Planet Beach Director Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Director

Planet Beach Director Reviews

Updated Oct 19, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
38%
Recommend to a Friend
28%
Approve of CEO
Stephen P. Smith
8 Ratings
  1. "Love working for this company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Director in Dunwoody, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Planet Beach part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I learned a lot about advertising and marketing and prospecting working for this company .

    Cons

    I'm afraid the only kind I have is that that was a part-time

    Advice to Management

    I'm afraid the only con I have is that that was a part-time

    Planet Beach2016-05-31
  2. "Just don't do it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SPA Director in Destin, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Planet Beach full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free contempo spa membership with retail discounts

    Cons

    One of the most poorly managed places I've ever had the displeasure to work for.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees with better respect. Learn to not talk down to the people who make your company run smoothly. Stop calling the spa 15x a day to nag at your employees and let them do their jobs. Stop being petty. Check yourself into counseling and get a handle on your life before you run your business into the ground. Your employees do not need to know how much money you spend in your daily life. Nor is it healthy...

    Show More
    Planet Beach2017-10-19
  3. "I love PB!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SPA Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Planet Beach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Bonuses Commission Decent hourly rate Free spa membership Amazing product discount Great employees Fun atmosphere

    Cons

    Long days Always working even when at home High goals High cancellation rate

    Planet Beach2015-09-01
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Terrible owners and business practices"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SPA Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Planet Beach full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    using the free services however, owner was charging $10 to get a spray tan and $5 for the moisturizer.

    Cons

    no sick days or vacation days ,no benefits. memberships are hard to sell and then lots of people cancel every month. If you sell a membership and they cancel before the next commission check they wont pay you the commission so they keep the enrollment and the first payment and you get nothing. most of the employees aren't business minded hard working people. they are cheap help and if you don"t make the high sales goals...

    Show More
    Planet Beach2015-08-13
  5. "Great Company to Work For!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant SPA Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Planet Beach

    Pros

    Great atmosphere! Great learning environment and ability to move up. Commissions available

    Cons

    There were no cons at this company

    Advice to Management

    None

    Planet Beach2015-02-02
  6. "Clueless Franchise Owner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SPA Director in Pasadena, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Planet Beach full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Use of Spa service and employee discount

    Cons

    The locations are franchised out to anyone that can afford it which means many people with horrible business practices or no business know how are owners. In my case I had an owner that knows nothing about spa services or membership management. The owner used intimidation tactics to try to control employees and when people say that they won't be spoken to in a demeaning or abusive way or yelled at they are fired and...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Advice to corporate is to be a little pickier in who you let invest in your business. Stop taking anyone with money and interview people so you know if they can handle the business.

    Planet Beach2015-01-09
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Planet Beach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SPA Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Planet Beach part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun place to work. Love the services

    Cons

    A lot of sales goals

    Advice to Management

    Have good owners

    Planet Beach2014-12-03
  8. Helpful (2)

    "roller coaster that breaks down on you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SPA Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Planet Beach full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great concept, services, and products for great clients. You really do see results when you follow the correct steps. I loved my home spa and the people I worked with.

    Cons

    Love the concept but when you get to know the corporate office and staff you realize it is such a mess. The company would do well if it were bought out by someone who was actually capable of running a franchise.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure you pay attention to constantly training and educating your staff on every aspect of the sales process and products/ services or else it will just be another tanning salon.

    Planet Beach2014-11-14
  9. "Planet Beach corporate (not a franchise location)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Planet Beach full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    HQ has a relaxed, fun atmosphere with good people who want to do the right thing. Company is very forward thinking, working to anticipate, evolve and adapt to changes in the market & customer need.

    Cons

    If you're in a franchisee facing role working at the Corp HQ of a Franchisor can be a thankless & unappreciated job. This holds especially true if the franchisee is not on board with the company vision, which has evolved from its inception.

    Advice to Management

    Should consolidate everyone into one building which makes sense for multiple reasons

    Planet Beach2014-04-17
  10. "Great company, great people, most exciting concept I've ever worked on!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Planet Beach full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Innovative concept with a great group of individuals that are passionate about the health and wellness industry! The company gave me multiple advancement opportunities that helped me excel in my role. More than a job, it's a lifestyle that I live and breathe! I've learned tons from fellow executives and proud of my place with the company!

    Cons

    Constant change and evolution but that is what is needed to stay ahead of the curve and maintain the status of an industry leader.

    Advice to Management

    Keep innovating and listen to what franchisees and customers want!

    Planet Beach2014-03-24
Found 12 reviews