Pixafy Reviews

Updated Jan 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.6
44%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
Pixafy Owners Alex Solomon Edward Solomon (no image)
Alex Solomon Edward Solomon
5 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great Company

    Oct 27, 2016 - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You can learn a lot of programming. WFH, PTO, free lunches sometimes

    Cons

    Management is not good. They have more managers than developersa

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Good Experience

    Jan 25, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    My experience at Pixafy was unique, because I was placed on the Pixafy team following the First Year Associates [rotation] program with Net at Work (formally Net@Work). This placement, while not being my first choice, was actually a true blessing. I joined a team of incredibly smart and friendly people and learned so much more than I would have ever thought within the course of just a few months. My role was interesting because it involved a mix of project management, account management, and business analysis. I learned (for the most part) on the job and did not have a lot of training. I did, however, receive consistent feedback from my manager, who challenged me and helped me learn and grow at such a rapid pace. I was involved in some really interesting projects during my time at Pixafy, and some of my clients happened to be really great people who I actually enjoyed working with. Above all, my coworkers were always very supportive and encouraging (even when I would ask the silliest questions). They all helped me develop the skills I have today, and I will always be thankful for that.

    Cons

    The team is very small, which is not a bad thing at all; however, it was often hard for me to get help/guidance when I desperately needed it. Solid mentorship is something that lacks at Pixafy, and I hope that this can be improved. Regardless, my manager was very helpful and worked hard to support me as much as he could, and I really appreciated that.

    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Upward Momentum

    Aug 17, 2018 - Project Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pixafy is great. I think some of the reviews on here are from the transition period after the company was acquired, so there are bound to be some unhappy folks. Fortunately, my very recent experience at Pixafy was nothing like theirs. The development team is hard working, focused, and driven. They are eager to please, have a desire to create, and are leading some of the coolest builds and deploys for their customers. This team of developers (and PMO office) is led by the Director of Operations who always thinking of the client and managing expectations. From team outings (LOBSTER BOAT!) to game nights, I’ve never had so much fun working with a group of technology professionals.

    Cons

    Pixafy is in a growth period, so naturally it can get a little hectic from time to time. There are also some legacy customers and issues (like the unhappy reviews here) that will take some time to fully overcome.

    3 people found this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Place To Work If You're Passionate About Technology

    Jul 15, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Pixafy cares about their employees which is evident by the numerous perks they offer as well as the investment of time that management puts in to each of their employees. The president took me to dinner a few times which shows the level of commitment management has with its employees. -Management is very smart and there is no ego which creates a fun learning environment. Everyone is encouraged to go beyond their basic job description and many have found a voice through Pixafy that they may not have had at any other company. Pixafy will bring out the best in you if you're open to learning. -Awesome people work at Pixafy. Everyone at the company is incredibly nice. I have nothing but the highest respect for everyone at the firm.

    Cons

    -Expect to work long hours but if you get an opportunity to report to someone like the president it will feel more like fulfilling a purpose than working at a job. After my first year with the company I began reporting to someone else and the excitement faded so not all management is created equal but for the most part they have a fantastic team in place.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Small Growing Company With Vision

    Jun 2, 2015 - Senior Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    * The agency side of the business has a very good reputation and great client base, leading to a constant flow of new and interesting projects. * The product side is working on cutting-edge technology and is poised to become a major player in the market. * Management doesn't just give orders, but instead really encourages new employees to add their own ideas to the company and takes listening to those ideas seriously. * Taking initiative and going above and beyond is not only noticed, but well rewarded during the review process.

