Plex Systems, Inc. "plex s" Reviews | Glassdoor

Plex Systems, Inc. Reviews

Updated Feb 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
64%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Plex Systems, Inc. CEO Bill Berutti
Bill Berutti
6 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Outstanding employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Plex Systems, Inc. full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work environment is top notch with Plex engaging employees in numerous ways; departments work together well by sharing and drawing in input from each other; leadership (particularly the CEO) could not be better suited for this dynamic company by offering a wealth of experience and knowledge; benefits are exceptional and most appreciated; company has a very bright future

    Cons

    No cons come to mind.

    Plex Systems, Inc.2018-08-22
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Innovative engineering, consistent release cadence, great benefits - Plex has (finally) arrived"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Troy, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Plex Systems, Inc. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I've been at Plex for almost five years now. In the last six months, I can confidently say that Plex is (finally) hitting its stride and is performing at a very high level - we punch above our weight and will be making waves in the ERP space against much larger competitors. Why am I so confident of this? A few things - 1) We now have a regular release cadence of monthly deployments that are detailed (both the functional change and the corresponding engineering ticket) and publish this information in the customer community forum every month. 2) We have a quarterly roadmap that we've published/delivered for a year now. 3) We're making long-term engineering investments in the platform/APIs that will build the foundation of Plex will be in the future - manufacturing software as a service. I'm very impressed with how Don/Richard have performed in their leadership roles. I was skeptical at first, but I can't argue with the results of how far the product development process has come in a year. The reorganization of the development and data center group ended up being the right call - kudos. PS - I had a very nice time at the company party at Greenfield Village this summer. That was a very thoughtful choice for a company party, and colleagues in my working group noted this as well. This is kind of corny, but it's the little things like this that make Plex a fun place to work. Somebody actually does care that employees are having a good time. Thank you.

    Cons

    The jokes at the quarterly meetings from the SLT team are a bit cringey.

    Continue reading
    Plex Systems, Inc.2018-08-19
  3. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Plex Systems, Inc. part-time

    Pros

    Good pay and great benefits

    Cons

    Some of the higher ups

    Plex Systems, Inc.2018-07-27
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Old Boys Club"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Plex Systems, Inc. full-time

    Pros

    The company as a whole is great. The high level changes that are being made are necessary and a long time in coming. The company benefits and perks are better than I've seen at other companies

    Cons

    Some of the the older departments have a deep "old boys club" mentality where friends are promoted over qualified individuals. Several talented individuals have recently left the company because of this.

    Continue reading
    Plex Systems, Inc.2018-07-03
  5. Helpful (18)

    "It is not all what it is cracked up to be."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Plex Systems, Inc. full-time

    Pros

    The work attire is very casual. In the summer, shorts are allowed. There are some really nice people who work there in various departments. They offer a good set of paid holidays and responsible pto. Insurance offering is United Healthcare which is ok. They have a generous wellness credit each year but you will have to pay taxes on that. They offer free snacks, a pinfarnia coke machine to customize your pop and a coffee vending machine that has Starbuck coffee on the 15th floor. The 15th floor also has a couple of pool tables, ping pong tables, a bubble top hockey table and a golf simulator. Each year they have 2 company outings: a holiday party (which was at Punch Bowl Social) and a family outing (which was at the Detroit Zoo).

