’s sad to see a once great American company in its current declining state. If things don’t change, I don’t see them surviving much longer.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Too many changes

    Nov 1, 2018 - Client Account Manager in Spokane, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I really enjoyed the ability to do self-guided learning. Some of the managers were extremely supportive. Clinic on site.

    Cons

    Continuous changes of sales expectations - raised quota substantially without changing payout. I loved working for Pitney Bowes for years, but now it is a terrible grind and getting worse all the time.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Great People

    Oct 29, 2018 - Customer Service Supervisor in Neenah, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people make the environment.

    Cons

    Downsizing. Pitney Bowes is going through a very tough time for the last couple years. They have been eliminating a lot of local jobs and sending them offshore

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Very Disappointing

    Jul 27, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They keep people around for a long time, benefits are ok

    Cons

    I was once told that Pitney Bowes is where good ideas go to die. Unfortunately, I am seeing this to be true. They don't pay well at all when it comes to commissions. I have heard from some that they don't even pay what is promised. It is an old school environment with people that have been around for WAY TOO LONG. The bureaucracy is out of hand and it is hard to get anything accomplished. The formerly happy Newgistics employees, are no longer happy at all since the acquisition. So now we know... it is not only where good ideas go to die, it is also where compensation and employees' happiness, go to die.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Run for your life.

    Jan 10, 2018 - Principal Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    For a corporation (I've worked at a few now), usually even in a bad engineering organization, one could rave about the corporate card, opportunity to learn and grow, or <insert perk here>. Not Pitney.

    Cons

    Pitney Bowes is a dinosaur who is trying to keep itself alive through acquisitions and blurry vision. It sees technology as the way forward with its logistic, forex, and shipping background and rightfully so, but it's implementation is utter crap. Pitney is a organization rampant with corporate politics, the epitome of rancid corporate culture. This is ESPECIALLY so within engineering and Global ecommerce. If there is one thing upper management has expertise in, its running acquisitions into the ground. It’s almost inspiring their ability to kill culture, as it seems like the one thing leadership knows how to do. They have managed to take market dominance (Borderfree) and a 5 year head start from competition and squander it with petty politics, inability to hire and retain ANY talent, and a NYC and Tel Aviv office who function more like angry siblings than one working unit. Upper management in the business and engineering units, are clueless to running an organization with any form of vision or inspiring anything more than an employee wanting to take a nap and do the bare minimum. As a previous employee who did everything in his power to try and effect positive change on a dying culture here, for his team and platform, I say run. To any engineer considering joining this market or any engineering organization within Pitney, run. This organization is filled with complacent people who either are locked in by immigration requirements (or visas) or individuals would never be able to find a job elsewhere and would be laughed out of any interview.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Strong Core, Lacking Vision

    Nov 17, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Stamford, CT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent talent, long-term customers, core technology, predictable cash flow

    Cons

    Haven't figured out what's "act 2" as the mailing business gradually contracts. Moving into ecommerce is smart because it's the future and it's growing. But Pitney still needs to find its unique defendable niche. As everyone moves into ecommerce, and it evolves so rapidly,it's hard to grab and control turf.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Good Company to work for

    Sep 15, 2017 - Major Account Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pitney Bowes is evolving from a company known for mail machines to a true technology solutions company. Management is good at communicating the company vision and strategy. The pay structure is competitive and the benefits are excellent.

    Cons

    My experience was Pitney Bowes is trying to do to many things at the same time, which caused some confusion. They have gone through a couple of sales cut backs and reduced the outside sales force to almost nothing.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 62 Reviews

Popular Careers with Pitney Bowes Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Pitney Bowes? Share Your Experiences

or