Podium Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Podium Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Sep 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
64%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Podium CEO  Eric Rea
Eric Rea
7 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing company and work environment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Podium full-time

    Pros

    I absolutely love the people I work with and the environment here! My engineering manager truly cares and is invested in my progression and happiness. The CTO is very nice and goes out of his way to be approachable. He encourages candor and sees it as a means to continue to grow. As a bootcamp grad I am very pleased with the level of support and mentorship. I love coming in to work everyday! The energy and people here are amazing. The onsite CrossFit gym and daily classes are also a nice bonus. Can't say enough good things about Podium!

    Cons

    I've heard the testing and QA aren't quite up to par, but it seems as though that's always trying to be improved.

    Continue reading
    Podium2019-05-23
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Mediocre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Lehi, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Podium full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are great people that work at Podium.

    Cons

    People are under valued at Podium. You probably can get paid more elsewhere. Culture isn't as great as they sell. It often feels as though leaders spin the truth when they speak. People are often pulled from their teams to help on flavor of the month emergencies. There are high visibility teams that get 99% of the recognition and there is everybody else.

    Continue reading
    Podium2019-09-09
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Fun Work Environment, Nice Benefits, Poor Food Selection For Dietary Needs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Podium full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Upbeat Environment, Teams have a lot of autonomy, Nice PTO plan. Tech stack/product is exciting and new age.

    Cons

    Very lacking in food choices for Vegetarian/Vegan needs. Open Office plan feels very tight - not enough space between rows. Really low referral incentive. Only one coffee machine in entire building, and sometimes it is closed off due to meetings.

    Continue reading
    Podium2019-05-13
  4. "Great Company, Promising Future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Podium full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great management and a well-structured engineering process. The team and processes promote an environment of giving/receiving constructive feedback and finding ways to allow engineers to grow with the company. Podium is a great company run by excellent people.

    Cons

    I'm not a morning person, so having meetings at 8 on Mondays and every other Friday were a little tough for me.

    Continue reading
    Podium2018-10-12
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Why do reviews have "titles"?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Podium full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work culture. I've never been pressured to work late, though the work is engaging enough that sometimes I do on accident. Almost everyone has a family at home so they get it. We're always pushing the boundaries on the technology we use; sometimes we've gone a little too bleeding edge but then we backed off a bit. I also just want to point out that there's definitely someone "sockpuppeting" these reviews... If you look close you can tell

    Cons

    They didn't really engineer the freeway or roads to the freeway to handle half this many people working here. But that's not really Podium's fault.

    Podium2018-02-28
  6. "Awesome place with unbound growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Podium full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Podium has a great work culture and I have seen all my co-workers exhibit it's core values as envisioned by the founders. Great perks and work-life balance

    Cons

    I don't find any as of now

    Podium2017-02-08

    Podium Response

    October 10, 2017Head of Employee Experience

    Thanks for leaving us a review. Happy to hear you have seen our core values in actions. - Abby

    Continue reading
  7. "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Podium full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Extremely passionate, energetic coworkers - Autonomy - Lots of opportunities for personal growth and development

    Cons

    - We move really fast and embrace change. People who prefer a work environment that is comfortable and predictable may not thrive in this kind of environment.

    Podium2017-02-01

    Podium Response

    October 10, 2017Head of Employee Experience

    Thanks for leaving us a review.

    Continue reading
  8. "Best Place I've Ever worked!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Podium full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are so friendly. Everyone seems to know my name. Really interesting projects to work on in programming languages I love (Elixir, Ruby, JavaScript, etc...) The values are good and help keep us on course. I get a room with only 3 other engineers with a closing door which really helps keep the sound down. I'm treated like a senior engineer although I would normally be considered a junior elsewhere. Podium is like family.

    Cons

    Sometimes people are encouraged to work late, however it's unlimited PTO so you can make up for it pretty easily. Area is pretty expensive to live in but not nearly as bad as Silicon Valley obviously.

    Podium2017-01-21

    Podium Response

    October 10, 2017Head of Employee Experience

    Thanks for leaving us a review. We appreciate your feedback.

    Continue reading
  9. "Best place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Podium full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Podium is an amazing company, with a killer culture, and a great product. Everyone is friendly and the leadership is great. One of the biggest assets of the company is its culture, which is why the founders of the company interview each person before they are hired to make sure they are a good fit. I believe Podium is going to continue to grow into a very successful company, and am excited to be along for the ride.

    Cons

    Benefits could be better, but I'm confident that they'll improve as the company matures. Honestly can't really think of anything else.

    Continue reading
    Podium2016-11-15

    Podium Response

    October 10, 2017Head of Employee Experience

    Thanks for your feedback. We are working to enhance our benefits package significantly. Would love to hear your insight. - Abby

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 9 reviews