    Cons

    * Project teams heavily depend on the expertise of senior technical staff, but not enough veterans in the upper ranks to share the responsibility yet. * Projects typically follow tight deadlines and sometimes require extra hours to deliver on-time. * The company's sales and estimation processes are still evolving; sometimes there are differences between what is expected and what is realistic.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Okay to start, but don

    Apr 30, 2015 - Senior Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work was engaging and you have a lot of say in what goes on, so long as the "principal" and "senior" developers don't shut it down for not being something they understand. Free lunches

    Cons

    Magento is a dead-platform or soon will be. If you don't like Magento, don't look here as you will develop by the book as the only approved way of doing things. Management is helpless about proper client management and you're expected to work long hours (+50 hours a week) in order to be approved by any higher-ups. If you leave before the CEO, you won't get good opportunities to grow (even your evaluations ask if you stay late, if you don't points are deducted.) As a hosting platform, it's the wild west. Servers constantly go down and the service is completely unreliable.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Good place to start your career

    Dec 10, 2014 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good place to start your career because you get to learn and grow relatively fast at this company. It's grown a lot since I've left but you do get a lot of responsibilities that force you to take that step up and take ownership of your work Two weeks off at the end of December because the company closes Free lunches

    Cons

    Management is pretty bad. Most of the managers don't have the right qualifications to be in the positions that they're in. It's definitely difficult to work productively when management doesn't see the big picture Long hours

    7 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Growing company, interesting people, fun tech

    Jun 8, 2015 - Ops in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The key to ones heart is the stomach. Or at least it seems Pixafy believes this to be the case. Lunch is provided twice weekly, and the kitchen is constantly stocked with free snacks. With the exception of a few exempt employees, (sorry guys) everyone is allowed to work remotely once per week. The company places a lot of emphasis on culture. It is sometimes a thing which makes some things difficult, but it creates an environment where it's as natural as breathing to become fast friends with every person you meet. I do believe I have made more friends at this company (Some who no longer work there but remain my friends) than I had in my previous 27 years on earth. Pixafy has numerous company outings and happy hours during the year. This and the installation of a game room overlooking central park as a place to take a break, have lunch or play some board games with co-workers help to further the established culture. The company not only allows, but encourages, employees to chase what it is they like to do. I personally was allowed to switch jobs twice in the last 2 years, one of which to a completely different department. Other folks have started with certain roles and were trained to do bigger and more interesting things, rather than leave them where they are and hire from without. Some people (their reviews are on this site), see this as a negative but everyone has the capacity to learn new things and Pixafy tries to let those who wish to do so, try it out. There are interesting opportunities to architect and build new things. Without getting into a bunch of marketing speak, suffice to say technologies in play such as Openstack, Mesos, Docker, Laravel and others go beyond the claims that all we do is Magento and provide much more gratifying experiences than building the Magento stores we used to work on. It's important to note that the primary failing of Glassdoor in my opinion, as a truly transparent medium for information is that there is no method by which to determine how long ago the reviewer worked at a company. I happen to know with 2 exceptions every negative review on here is from employees that left the company a year or more ago. I know this because I am party to the skype channel where they conspired to do so. I still call these folks my friends, but I believe their efforts are misguided. In the interest of transparency I should hope GD will let that information be known. Pixafy has changed a lot in the last year or so with the opening of our own product offering. The intent from my perspective is to cater to store owners and vendors of all sizes, from small "do it yourselfers" all the way up to Enterprise level deployments, many of which I have been party to in the last 2 years. Many of the stresses that we used to face have been addressed by a restructuring of the hierarchy in the office. The Pixafy in the other reviews no longer exists. That is not to say we do not experience our own new daily struggles, but this is the case anywhere I have worked before. If everything was easy they wouldn't pay me to do it... Pixafy is willing to listen to people that stand up and speak. That does no good to those who choose to "suffer silently". If you do not like what you see but you say nothing and then leave only to complain about it later, you have done yourself and your friends a disservice. I am well known in the office to stand up and speak out about what I think is right or wrong. What should be done, or should not be done. I have never once feared reprisal no matter how vehemently I opposed a situation. When you are right, your way is the way they choose. When you are not (And let's be real, sometimes you will not be right) the time is taken to explain things you perhaps did not take into account. I have been proven wrong before, I will be proven wrong again, but at no point have/will I need to fear consequences for it.

