Plan B Technologies Reviews | Glassdoor

Plan B Technologies Reviews

Updated Jul 26, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Donnie Downs
9 Ratings
  1. "Great Company - Expect to Be Challenged"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Bowie, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Plan B Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Challenging work with many enterprise level clients, investment in you from a technical perspective (training and conferences), deep caring for you as a person, and management with integrity. This is a work hard, play hard type of culture. A lot is expected of you, but the rewards are great when you deliver. The only reason I left was that I had a young child. Even in parting ways, the management at Plan B was understanding,...

    Show More

    Cons

    When I was there, there was some resistance to working remotely. I'm not sure if this has changed.

    Plan B Technologies2018-07-26
  2. "Family Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Plan B Technologies full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There's lots of fun corporate outings and activities. It's a true family company! One of the owners even changed my flat tire in my first month working here! Management treats us like human beings and understands the idea of a work-life balance with family obligations etc.

    Cons

    As a small business, there's no shortage of work to do! But everyone pitches in to get the job done, so it's manageable.

    Plan B Technologies2018-07-26
  3. "Great company with great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Microsoft Engineer in Annapolis, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Plan B Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people. High level of expertise. Great environment. Good management with solid life/work balance. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Salary is lower than average. They expect employees to be expert at their fields, even if directly out of school.

    Advice to Management

    Make expectations clear during hiring.

    Plan B Technologies2017-11-13
  4. "Good business culture and work environment for those with the drive and good work ethic."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Annapolis, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Plan B Technologies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    This company very fairly compensate driven employees who prove their worth. They also put a huge emphasis on family and go above and beyond to ensure you and your family are welcomed and taken care of. Aside from team building events, most events are open to family and in doing so it fosters a different business culture and dynamic than I've experienced at other companies. Most employees are very close in and out of...

    Show More

    Cons

    Aside from the major federal holidays (New Year, Memorial, Labor, and the 4th) there are no federal bank holidays given, but they are typically made up for with additional days around major holidays.

    Plan B Technologies2016-06-16
  5. "Great pay, can be very long hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bowie, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Plan B Technologies

    Pros

    They pay extremely well and because of that have some very good engineers. Be prepared to work for that fat paycheck though. The hours are 830-5 but expect to run late a lot because all training is after hours. They do pay for all your training/certs though.

    Cons

    Can be very LONG hours. Crappy, cramped cubicle mess that needs updated. We make enough money for heavens sake UPDATE THE OFFICE. There is no need to feel like a sardine!!!!!!!

    Advice to Management

    Trust your qualified engineers to telecommute more often. Spend some of the money you are rolling in to make the office better. We are adults, not sardines. Also, better health insurance is a necessity.

    Plan B Technologies2015-02-23
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Enigmatic Black Box of Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Post-Sales Engineer in Bowie, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Plan B Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They are willing give just about anybody a shot at being an engineer. I was underqualified when i was hired, and with hard work and some help from my peers, I'm 10x the engineer I was. Usually the company is good about on the job training and shadowing. Salaries are competitive. Company has multiple company sponsored annual events to foster team building. Above average medical coverage. Publicly, company adheres to their...

    Show More

    Cons

    During my tenure, the first three month quit/termination rate hovered around 40%. Basically, half of the hires are gone for one reason or another within 90 days. This really kills the morale. It's been said that good managers are defined by the ability to hire outstanding talent, or by being pro-active at replacing talent. Plan B is not the former. Plan B has no concept of modern workplace operations and telepresence....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Update your attitudes on workplace telecommuting, organizational transparency, good-ol' boy network sales techniques. Time is precious, and we work in IT! Allowing employees to work from home instead of driving to "corral" of desks in the middle of nowhere will go a long way to improving employee morale. If you don't trust your employees, that's a talent issue. The other reviewer here hit the nail on the head about Plan...

    Show More
    Plan B Technologies2014-07-17
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Volatile work environment, beware of contracts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Plan B Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Some good engineers, lots of varying work environments, good experience builder

    Cons

    almost nonexistent and ever reducing benefits, some angry managers, 6am all hands meetings, 6pm "trainings". training is spotty, and must be paid back if you leave, they actually sued a former employee over noncompete. if you join to advance, forget it. if you dont mind towing a line and constant HR antics, this might be the place for you

    Advice to Management

    lose the fake glassdoor reviews... they read like adverts, not reviews. Try creating and cultivating an actual favorable work environment. Saying it over and over doesnt make it true

    Plan B Technologies2013-05-11
  8. "Small company, with small company values and outlook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bowie, MD

    I worked at Plan B Technologies full-time

    Pros

    company is in the right space with virtualization, storage, and related IT infrastructure projects.

    Cons

    Company does not develop opportunity for sales or engineers. They are good at keeping engineers current on certs but dont develop customer facing skills and internal processes are broken and painful to navigate. PS organization is run by a long term employee and is not interested in moving the company forward. This will continue to keep them at their current size.

    Advice to Management

    Look to grow the company with fresh management. The PS organization needs a change in attitude and outlok to addressing the market!

    Plan B Technologies2012-08-09
  9. "Fortunate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bowie, MD
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Plan B Technologies

    Pros

    They are lead by a seasoned, time tested and battle hardened management team. Very family focused, solid work ethis is rewarded and team work is required. Investments in training and skills development are priorities of the leadership there. Plan B is an environment where those with skill and ambition can rise to the top and not constrained by tenure but aptitide and value are rewarded.

    Cons

    Not a great environment for coasters, or poor work ethics. If you just want to collect a check and not be a part of a team that understands you are working for the success of your peers as much as for yourself, should probaly look elsewhere.

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course - keep weeding out the slackers and rewarding the talented.

    Plan B Technologies2011-02-14
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Leery of Legacy Management Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development in Bowie, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Plan B Technologies

    Pros

    Location of office near Annapolis and Washington, DC.

    Cons

    The legacy management team has a true 'good ole boys' network. Be prepared to hit numbers yesterday with your own contacts, active pipeline.. Do not expect the support of leads provided by the firm. There has a long history of turnover with excellent engineering talent and some solid sales representatives that truly are thankful of not looking back.

    Advice to Management

    No need to waste the energy to explain. It is all about the $$$.

    Plan B Technologies2011-02-09
Found 12 reviews