Planet Beach "spa" Reviews | Glassdoor

Planet Beach Employee Reviews about "spa"

Updated Jun 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 121 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Stephen P. Smith
55 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free Services, Fast paced, Room to grow(in 16 reviews)

  • "Perks of the job includes unlimited, free use of equipment and very discounted products(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Horrible salary, spa ran by machines, overpriced(in 11 reviews)

  • "The commission was not the best for products but great for memberships(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "spa"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Waste of time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Reception 

    I have been working at Planet Beach part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discounted or free spa services

    Cons

    Horrible salary, spa ran by machines, overpriced

    Planet Beach2019-06-02
  2. "Love Love Love"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SPA Consultant in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Planet Beach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free Services. Quality Training. Fast paced. Room to grow.

    Cons

    Nothing. I truly love the tanning and spa industry

    Planet Beach2017-06-05
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Not worth the Hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Planet Beach

    Pros

    Free Membership and discounted products

    Cons

    You don't get commission unless the store hits its goals. You work 50-60 hours a week, with only 40 being in spa

    Advice to Management

    Don't. The communication is horrible between owners, franchise and employees.

    Planet Beach2017-01-18
  4. "Every Spa is INDEPENDENTLY owned and operated!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SPA Consultant in New Orleans, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Planet Beach part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good employee perks, learn a lot about beauty and wellness, depending on the owner will determine your success and the tone of your environment. Transferrable job (if needed).

    Cons

    I used to work at Planet Beach Riverbend, first I was a member then employee and I have never in my life been so mistreated, disregarded, lied to and put into a financial strain. I would not recommend anyone to use that spa unless there is new ownership. The number of members and guest that never return, cancel memberships or asked to transfer to another home spa...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Return to franchisee school and relearn how to operate a business and treat your members and employees with more respect and own up to responsibilities and mistakes, be more understanding. I could go on and on...

    Planet Beach2016-05-21
  5. "Fun Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Planet Beach

    Pros

    Spa perks, laid-back environment, commission

    Cons

    Lack of inventory, broken spa services

    Advice to Management

    Keep better track of inventory and fix spa services immediately

    Planet Beach2016-04-06
  6. "One of the worst franchisee jobs I've ever had!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Planet Beach part-time

    Pros

    There was no pros at the Henderson, Nevada location.

    Cons

    Everything was terrible from the time I started there and will continue to plummet due to unethical and illegal business practices. The owner and manager don't lead their spa consultants to become leader, they lead them to be dictated by them. If you're not doing everything according to the manager's way you'll be verbally reprimanded when that person doesn't lift a finger to...

    Show More
    Planet Beach2016-03-23
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Not a bad company for entry level sales positions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Planet Beach part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free tanning membership! Each place is individually owned, so my experience was pretty positive. It was a fun working environment while I went to school full time.

    Cons

    Only paid minimum wage plus commission, and it was hard to sell people on the entire spa package, which is what they want you to sell, when they only come in wanting a tan. It was also difficult to always have to "up-sale" every customer that came through the door. I could tell they would get annoyed, but we always were suppose to try to get them to buy something more.

    Advice to Management

    If this is truly a place for "members" to come and relax, sales associates shouldn't bombard them every time they come through the door!

    Planet Beach2015-01-16
  8. "Clueless Franchise Owner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SPA Director in Pasadena, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Planet Beach full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Use of Spa service and employee discount

    Cons

    The locations are franchised out to anyone that can afford it which means many people with horrible business practices or no business know how are owners. In my case I had an owner that knows nothing about spa services or membership management. The owner used intimidation tactics to try to control employees and when people say that they won't be spoken to in a demeaning or...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Advice to corporate is to be a little pickier in who you let invest in your business. Stop taking anyone with money and interview people so you know if they can handle the business.

    Planet Beach2015-01-09
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Unrealistic expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SPA Consultant in New Orleans, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Planet Beach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to do Free services Extremely discounted products If you can sell extremely high price pointed products, you can earn a decent paycheck.

    Cons

    Unrealistic sales goals, far too much responsibility for minimum wage base pay, prospecting by going up to random people telling them they get a free spa day but not telling them they have to buy products until they arrive at their appointment, selling low quality goods for an astronomical price point to everyday middle class people, etc

    Advice to Management

    If you expect your low paid employees to do as much stuff as you make them do, start paying them better. No one can complete everything you want done, help people into their services, find new people to join, call a million random numbers to come in for a "free" spa day, and everything to be cleaned spotless for 8.25 an hour and finish all of those things for every shift

    Planet Beach2014-10-24
  10. "Forward thinking and generous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Planet Beach full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The staff is extremely focused and capable. Always looking for ways to move the company forward without sacrificing anything to the customers, employees or franchisees.

    Cons

    I think the biggest challenge is getting people to understand that the company is not a tanning salon but a spa. Yes, they started out as UV tanning but that is a minor aspect now. The other challenge is out of their control and it deals with the constant changes to the laws and such surrounding the industry.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to promote your innovativeness and force all locations to re-brand to the new look and feel. It rocks and needs to be out for all the world to see. I also think that there is a huge wealth of knowledge out in the trenches that could be tapped more to get best practices, etc.

    Planet Beach2014-03-24
Found 121 reviews