Planet Beach Reviews | Glassdoor

Planet Beach Reviews

Updated Jun 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 118 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Stephen P. Smith
53 Ratings
  1. "Senior Spa Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior SPA Consultant in Indianapolis, IN
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Planet Beach part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, free use of most of the services, great employee discount.

    Cons

    Absolutely no room for growth, pay rate is too small, but would be good for an employee in high school or just out of college.

    Planet Beach2017-03-02
  2. "Only About the Money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SPA Consultant in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Planet Beach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free services and discounted retail items Form relationships with loyal clients Decent hours

    Cons

    Each franchise owner is different.. but mine was all about the money and didn't care about quality. Bulbs were out, rooms dirty, machines faulty or held together underneath by tape.. would force customer payments through if they were declined.. HIGH turnover rate, crap pay.

    Advice to Management

    Check in on your franchises more.. have standards!

    Planet Beach2017-02-09
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Sales consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Planet Beach

    Pros

    It's good experience for high school students.

    Cons

    It's all up the the franchisee. Corporate does not screen for knowledge base so you get owners that think it will be easy when they know nothing about the industry. The pay is horrible! If you are full time you will not be able to pay your bills!

    Advice to Management

    Sell it!

    Planet Beach2017-02-16
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Not worth the Hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Planet Beach

    Pros

    Free Membership and discounted products

    Cons

    You don't get commission unless the store hits its goals. You work 50-60 hours a week, with only 40 being in spa

    Advice to Management

    Don't. The communication is horrible between owners, franchise and employees.

    Planet Beach2017-01-18
  5. "Planet Beach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Planet Beach

    Pros

    It is good hours for someone in school.

    Cons

    You are on your feet the whole day from making calls, cleaning beds, and just daily duties.

    Planet Beach2017-01-05
  6. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Planet Beach

    Pros

    lots of incentives, good commission, endless opportunities to grow, franchise ability, tan for free, family incentives, bonuses, competitive

    Cons

    sometimes the training can be a little over the top, but it all comes from corporate who has a rule book on how things should be done. every store is different.

    Planet Beach2016-11-04
  7. "Spa Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SPA Consultant in Fort Worth, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Planet Beach full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's nice to have a job that involves making people feel better about themselves. I feel like the work is fairly easy. In my spa we always had a "bed cleaner" so I wasn't having to sell and clean at the same time.

    Cons

    I feel like some of the products are bogus. Now I have a medical background and can see where some of the products couldn't possibly do what they claim.

    Advice to Management

    To not nickel and dime the customers. They are constantly trying to charge the customers for every little tiny thing, the customers would be a lot more happy and more willing to purchase services if they didn't have 10 things to buy for each individual service.

    Planet Beach2016-11-07
  8. "Spa Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SPA Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Planet Beach for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Free membership and discounts on products. Some flexibility with scheduling depending on how many people work there. Laid back environment. I know a lot of people will not agree with me on this, but even though Planet Beach is a franchise the locations are individually owned. If you have a horrible owner, you're going to have a bad time.

    Cons

    Not enough employees, high turn over. Higher than minimum wage but not enough to live off of. Which is pretty much any job now days. I only gave work/life balance one star because it is me and one other girl working who is always calling me at midnight asking to switch shifts or work all day or come in on my day off. It's an easy job but you need at least 3 people working in order to have some kind of social life.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more people.

    Planet Beach2016-09-23
  9. "Joke"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - SPA Consultant in Blanchard, LA
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Planet Beach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You got free spa services, which made up for the fact that you were doing 4 people's jobs for minimum wage lol

    Cons

    Minimum wage, minimal training but you'd get punished for not knowing something, no flexibility because they wouldn't hire anyone else to help, a manager that never comes in because why would they when you'll do their job too

    Advice to Management

    Hire enough people to do the job, and consider raises for employees who deserve them!!

    Planet Beach2016-09-21
  10. "Not a career but a "job" with perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Planet Beach

    Pros

    Free access to all of the services. Commission

    Cons

    Lots of turnover. Drama with staff. Pressure to sell sell sell, customers get annoyed.

    Planet Beach2016-09-05
Found 118 reviews