Planet Fitness "low pay" Reviews | Glassdoor

Planet Fitness Employee Reviews about "low pay"

Updated Mar 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
53%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Planet Fitness CEO Chris Rondeau
Chris Rondeau
481 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay for amount of work you'll be doing(in 115 reviews)

  • "Upper management sometimes makes decisions without thinking(in 63 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "low pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "P Trainer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Training in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Planet Fitness full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    simple job duties, with great staff

    Cons

    low pay and not much room for growth

    Planet Fitness2019-10-01
  2. "Let go after giving over 2 weeks notice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fitness Trainer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Planet Fitness full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The members that come to fitness sessions are awesome and it feels good to make a difference, you are pretty independent in your job and have the ability to do what you want in your sessions (within certain guidelines)

    Cons

    Low pay, higher management cares more about quantity over quality, no sick time, you're not really a trainer who can prescribe exercise specifically in a 15 minute DYO session even though its worded that way, other members are always breaking rules and rude when you need to use class spaces, front desk doesn't care to enforce rules

    Continue reading
    Planet Fitness2020-03-18
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Management didn't respect staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Planet Fitness full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hours were always available daily

    Cons

    No concerns met, low pay, inconsistent pay, rude franchise owner

    Continue reading
    Planet Fitness2020-03-20
  4. "Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Planet Fitness

    Pros

    Two 15 minute breaks Free membership

    Cons

    Low pay Training needs to be refreshed upon more

    Planet Fitness2020-02-23
  5. Helpful (1)

    "One of the most dull jobs you'll have"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Overnight Customer Service Representative in Texas City, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Planet Fitness part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free gym membership Cool coworkers

    Cons

    Awful hours (10 PM to 6 AM) Managers constantly watching cameras and "secret shop" calling Must follow a novel of a script for every phone call or you get fired Must meet unrealistic minimum sales requirements with no incentive Endless cleaning - You will be a janitor 95% of the time Low pay for amount of work you'll be doing Dead end (no room for growth)

    Continue reading
    Planet Fitness2020-02-23
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Avoid Working At Certain Location(s)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Associate in Ohio City, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Planet Fitness part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free membership (that's all) Interesting members

    Cons

    No room for growth Very short breaks Low pay

    Continue reading
    Planet Fitness2020-01-25
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Useful as a stepping stone, not worth trying to grow in the company as opportunities are slim based on your schedule."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Lead in Mentor, OH
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Planet Fitness full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling and coworkers are easy to get along with

    Cons

    Low pay, too much heavy lifting that can cause potential health issues, no room for growth, for me promotions were all talk no action.

    Continue reading
    Planet Fitness2019-12-31
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Planet Fitness"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Receptionist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Planet Fitness full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    easy job, fun environment, good coworkers

    Cons

    hypercritical management, low pay, incredibly long hours

    Planet Fitness2019-12-16
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Unethical, immoral, dishonest management practices"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Member Service Representative in National City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Planet Fitness part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Easy laid back job -Friendly coworkers -Free gym membership and access to the gym amenities

    Cons

    -Low pay -Immoral and dishonest managers -No room for growth within unless you're best friends with management - they would rather hire strangers off the street than offer current, already-trained employees new shifts as they become available. I was hired with the understanding I would be covering Friday and Saturday overnights (10 pm to 6 am) for one or two weeks TOPS and would get first dibs on a daytime shift when it opened up. I was there almost two months and various shifts opened up and the manager always strung me along and made excuses as to why I couldn't have the shift(s). Yet I was expected to be a floater for everyone whenever someone called in and do the Friday and Saturday overnights. It took a toll on my romantic relationship and cut into time spent with my one-year-old daughter. I kept getting promised certain things that would always fall through. I was taken advantage of and lied to...I was just a body to fill a position no one wanted to work.

    Continue reading
    Planet Fitness2019-12-24
  10. "Depends on the manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk in Towson, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Planet Fitness part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible with schedules, depending on location and how they operate, they offer shifts that are less than 8 hours which can be good for those with 2 jobs or school Employee of the month usually gets a prize of some sort like a gift card On casual days you get to wear sweatpants or gym shorts Free black card gym membership Gym-watch people

    Cons

    Low pay, slightly above minimum wage, scheduled raises I believe every 6 months but not for much "Everyone is replaceable attitude" from managers and corporate High employee turnover A lot of cleaning is involved for everyone other than managers Deal with a lot of irate customers Extremely hard to get promoted within

    Continue reading
    Planet Fitness2019-11-06
Found 115 reviews