Planet Fitness Fitness Instructor Reviews | Glassdoor

Planet Fitness Fitness Instructor Reviews

Updated Oct 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
26%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Planet Fitness CEO Chris Rondeau
Chris Rondeau
10 Ratings
  1. "Good place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Group Fitness Instructor in Tulsa, OK

    I have been working at Planet Fitness full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hourly pay vs. commission, great place to start your fitness career, everyone is super nice, members tend to be nice people, pay raise at 90 days and 1 year.

    Cons

    Weird hours, you hit your pay cap at one year, not a lot of growth/learning opportunities, annoying uniform requirements for women (can't wear normal "tight" athletic pants)

    Planet Fitness2019-02-18
  2. "It was okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fitness Instructor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Planet Fitness full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced learning, lot's of opportunities to make outside clients, stable, low sales pressure

    Cons

    Low pay due to low sales pressure, zero wiggle room on training schedule. I ended up leaving because the schedule made it impossible to attend school.

    Continue reading
    Planet Fitness2019-10-03
  3. "Fitness instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fitness Instructor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Planet Fitness full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The client environment gives to an intro opportunity to explore your own style

    Cons

    Communication with regional managers is poor with

    Planet Fitness2019-08-28
  4. "Fun work, shady management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fitness Instructor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Planet Fitness full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Able to train people without sales Stable income for a trainer

    Cons

    Higher level Management is shady, very inappropriate. Promotions aren’t earned by your talents they’re given based on who likes who

    Planet Fitness2019-07-06
  5. "Good starting place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fitness Instructor 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Planet Fitness full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed environment, flexible schedule, autonomy

    Cons

    No room to grow, low pay

    Planet Fitness2019-05-18
  6. "Okay for a college student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fitness Instructor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Planet Fitness full-time

    Pros

    You get a free gym membership

    Cons

    Staffing issues, scheduling issues, manager was never onsite, no room for growth unless you are a favorite

    Planet Fitness2019-02-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Stay away if you are serious about personal training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fitness Instructor in Mesa, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Planet Fitness full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits after 60 days, having a set schedule

    Cons

    Employ qualified people to be instructors. Let instructors be instructors and not janitors.

    Planet Fitness2018-09-11
  8. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Fitness Instructor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Planet Fitness full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Social Networking Flexible Casual Gym Experience Free Membership

    Cons

    Cliquey Brown-nosing Lack of opportunity Low Pay Poor Managment

    Continue reading
    Planet Fitness2018-04-10
  9. "Wonderful place to gain skills and move up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fitness Instructor in Enid, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Planet Fitness full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The atmosphere is wonderful and this is the first place that I've had where the employees work and we all get along.

    Cons

    Could get longer than a 20 minute break. Taking off is easy, but you have to have someone cover your shift and that can be difficult at times.

    Planet Fitness2017-08-28
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great for members, not great for staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fitness Instructor in Newington, NH
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Planet Fitness full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -full time employees receive medical and dental and other benefits -fixed schedule (good for those who like routine) -relatively simple tasks -free black card benefits

    Cons

    -salary: VERY low, even for certified trainers -fitness trainers still have to perform customer service and janitorial tasks -very little room to grow within company -typical corporate environment: those at the top dictate how things are run without ever consulting the "bottom guys" who do the work -fitness trainers don't make any money off of classes taught -trainers are limited to what they can teach and how they teach

    Continue reading
    Planet Fitness2017-01-04
Found 23 reviews