Pluckers Wing Bar Hostess Reviews | Glassdoor

Pluckers Wing Bar Hostess Reviews

Updated Apr 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Pluckers Wing Bar CEO Mark Greenberg, David Paul, Sean Greenberg (no image)
Mark Greenberg, David Paul, Sean Greenberg
6 Ratings
  1. "Great part time job for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Host/Hostess 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pluckers Wing Bar part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pluckers will work with your schedule and they'll allow you to trade your shifts or relate them to fellow employees. It is easy to move up in the company if you work hard and apply yourself, so if you start as a host you can move up to being server trained in as little as 6 months if you show a strong work ethic. Most all of management had a previous roll in the company ( servers, dishwashers, trainers etc) so they understand what you're dealing with and they want to help you.

    Cons

    Be prepared to memorize the entire menu for the written menu test if you pass your interview. The uniform is not the best quality so you'll find yourself resewing buttons on nearly every month. This is a fast paced, team oriented environment that is not suitable for everyone. You will work hard every single shift as pluckers is always busy! You need to be a team player and understand that sometimes you will have to do other people's jobs like getting drinks for a table even thought you're a host, running food to tables an entire shift, or sipping down a table so you can get a table sat quicker when you're a host at the front.

    Pluckers Wing Bar2019-04-15
  2. "good college job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hostess in San Marcos, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pluckers Wing Bar part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    love my managers and coworkers! great pay for hosting

    Cons

    Late nights on weekends, large staff sometimes hard to get enough hours

    Pluckers Wing Bar2019-01-30
  3. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Hostess in San Marcos, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pluckers Wing Bar part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They really focus on hiring happy people, the atmosphere is great, everyone has a personality, fun work environment,

    Cons

    It's very corporate which is good and bad, it made me not want to work in a corporate place again, but that's just because I like the freedom to wear certain things. Every part of the uniform is planned.

    Pluckers Wing Bar2018-04-13
  4. "Host & Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pluckers Wing Bar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Organized company with great training

    Cons

    Pluckers is disgusting the restaurants are not very clean

    Pluckers Wing Bar2017-10-11
  5. "Dismal at best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Host/Hostess in San Marcos, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pluckers Wing Bar part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun co-workers Slow on weekdays 50% off food at the end of shift Good for college students Servers make decent tips

    Cons

    Terrible management - I worked there 8 months and they went through at least 6 different managers High turnover rate Lots of drug use by employees and management Bad pay Unsafe location (several robberies)

    Continue reading
    Pluckers Wing Bar2017-09-25
  6. "Pluckers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Hostess in Plano, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Pluckers Wing Bar

    Pros

    Food Discounts, Friendly Staff(after you been there a while), Nice Pay,

    Cons

    Long Hours, Only get a break if double or closing, Childish Managers, Overwork the hardworkers, too strict with rules, too many LONG tests at beginning of job which I have seen turn MANY people away. If you dont pass the test, you dont get the job. most people leave in the first couple of weeks or have been there forever, there is no inbetween.

    Continue reading
    Pluckers Wing Bar2016-09-20
  7. "Fun Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Hostess/Server in San Marcos, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pluckers Wing Bar for more than a year

    Pros

    The people were fun, the atmosphere was laid back.

    Cons

    The hours were hard to get used to. If you worked a night shift there was no guarantee you'd be out before close.

    Continue reading
    Pluckers Wing Bar2016-07-01
  8. "loved this job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Host/Hostess 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pluckers Wing Bar for less than a year

    Pros

    Managers and shift leaders were amazing, worked with a lot of great people, easy to catch on, loved the customers.

    Cons

    I loved the job, the pay/hours weren't enough for what I was traveling to get to work.

    Pluckers Wing Bar2016-03-26
  9. "Hostess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Pluckers Wing Bar part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team, was able to learn quickly as this was my first job in the hospitality industry

    Cons

    Awful hours, managers played favorites when it came to who was promoted to waiter positions

    Continue reading
    Pluckers Wing Bar2016-01-05
  10. "Hot Wings"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess/Server in Round Rock, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pluckers Wing Bar part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Teaches you good teamwork skills, how to be knowledgeable about a company, and work in a fast paced environment.

    Cons

    Didn't feel appreciated, managers have their favorites, employees and managers talk bad about each other, not flexible with scheduling.

    Continue reading
    Pluckers Wing Bar2016-01-01
Found 12 reviews