Planet Fitness Front Desk Staff Reviews | Glassdoor

Planet Fitness Front Desk Staff Reviews

Updated Sep 17, 2016

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
72%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Planet Fitness CEO Chris Rondeau
Chris Rondeau
6 Ratings
  1. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Staff in Schererville, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Planet Fitness part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Your hours reflect your work ethic. I was boosted from 16 hours a week to 30 within a month. Great for college students, managers are good about working around your schedule. Lots of room for advancement! The company is growing quickly and a lot of my coworkers have been promoted to assistant managers or general managers of new clubs. The pay is pretty good, better than I expected. I've already been raised $1.

    Cons

    Sometimes your hours aren't great. You WILL have to work weekends, but it's manageable. Since we close at 7 on Saturday and Sunday, there's plenty of extra time to have a social life. There are no benefits, but as a college student I wasn't expecting any. Depending on the club, you may have to do more cleaning than they let on in the interview!

    Continue reading
    Planet Fitness2015-06-08
  2. "Really loved working there there are some great members but alot of unhappy ones as well"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Staff in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Planet Fitness full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They give you a raise every 6 month its 0.50 cents , i love the staff we all felt like family we had alot of fun and at times the store was dead so we could text and work on school work or even run across the street to get food

    Cons

    They have us clean alot! Bathroom checks every half hour and there are alot of nasty stuff in there , we clean the machines alot trust me they are anal on the machine cleaning . Rude members constantly fighting with you about the balance they owe and always trying to break the rules sneaking in guests for free etc .. And corporate are always doing secret shoppers and secret phone calls to see if you know the script

    Continue reading
    Planet Fitness2016-09-17
  3. "Great place to work as a college student!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Front Desk Staff in Waldorf, MD
    Recommends

    I worked at Planet Fitness part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The coworkers were easy to get along with and management did a great job connecting with employees. The day-to-day interaction with regular members was nice too. Once you built a relationship with a member, it was nice to have casual conversation when they came in. You can't complain about a free membership either!

    Cons

    Members with horrible attitudes Understaffed when rush comes in Not really sure why we can't sit down

    Continue reading
    Planet Fitness2016-08-09
  4. "Dont do it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Staff in Portsmouth, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Planet Fitness part-time

    Pros

    -It's easy. -Staff is down to earth and knowledgeable -30 day raise -The regulars (members) are sweet and funny

    Cons

    -Managers are subpar -Will fire you over any little thing -Women are treated unjust and inappropriate -High turnover rate -Members can be rude -clientele is very basic; only beginners and elderly

    Continue reading
    Planet Fitness2016-07-14
  5. "part time work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Front Desk Staff in College Station, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Planet Fitness

    Pros

    Enjoyed meeting and giving tours to potential members. Great company to work for, especially if you want to work on your people skills. It is all about serving people and helping them get started in weight lifting.

    Cons

    Did not like the fact that we had to stand in the same spot for so long. I really do not have anything to complain about my time there.

    Continue reading
    Planet Fitness2016-05-14
  6. "Nice but Inconsistent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Front Desk Staff in Savannah, GA

    I have been working at Planet Fitness for more than a year

    Pros

    Free membership Flexible schedule Friendly environment Diverse staff

    Cons

    Inconsistent with enforcing rules (i.e.dress code) Hours are not always ideal

    Continue reading
    Planet Fitness2016-01-21
  7. Helpful (1)

    "This place is a joke."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk/Staff in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Planet Fitness part-time

    Pros

    meeting new people, free gym membership

    Cons

    no flexible scheduling, expect too much for very little pay, no raises, management does not care about employees, no advancement opportunities, lack of hours,

    Continue reading
    Planet Fitness2015-09-29
  8. "This is a friendly environment that really is judgement free!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Staff in New Albany, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Planet Fitness part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Meet interesting people Pretty easy job Fast-paced at times My coworkers

    Cons

    There is kind of a ridiculous amount of cleaning required constantly.

    Planet Fitness2015-07-15
  9. "Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Staff 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Planet Fitness part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pros of working at planet fitness are ; Free black card membership for the staff, Very flexible with hours, Fun working environment,

    Cons

    Some of the cons of working at planet fitness were; a lot of cleaning and manual labor, dealing with angry customers and the pay could have been better.

    Continue reading
    Planet Fitness2015-05-22
  10. "Front Desk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Staff 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Planet Fitness part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free gym membership, management is pretty relaxed for the most part, job is pretty easy and your schedule is always the same which can be a good thing

    Cons

    Although they have overnight cleaners, the front desk employees clean much more of the gym and get a lot paid less

    Planet Fitness2015-05-28
Found 20 reviews