    Cons

    Depending on your position in the company it is true that certain extra dependencies for the company's success will rest upon your shoulders. You will at times put in more than 40 hours a week. Sometimes this may go for more than 1 or 2 weeks at a time. Pixafy is still a small company trying to build big things. It is ambitious, and it is risky, and it is hard. But it is potentially rewarding, and it is definitely easy to say after you have left, how you would have done it differently. It is much more difficult to stand up and work with the man or woman next to you, to get one of these projects over the line. If being paid to repeat the same tasks is more appealing to you than being handed an erector set and told to build the Eiffel Tower, you will not be happy. If an interesting challenge or a difficult puzzle are more up your ally, then you will find it much easier to stick around. There is a certain lack of cross training on different platforms/projects/modules and lack of documentation of standard procedures which causes many to suffer the loss of time reinventing the same wheels. This is a major contributor in my opinion to a lot of the extra time spent on some projects. This has been brought up before and steps have been taken to correct via departmental committees among other things, but as of the time of this writing it is still an ongoing challenge.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good Overall, Growing Pains

    Aug 6, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Overall a good environment full of great people, probably the number one reason to consider working here. Depending on what you're doing the projects can range from extremely interesting and compelling to extremely dull and boring. There are two sides to the company, one which is effectively a startup developing an eCommerce platform based on Magento and one which is simply a design agency. Both have their perks, but the startup division is far more compelling on a day-to-day basis due to the interesting nature of the work and the ability to shape the product itself. The office is nice and situated in a good area of midtown. There are a good amount of snacks and drinks to keep you occupied while in the office and a recreation room to unwind. They're now converting some rooms into quiet rooms for people that want to exit the communal space for a bit to concentrate, though it's never particularly noisy. A lot of emphasis is placed on communicating and working with one other, which is always good to see in a company. You never feel bad asking a question or getting feedback from your peers - most of which are competent. On a side note, after reading the reviews here there are a lot of people that were clearly bitter with or unhappy at the company. It's nowhere near as bad as they make it seem and there have been a number of very positive changes made over the past six months as well, so I would take any of those reviews with a grain of salt. At the end of the day Pixafy is a great place to get your hands in a lot of different areas of the code-based tech sector.

    Cons

    Due to the company's size there isn't that much room for advancement unless someone leaves a position, even then it may not be filled or the entire role description may change. As others have mentioned, if you're not careful you will end up with work/life balance issues. If you are willing to give your time to the company Pixafy will gladly take it, so you need to be very careful with this. I think this is a truth for most companies these days though, so you should already be well aware of this. A lot of the developers don't have basic knowledge when it comes to handling server basics, nor do they keep up on industry trends or standards. It can make working with other members of the development team annoying at times because they are not current on simply things such as Vagrant. There is sometimes a lot of focus on blame instead of leaning toward speedy resolution and prevention. Policies are often times non-existent, which can lead to a cowboy like environment at times. This can be seen as someone of a positive though.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Used to be great company not anymore!

    Jan 15, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - One of the best development environment where you work with highly talented developers. - If you are into Magento/ecommerce this is the place to work in. - Free Lunch, PTO, Health Insurance.

    Cons

    - Pixafy is no longer the actual Pixafy, they are sold and laid off half the company - Pixafy doesnt have its own office they rented out shared space from wework.com - I am not sure if they even offer free lunch. - If you demand for raise you will be replace (laid off) by junior who they will train and make money out of it so basically there is no future. - Developers are underpaid - Tight deadlines - There is no Bonuses - Overall company looks like running in test mode and can be close any time that is the reason they don't have proper office.

    Continue reading
    16 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 31 Reviews

Popular Careers with Pixafy Job Seekers

Project Manager
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Pixafy? Share Your Experiences

Pixafy logo
or