Plum District Reviews

Updated Mar 31, 2018

To filter reviews, or .
2.2
25%
Recommend to a Friend
Plum District CEO Brian Conley (no image)
Brian Conley
0 Rating
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great experience

    Dec 10, 2014 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing company culture, hard working team, great leadership, hands on

    Cons

    None that I can think of!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    A company that has been reborn with new leadership, vision and enthusiasm without losing its core vision, serving Moms.

    Jul 1, 2013 - Regional Sales Manager in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    With Susan Kim and Jennifer Nuckles at the helm, Plum District has morphed into a multimedia platform that offers increased marketing, branding and advertising options to our merchant base, while at the same time engaging our subscribers even more successfully. This allows each merchant to have a unique campaign with Plum District and heightens the user experience. Their new vision makes the job of the sales person easier with a variety of tools at their disposal to acquire new business. A salesperson can pitch a unique promotion and usually the management team will give it a whirl, as creativity is encouraged.

    Cons

    Remote employment does not allow for the office camaraderie that an office environment would foster. East Coast has a 3 hour time lag to West Coast, so there is work into the evening hours.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Pretty on the outside but hideously ugly on the inside..

    Jan 26, 2013 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Bay area start up backed by KP sounds cool to your friends and on a resume. Decent health benefits. Free snacks and beverages. Overall, the talent at the company was exceptional (minus senior management but they were for the most part in over their heads) and I was fortunate to meet some fantastic, wickedly entertaining people. Generous vacation time but you would probably be fired upon your return as the company was always "moving in another direction." Generally, that direction was down. This company managed to truly find some of the best and brightest in cities across the US dedicated to building something that turned out to be a poo sandwich. Lots of good looking people. Even the Board commented on the overall attractiveness of the company. Sadly, it wasn't a magazine shoot so it was a moot point. You will never look at the word "deal" in the same way again.

    Cons

    Tired idea. Everything you read on here is completely accurate, and if anything, people are being kind. Not a sales organization. The turnover was laughable. It wasn't necessary to get to know people's names as they probably weren't going to be around for the next conference call. Feedback was constantly solicited but no one was interested in addressing obvious issues or listening.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Pros

    Being a startup, all marketing ideas and incentive packages for my local area were considered and given a voice to management. It was fun to try these new ideas and have an immediate response in the local community given the e-platform Plum had designed. It also was a great way to get to know locally owned businesses and help them increase their presence in the Houston market.

    Cons

    As with many start ups, there were changes in management every month. This made driving certain initiatives at the local level challenging.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Woefully unqualified CEO + zero leaders with any online ecommerce experience = Disaster

    Aug 21, 2012 - Former Corporate Office Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Opportunity to learn about chaos and fast-paced environment of start-up Lunch 3 days a week Smart, talented co-workers Potential of Plum District in the marketplace KPCB-backed

    Cons

    CEO is smart but not qualified to run the company and a board who would talk about her behind her back but never removed her Botched acquisition and non-integration of 2 companies Poor communication and leadership accountability Poor decision-making by CEO and leadership - none have had online ecommerce experience Zero transparency into goals and strategy of company Never a plan in place to actually make money No sales strategy ever put in place - esp when Megan ran sales Zero understanding of marketing, including acquisition, promotions, retention Very poor understanding of how to treat people - and I believe I was one of the ones who was treated relatively well

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Marketing

    Mar 13, 2013 - Marketing Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    --Startup environment provides tons of learning opportunities --Great team and lots of peer support --My thoughts and suggestions were extremely accepted. The small-team dynamic made this possible. --Continued relations with the company. Since leaving Plum District to work on my own company, I've received amazing advice, kindness and support from the team and CEO. --Work life balance is wonderful! I was encouraged to take vacation (and was even given travel books by my bosses!) and my time was always respected.

    Cons

    The startup roller coaster can be tough. It can also be hugely fulfilling!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Can make an impact

    Jul 11, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You can make a big impact here. I feel like what I do actually matters and that my contributions are recognized. There's enough work to go around that if I see there's a gap or a need, I can be proactive and own it.

    Cons

    The team is very small and people are feeling overwhelmed. We're definitely making progress in turning around the company, but some additional people to the team would help.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Had All the Potential in the World

    May 29, 2014 - Sales 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Most of the people you will work with are AMAZING! I truly developed incredible relationships inside and outside of the office.

    Cons

    Things are constantly changing. It's a startup that has been funded by a board of investors. The company has not had a break even month to my knowledge and so the board continues to dictate changes to compensation, benefits and more in an effort to cut their costs so that eventually they will at least be able to not lose money. However, that can be quite detrimental to the existing staff.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Ever-Changing Environment with Ability to be Successful if Self-Directed

    Dec 13, 2014 - Sales Management 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Freedom to work in the way that works for you. Remote work environment. Great sales team.

    Cons

    Due to the nature of a start-up, the environment at Plum District was constantly changing. The products that were sold, the expectations even the commission rates changed on pretty much a monthly basis.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Easy position, decent pay

    Jul 31, 2014 - Sales Representative in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    When I was there, it was easy work. the Director was easy to get along with - not too much pressure to perform. no micro-mngt. work the hours you want. no benefits, 100% commission based

    Cons

    Competing against Groupon and Living Social was tough - they'd undercut the rates. Didn't see the future for this business model

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 39 Reviews

Work at Plum District? Share Your Experiences

Plum District logo
or