Planet Fitness "gym membership" Reviews | Glassdoor

Planet Fitness Employee Reviews about "gym membership"

Updated Feb 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
53%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Planet Fitness CEO Chris Rondeau
Chris Rondeau
482 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay for amount of work you'll be doing(in 115 reviews)

  • "Upper management sometimes makes decisions without thinking(in 64 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "gym membership"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Fun Part-Time For College Students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Member Service Representative in Gainesville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Planet Fitness part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Relaxed environment -Fun -Easy job -Always leaving on time -Flexible scheduling -Organized management -Free gym membership

    Cons

    -Rude members -Some shifts are very long (e.g. closing shift is 3PM-11PM). -Difficult to move up or advance. You definitely hit a glass ceiling. Lots of outside hiring and only 3 full-time positions filled by one person: Trainer, Manager, Assistant Manager. -Pay is OK. You don't earn commissions.

    Continue reading
    Planet Fitness2019-10-01
  2. Helpful (1)

    "One of the most dull jobs you'll have"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Overnight Customer Service Representative in Texas City, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Planet Fitness part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free gym membership Cool coworkers

    Cons

    Awful hours (10 PM to 6 AM) Managers constantly watching cameras and "secret shop" calling Must follow a novel of a script for every phone call or you get fired Must meet unrealistic minimum sales requirements with no incentive Endless cleaning - You will be a janitor 95% of the time Low pay for amount of work you'll be doing Dead end (no room for growth)

    Continue reading
    Planet Fitness2020-02-23
  3. "Not that bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Member Service Representative in Canton, OH
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Planet Fitness part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free Gym Membership Form relationships with the regulars

    Cons

    Enforcing all the rules

    Planet Fitness2020-02-17
  4. "It's ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Texas City, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Planet Fitness part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule Free gym membership

    Cons

    Terrible customers (Do not read their contracts) Multiple jobs combined into 1

    Continue reading
    Planet Fitness2020-02-10
  5. "Not worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Knoxville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Planet Fitness part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free gym membership, flexible hours.

    Cons

    Poor pay, little advancement opportunities, conflicting information between middle and upper management.

    Continue reading
    Planet Fitness2020-01-30
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Manager FT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 

    I worked at Planet Fitness full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free Gym membership is all

    Cons

    Poor Hours, No Flexibility, Underpaid staff

    Planet Fitness2020-01-22
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Unethical, immoral, dishonest management practices"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Member Service Representative in National City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Planet Fitness part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Easy laid back job -Friendly coworkers -Free gym membership and access to the gym amenities

    Cons

    -Low pay -Immoral and dishonest managers -No room for growth within unless you're best friends with management - they would rather hire strangers off the street than offer current, already-trained employees new shifts as they become available. I was hired with the understanding I would be covering Friday and Saturday overnights (10 pm to 6 am) for one or two weeks TOPS and would get first dibs on a daytime shift when it opened up. I was there almost two months and various shifts opened up and the manager always strung me along and made excuses as to why I couldn't have the shift(s). Yet I was expected to be a floater for everyone whenever someone called in and do the Friday and Saturday overnights. It took a toll on my romantic relationship and cut into time spent with my one-year-old daughter. I kept getting promised certain things that would always fall through. I was taken advantage of and lied to...I was just a body to fill a position no one wanted to work.

    Continue reading
    Planet Fitness2019-12-24
  8. "A good job...but"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Member Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Planet Fitness part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun work environment, free gym membership, and meeting lots of cool people while learning about the fitness industry. We got a raise every quarter (had to be approved by corporate) and we had team building every quarter

    Cons

    High turnover, dealing with angry people when billing occurs, and sometimes managers don't lead by example

    Continue reading
    Planet Fitness2019-12-02
  9. "Great Company but Understaffed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Member in Roswell, GA

    I worked at Planet Fitness part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Free Black Card Gym Membership - Members are the sweetest

    Cons

    - Lots of Cleaning (Gym Equipment & Bathrooms) - Understaffed (You will be working by yourself most of the time, if you're lucky you might have another person with you) - Closing Gym by yourself late at night - Hard to get time off because of understaffed issue

    Continue reading
    Planet Fitness2019-11-13
  10. "Depends on the manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk in Towson, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Planet Fitness part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible with schedules, depending on location and how they operate, they offer shifts that are less than 8 hours which can be good for those with 2 jobs or school Employee of the month usually gets a prize of some sort like a gift card On casual days you get to wear sweatpants or gym shorts Free black card gym membership Gym-watch people

    Cons

    Low pay, slightly above minimum wage, scheduled raises I believe every 6 months but not for much "Everyone is replaceable attitude" from managers and corporate High employee turnover A lot of cleaning is involved for everyone other than managers Deal with a lot of irate customers Extremely hard to get promoted within

    Continue reading
    Planet Fitness2019-11-06
Found 154 reviews