Plaster Group Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Consultant

Plaster Group Consultant Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 22 reviews

4.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
95%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Shawn Plaster
19 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "An amazing boutique consulting firm that punches well above its weight"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Plaster Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Opportunity to work with people who know their stuff inside and out - The firm has very few delivery issues (in stark contrast to other places I have worked) so there is a feeling of stability - The firm has been intentional in its growth which translates to steady, managed growth vs. growth spikes and cliffs that often contribute to "churn and burn" in similar sized companies - The environment here is one of a growth mindset; the firm seeks people who are really good at what they do but want to get better/expand their knowledge. This is enabled through a culture that encourages consultants to try new things and support them along the way - Benefits-wise you would be hard pressed to find anywhere in the area that does this better. The benefits structures are geared towards long-term retention of the best talent and this is reflected in an attrition rate below the industry average (CEO shares this type of data at quarterly meetings....which brings me to my next point.....) - Transparency! Very little red tape, direct line of sight to leadership team, open sharing of company performance at quarterly all-hands etc. It's really nice to know the overall health and growth rate of the firm and how our activities can contribute to it

    Cons

    Not too much to add here. If anything more of a cultural expectation of the industry - there is plenty of opportunity but as a consultant you need to initiate and be self-directed. You don't have a "career manager" YOU ARE your career manager. You will get support but you need to engage your Practice Director to drive these conversations. The other piece I would add is that, while there are social events (and they are fun), there is less of the outside of work events than you'd perhaps find elsewhere. To me it's a function of a more experienced consulting workforce who often have kid/family commitments that take precedence over additional work engagements. Depending on your preferences / stage in life, that could be either a pro or a con.

    Continue reading
    Plaster Group2018-09-19
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Plaster Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great set of people. Truly understand Agile.

    Cons

    Everyone is at their own sites working & had to find own work in certain roles. The pay (for me) was low for the market.

    Continue reading
    Plaster Group2018-04-24
  3. Helpful (4)

    "A Company with Integrity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Plaster Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Plaster Group is the first company I've worked at that genuinely cares about their clients and employees, and I don't say that lightly. The founder and CEO strives to make each employee feel valued and he helps them work to their fullest potential. There is a high level of support from the team – ego never shows itself. If you have a question or need help, you have resources who are more than happy to offer assistance. There is also a culture of giving back to the community and helping others, which I find inspiring; this is a company that is focused on the person, the client, and the community, knowing that proper care of each leads to success. Additionally, the employee benefits are incredibly generous and comprehensive, for which I am grateful. It was a lucky day I was offered a job at Plaster Group! I have enjoyed every minute with this company.

    Cons

    Honestly can't think of any!

    Continue reading
    Plaster Group2017-06-22
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Employer of Choice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Plaster Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's been a long time since I worked for a company that cared so much about the success and happiness of their team members. I'm delighted to be a part of the team and could not have been better supported since I started with Plaster Group. Everything from employee benefits to professional development is top tier and the leadership team consistently solicits ideas from every employee for what the leadership team can do to better serve the employees and clients. Despite the tremendous strength of experience, skills, and talents on the team, I have never seen ego appear at any meeting or event. The strength of character and values begins with the founder/CEO and extends to every person on the team.

    Cons

    No constructive feedback to offer!

    Continue reading
    Plaster Group2017-02-17
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Fantastic Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior BI Consultant in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Plaster Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company finds the best projects for its employees that will ensure the employee enjoys the work and that the project is something of value we can offer to the client. Excellent benefits. Leadership treats its employees very well. It's not only a great place to build your career but also be able to work with fun people.

    Cons

    Really, none that I can speak of.

    Continue reading
    Plaster Group2017-02-10
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Best Employer I've Had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Solutions Consultant in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Plaster Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The leadership team goes out of its way to let the employees know it cares. It feels like our opinion about how to keep improving as a company is valued and often implemented. The benefits are amazing and they just keep coming! Two years ago they rolled out a 3% employer retirement match and a technology allowance. Last year it was a $1500 FSA account and the Orca card. Quarterly book club, recognition for birthdays and anniversaries, parking allowance, generous PTO, etc.. The company really follows up on its commitments. The client list just keeps getting bigger and better. We have all the big name clients in town but the one thing I've appreciated the most is the lack of dependency on Microsoft. Most consulting companies in town earn most of their revenue from Microsoft. I believe we have only a couple of consultants there at the moment Plus they always ask for our opinion about our next assignment without any pressure to take something because it's available.

    Cons

    Not too many cons to report but maybe opportunities. Can we follow through on the corporate day of caring discussed at one of the quarterly meetings?

    Continue reading
    Plaster Group2017-02-07
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Senior Business Solution Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Plaster Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I thoroughly enjoyed working at Plaster Group. As a longtime consultant who spent most of my career traveling, it was great to be with a company who valued work / life balance and insisted on no traveling for its employees. The PTO (4 weeks) and full healthcare for my family was generous, and the client list is top notch. The leadership team practices what they preach in terms of doing right by the client at all times.

    Cons

    Can't really say too much here. I always felt like the company had my best interest at heart.

    Continue reading
    Plaster Group2016-05-04
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Best Management Consulting Firm I've worked for bar none!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Business Consultant in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Plaster Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked at Plaster Group for almost four years before my family had to move out of state. I spent 17 years doing management consulting in Seattle and worked for 3 other highly prestigious management consulting firms but none stacked up to what I experienced at Plaster Group. First off the benefits they offer are fantastic. I am married with four kids and I never had to worry about a dime coming out my paycheck for medical, dental and vision as my whole family was covered. I also had a month and a half gap between projects and I never felt an ounce of worry about my employment thanks to the work I was engaged on internally during that time and the communication between senior leadership and myself was great. I was also SO happy to be able to do PM work at a local non-profit. I appreciated working for a company that has seasoned consultants and sticks to their brand and doesn't deviate from it. The other firms I worked for sold me on that, but it felt like they would take work that was not aligned to what they do for a quick buck. The CEO Shawn Plaster is fantastic. He is the most honest of all the CEOs I worked for. At the Plaster Group quarterly meetings Shawn would go over the company highlights but also include any areas of improvement or things he personally felt he could be doing better. I really appreciated how humble Shawn was and down to earth. I am going to miss the folks at Plaster Group but I'm sure I’ll stay in touch with many of them!!

    Cons

    I would love to see Plaster Group get a larger footprint in some of their clients. The have an impressive list of clients but I feel they have a great opportunity to expand at a few of them.

    Continue reading
    Plaster Group2016-04-19
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Amazing Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Plaster Group

    Pros

    My experience with the Plaster Group was outstanding. • The company is full of highly intelligent and enthusiastic people • The management brings in high quality clients with engaging work • Good pay and benefits (PTO, Holidays, medical) • Clients are in the Seattle area, little to no travel • Focus on work life balance • Great leadership, they are accessible and receptive to new ideas • Great training opportunities Overall, a fantastic organization.

    Cons

    I did not have any issues during my time at PG.

    Continue reading
    Plaster Group2016-03-30
  10. "Senior BI Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior BI/DW Consultant in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Plaster Group for more than a year

    Pros

    CEO is ethical and honest, and wants to do the right thing. Talks a good game.

    Cons

    Volatility of pipeline needs work. Favored few employees get the assignments and stay on, the rest are churned.

    Continue reading
    Plaster Group2016-04-21
Found 22 reviews