Planet Beach Reviews | Glassdoor

Planet Beach Reviews

Updated Oct 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Planet Beach CEO Stephen P. Smith (no image)
Stephen P. Smith
53 Ratings
  1. "I worked at the planet beach in centerville utah as the spa Director for 6 years."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Planet Beach

    Pros

    Spa services during lunch or after hours.

    Cons

    The pay isn’t much unless you are great at getting your commissions up. I also had to do the collections part. Eeshk.

    Advice to Management

    I worked at the planet beach in centerville utah as the spa Director for 6 years. I loved it there the first owner Carrie Baugh taught me so much. The next owner Dena Stewart was fun to work with and taught me a bunch as well. Both of them were very good to me.

    Planet Beach2019-10-07
  2. "Total Waste of Time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in New Orleans, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Planet Beach part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Always at work by yourself

    Cons

    Manager never in town to even ask questions

    Advice to Management

    Time to worry about your employees

    Planet Beach2019-09-09
  3. "Waste of time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Reception 

    I have been working at Planet Beach part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discounted or free spa services

    Cons

    Horrible salary, spa ran by machines, overpriced

    Planet Beach2019-06-02
  4. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SPA Consultant in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Planet Beach part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Commission offered Sales tactics learned Lots of benefits

    Cons

    The industry is failing Management isnt involved

    Advice to Management

    NA

    Planet Beach2019-04-03
  5. "Ehh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - SPA Consultant in Exton, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Planet Beach part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Customers are nice Easy daily work

    Cons

    Commission was always set unachievable high

    Planet Beach2019-02-20
  6. "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Planet Beach part-time

    Pros

    Free use of equipment and discounts

    Cons

    Bad pay, Constantly asking me to work work when I committed to part time, owners too involved in drama.

    Planet Beach2019-01-12
  7. "Spa Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Planet Beach full-time

    Pros

    get to work with great people and interact with customer

    Cons

    impossible to meet commission bracket

    Planet Beach2018-10-31
  8. "Spa Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Planet Beach part-time

    Pros

    Ultimately I had a lot of fun working there, and there was great discounts!

    Cons

    The location I worked at was not profitable. There were no clear guidelines on expectations

    Advice to Management

    Make the responsibilities clearer and more accountable!

    Planet Beach2018-09-29
  9. "Spa Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SPA Consultant in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Planet Beach full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Ability to make more money off commission. Work with school schedule. Get to use the services for free and discounts off products. Manager was super friendly.

    Cons

    Pressure of sales. Dealing with entitled customers and Sometimes your stuck waiting for people after closing when appointments are backed up and people coming in last minute but you still can’t close up until they leave which can take about 40 mins.

    Advice to Management

    Don’t approve then disapprove when we ask for a day off within the 2 week notice because of another employees issue. I’ve covered people many times when I was needed and the only time I asked for a day off when I really needed it, I wasn’t allowed anymore. this happened way too often and was my reason for quitting. Need to treat not just customers, but employees like they care.

    Planet Beach2018-07-12
  10. "Spa Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Planet Beach full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free Services. If you have to work weekends hours aren’t bad.

    Cons

    Lots of work for little to no pay. No benefits. No 401k. No PTO. No life or health insurance. Required to use your personal phone all the time. Employee discount is so minimal, that most employees can’t afford to buy retail they need to use to try ... to then be able to sell or promote it.

    Advice to Management

    If you become management ... good luck. Over worked underpaid.

    Planet Beach2018-06-20
Found 120 reviews