Plains Midstream Reviews | Glassdoor

Plains Midstream Reviews

Updated Aug 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 72 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Plains Midstream CEO Jason Balasch (no image)
Jason Balasch
12 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Operations Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Supervisor in Alberta, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Plains Midstream full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great company with great benefits. Strong leadership

    Cons

    Some employees are finding it difficult to accept change towards operations excellence

    Plains Midstream2019-01-12
  2. "Great Place to Develop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Plains Midstream full-time

    Pros

    Opportunity to educate and develop self is always available, fast pace

    Cons

    Many ‘trial and error’ type of decisions coming from Calgary office wasting time

    Advice to Management

    Continue to provide opportunity for progression internally

    Plains Midstream2019-01-16
  3. Helpful (5)

    "manager/leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Plains Midstream full-time

    Pros

    Very pro active leadership team. with so many company's unable to make positive workplace changes, Plains is assessing the culture and making changes. Change is tough and so not everyone will have a positive outlook on it but change is necessary to move ahead. Good pay, benefits and lots of opportunity for those who want to work hard.

    Cons

    A few chronic complainers in leader positions who likely have no other work experience and feel the company and the world in general, owe them a living. they are not willing to help change anything and want the world to stay the same...

    Advice to Management

    Keep moving ahead and recognize the people who are supporting the efforts to make Plains a leader in the midstream business.

    Plains Midstream2018-10-29
  4. Helpful (4)

    "What a great onboarding!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Plains Midstream full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excited to be working at an organization that understands the importance of great onboarding!

    Cons

    Nothing to report so far.

    Plains Midstream2018-10-26
  5. "Solution Architect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Plains Midstream

    Pros

    Best employer I have ever had. Very good salary and benefits. Colleagues are mostly professional and good at their jobs.

    Cons

    Communication could use improvement, just like at any other large organization. I have no major problems to express at this time.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to foster improvement in the automation and standardization of information and watch communication issues disappear in a few years.

    Plains Midstream2016-03-01
  6. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Engineer 

    I have been working at Plains Midstream full-time

    Pros

    I can't think of anything

    Cons

    There are a lot of reasons

    Plains Midstream2019-08-30
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Plains Midstream full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great employees, engaged workforce, growing company

    Cons

    As measured against peer group I can’t identify any

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Plains Midstream2019-07-10
  8. "Company is Changing for the Better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Plains Midstream full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Sr. Executive have recently been more transparent with long-term company strategy. Last town hall meeting was informative and inspiring.

    Cons

    Things happen fast within the company and are sometimes not thought out fully. However, this quick pace is one of the core values of the company as they pride themselves on being entrepenurial. Some leaders within the company are not leaders and need improvement in their leader skillset.

    Advice to Management

    Keep sharing information with employees, show the employees they are important assets.

    Plains Midstream2019-06-21
  9. "Turning the corner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Plains Midstream full-time

    Pros

    * opportunities for growth * strong asset base in US and CAN * strong safety culture * best medical and dental benefits in the sector * passionate employees

    Cons

    * growing pains * continue to grow leaders in being leaders

    Advice to Management

    * provide similar shift schedule in head office as they use in the field - work 5 days/then work 4 days/then work 5 days/etc etc

    Plains Midstream2019-05-08
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Pipeline Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Regina, SK

    I worked at Plains Midstream full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Salary and benefits are good

    Cons

    I did not like the work environment.

    Plains Midstream2019-02-22
Found 72 reviews