Pittsburgh Glass Works Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Manager

Pittsburgh Glass Works Manager Reviews

Updated Jun 21, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
64%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Pittsburgh Glass Works Chairman and CEO James D. (Jim) Wiggins (no image)
James D. (Jim) Wiggins
4 Ratings
  1. "Fair and strictly non-discrimatory to a fault"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pittsburgh Glass Works full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Extremely organized, "a place for everything and everything in it's place" especially from a management perspective. It is easy to rely on stability given the level of organization that exists.

    Cons

    Other that fact that the previous CEO was a tyrant, there are no complaints

    Pittsburgh Glass Works2016-06-10
  2. "Not Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manager in Evansville, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pittsburgh Glass Works

    Pros

    Pay and opportunities. A lot of good investment.

    Cons

    Work like balance and churn from GO.

    Continue reading
    Pittsburgh Glass Works2016-06-21
  3. "Branch Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Pittsburgh Glass Works full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fairly independent decision making authority regarding inventory levels, customer contact, delivery route planning and personnel hiring. Territory Directors are open to ideas and experiences.

    Cons

    Lower than average pay for wage and salaried employees. Long hours with little recognition for above average work. Only annual raises.

    Continue reading
    Pittsburgh Glass Works2016-06-15
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Very Poor Communication"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager in Ruch, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pittsburgh Glass Works full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company being purchased by LKQ corp so the investment corp can move on.

    Cons

    *Poor company communication *Poor benefits package *No advancement potential *Expectations vs Rewards were way off

    Pittsburgh Glass Works2016-03-11
  5. "Former Branch Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager in Birmingham, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pittsburgh Glass Works full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This job, yes I meant job, not career, was something good to put on the resume. Learned a lot about how it is to work for a bean counting upper management. Insurance was pretty good.

    Cons

    Absolutely NO support from upper management. When problems arose that were above my head I was instructed to reach out to fellow managers by my territory director. Mg td seemed to have no idea of what he was doing.

    Continue reading
    Pittsburgh Glass Works2014-12-11
  6. "A growing company that has remained strong in the automotive industry."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Manager in Crestline, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Pittsburgh Glass Works full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There are many opportunities for growth if you are willing to apply yourself.

    Cons

    PGW has been struggling as it tries to maintain the proper balance between remaining competative in pricing and competative in quality. Paying employees less wages seems to be impacting the quality, too.

    Continue reading
    Pittsburgh Glass Works2012-08-12
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Fast Paced and Not Appreciated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pittsburgh Glass Works full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Challenging , fast paced, great customers and always interesting. Good controls and structure but very slow to adapt and change.

    Cons

    Poor pay for management and employees causes retention problems. Do not appreciate great staff and do not cut staff with bad attitudes and or work ethic. PENNYWISE and DOLLAR DUMB hinders business growth and they have no idea what they are missing or how good they could be.

    Continue reading
    Pittsburgh Glass Works2016-01-19
Found 7 reviews