Pittsburg State University Reviews | Glassdoor

Pittsburg State University Reviews

Updated May 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 59 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Pittsburg State University CEO Steve Scott
Steve Scott
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "PSU is a great place to work and gain experience while obtaining a dynamic degree(in 5 reviews)

  • "The faculty and staff are so passionate and welcoming to any and all student workers(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "Minimum wage for all student workers(in 6 reviews)

  • "Heavy workload, low pay, and little job training(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work, learn, live and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Network Support Specialist in Pittsburg, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pittsburg State University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Tuition assistance Competitive salaries Adequate benefits Good vacation and sick time policies

    Cons

    State institution, dependent on state funding and regulations

    Advice to Management

    Remember that you can't operate the place, without your employees. Keep being open and honest.

    Pittsburg State University2019-05-13
  2. "Great for Grad Students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Graduate Assistant in Pittsburg, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pittsburg State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I was classified as an Administrative Graduate Assistant. It paid pretty well and the office I was in was not too busy. I had times when I could work on school work. Some of the things I did for the position were good learning experiences.

    Cons

    There were a few times where I was basically acting as the custodian.

    Pittsburg State University2019-03-27
  3. "Laid Back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pittsburg State University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Just because you are a GTA, does not mean you will have to teach. Most of the time it is helping professors with grading or proctoring exams. Able to get homework done or anything else during your free time.

    Cons

    Not able to choose the professor(s) you are assigned to. Could cause issues for some.

    Pittsburg State University2019-03-25
  4. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Office Assistant in Pittsburg, KS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pittsburg State University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Relaxed Environment, Wonderful Bosses, Calm and Pleasant People/Co Workers, Works around you class times.

    Cons

    Pay is Lower however the pros are just so good it is not a huge draw back.

    Advice to Management

    Give a little more freedom to Axe Library workers. They used to have more and it was a great job then. It still is probably good but since then It has in my personal view gone down hill.

    Pittsburg State University2019-01-25
  5. "Graduate Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Pittsburg, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pittsburg State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    PSU is a great place to work and gain experience while obtaining a dynamic degree. More specifically, I was obtaining my masters degree in polymer chemistry and conducting research for my masters thesis. PSU does a great job with their graduate research assistant positions, allowing their students to obtain their degree, but to also make some money while they are doing it.

    Cons

    The only downside was that we could only work 20 hours a week. While our schooling is important and should come first, it would have been nice to at least have the option to work more hours to make more money as long as our grades did not suffer.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work and if at all possible, if students could have the option to work more than 20 hours (as long as their grades do not suffer), then that could be beneficial to the students.

    Pittsburg State University2018-12-18
  6. "Graduate Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pittsburg State University

    Pros

    My education came first always. Great professional development experience.

    Cons

    Longer hours that hindered work-life balance

    Pittsburg State University2018-09-17
  7. "Awesome place to consider working if you're a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Photojournalist in Pittsburg, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pittsburg State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's an amazing place to work! I've gained a lot of experience as a photojournalist and have created a network of people in the process. If you want to work here, I'd highly recommend it!

    Cons

    I only wish I got paid more, but that's a thing a lot of us wish.

    Pittsburg State University2018-04-11
  8. "Very Nice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pittsburg State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Come across many things which cannot be experienced again.

    Cons

    just a little pay. But anyways enjoyed.

    Pittsburg State University2018-03-29
  9. "Culture is changing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pittsburg, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pittsburg State University full-time

    Pros

    Interaction with students and fantastic faculty and staff.

    Cons

    Due to financial and budget cuts, jobs are lost and some jobs have hours cut back. Administration jobs and tenure are safe, all others are possible cuts.

    Pittsburg State University2018-03-20
  10. "Bomb.com"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Aquatics Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pittsburg State University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment and friendly people

    Cons

    None to report at this time

    Pittsburg State University2018-02-23
Found 59 reviews