    Cons

    You must conform to their standards. No exceptions. They don’t know what they are doing half of the time. Many projects experience scope creep and the people at the bottom are blamed for not completing the project on time. Some of the immediate managers do not follow HR protocol. For example, there is supposed to be a mid-year review which rarely happens. When you are first hired, they mention that you should 40 hours work week. However after the honeymoon (the first few months), you are expected to work much more than that per week. Some of the immediate, middle and senior management have been there for many years and it seems that they are part of the good ol’ boys club. If you are not part of the club, you could be extricated which could lead to you being terminated even tough you are a talented, hard working employee. They is a constant clash between the old guard and the new guard which the old guard usually persists. Not much diversity. In some departments, there is a small percentage of women working compared to men. Moreover, women are scarce in management positions. Additionally across the company, there is very little diversity in their employee makeup. They talk about opportunities but there is very little. This is due to the low turnover of people at the top who have been there for 10+ years. When someone is let go for various reasons, they do not offer severance of any kind regardless of you being there for a year or 15 years. Many people have offices with a glass wall with a sliding door. (In a way, it resembles a jail cell) Because of these offices, there is very little collaboration and when you need to communicate, the primary means is instant messaging or email. No consistent leadership. They been without a permanent CEO since October 2017. Room for very little innovation. They think they are much bigger than they are. They do these employee surveys with skewed questions so that they can pat themselves on the back. Top heavy on directors and senior managers.

    Continue reading
    Plex Systems, Inc.2018-06-12
  6. Helpful (13)

    "Be careful when you drink their Kool Aid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Troy, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Plex Systems, Inc. full-time

    Pros

    Some of the people who work there are nice. They have some nice perks like a nice break room filled with snacks, a pop machine and Starbucks coffee. Also on 2 Wednesday’s each month, they bring in salads for lunch. They have a nice holiday party each year and offer responsible time off.

    Cons

    Even though they think they have a good culture, it is very “clicky”. Many immediate supervisors and their directors are part of the “clicky” movement thus making it difficult to get a good review if you don’t play their politics. Additionally, they have the following philosophy about software: don’t do it the wrong way, don’t do it the right way, do it the Plex way which is a combination of the wrong and right way. Because they have cells (offices with sliding doors), many people sit in their own silo and use instant messaging to communicate with each other making it difficult to get answers. Another item, their internal documentation is almost non existent. Moreover, they claim to have a mid year review which doesn’t happen so you never know what your supervisor thinks of your work until the annual review and you get denied a merit increase. Lastly, they make the claim that there is opportunity to learn and advance. Sadly, that is far from the truth since those in the more advanced positions have been working there for many years.

    Continue reading
    Plex Systems, Inc.2018-05-24
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Lack of Leadership and Direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Plex Systems, Inc. full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with and there is potential for Plex to be a great company.

    Cons

    The company needs to decide what "exactly" it wants to be. There is a distinct push and pull between the old guard (those who have been with Plex for more than 5 years) and the new guard. Also, after the current CEO was let go there is a big gap in leadership at the company.

    Continue reading
    Plex Systems, Inc.2018-04-17
  8. Helpful (18)

    "Dramatic Employee Turn Over"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Plex Systems, Inc. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice company culture until you get sacked. The company has a habit of over hiring and then firing.

    Cons

    The company is constantly trying to grow the business into industries which they are not matured in enough to pursue. You as a hire are basically part of an experiment. Company is constantly forcing employees to say it's a great place to work so they get good ratings, etc. It's a relatively nice place to work until you get sacked with no severance, etc.

    Continue reading
    Plex Systems, Inc.2018-03-17
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Needs improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Plex Systems, Inc. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Plex offers numerous snacks & beverages. -The executives are very open about how the company is performing and the overall direction of the company.

    Cons

    It largely depends on the group you work in. Within my respective group there is zero flexibility, a lot of micromanagement, and no growth potential. In addition, the health insurance provider is awful compared to the previous insurance offered prior to 2017.

    Continue reading
    Plex Systems, Inc.2018-03-22
  10. Helpful (13)

    "Misleading company and deceptive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Plex Systems, Inc. full-time

    Pros

    I would not recommend anyone working at Plex Systems so I choose not to add any pros to this section.

    Cons

    Plex management is misleading and deceptive. They are owned by Francisco Partners that wants to get their 5 year return on investment back and it's not happening. The internal management of the company is the most confused I've ever seen. They do not value their workers and use their abilities to the benefit of the company. They have lost their CEO, head of Marketing, many directors to lack of proper strategic planning and follow through for the organization. They show well in the sales process to potential customers and promise what cannot be delivered.

    Continue reading
    Plex Systems, Inc.2018-03-16
Found 125 reviews