KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Point B

Engaged Employer

Point B

Add a Review

Point B Employee Reviews about "consulting firm"

Updated Sep 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 of over 206 reviews

4.2
81%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Point B CEO Mike Pongon (no image)
Mike Pongon
137 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great overall culture, decent work life balance for the industry(in 53 reviews)

  • "Great people, one of the best in the industry(in 19 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Big internal changes (working through transforming from smaller project management to larger solution based full service consulting firm)(in 7 reviews)

  • "No paid vacation, not tons of promotion opportunity(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Reviews about "consulting firm"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      For the benefit of our people (clients and associates alike)

      Oct 28, 2014 - Senior Associate in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Point B is a collection of dedicated, highly intelligent and driven employee owners. Flexibility in staffing and associate choice. Exciting and impactful client work with some of the most influential clients in the area. No travel required, work locally. Work-life balance.

      Cons

      As with any consulting firm you do not always know where you'll be (client) in the future. However, this also keeps things interesting.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Place to Work but Growing Pains

      Sep 16, 2019 - Principal 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work-life balance Inclusive, teaming culture Entrepreneurial environment

      Cons

      Big internal changes (working through transforming from smaller project management to larger solution based full service consulting firm) Lower comp than firms trying to target as competitors

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Point B Response

      COO

      Thank you for taking time to write a review. Our base compensation model is a part of our overall Total Rewards program which includes Incentives, Benefits, Professional Development, and Culture. For each of these pillars we strive to be somewhere between competitive and best in class. Today, our Point B’s Total Rewards philosophy takes into consideration benchmark marketplace data and also our guiding principles such as choice, flexibility and owner mentality to ensure our overall package is competitive. As our firm grows and evolves, we’re taking steps to ensure that our people, culture and processes are set up to grow with us – including internal change management and compensation. To support these efforts and to continue to keep us aware of opportunities, I encourage you to reach out to me directly so we can discuss and learn more from each other.

    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Great place to work, mid-sized firm

      Oct 7, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Really solid people and commitment to doing high quality, objective, client-focused work. Commitment to hiring only really excellent, adaptable, highly capable people even if that means having to turn down work due to not having enough staff. This is a company that values the whole person, not just work, while also having high expectations for client satisfaction and results.

      Cons

      Used to be a much smaller, more intimate "start-up" feel and has grown significantly in the past 5 years. Not necessarily bad, but for long-term employees this has been a difficult shift and it's unavoidable for the culture to change somewhat. Has led to higher turnover in some markets, but the core values are still very solid, it just feels more like a mid-sized consulting firm (which it is) than a bunch of friends working together.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great place to help take your career to the next level

      Apr 9, 2012 - Senior Associate in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to help take your career to the next level, they will expose you to a number of different projects and clients. This will give you the opportunity to further define where you take your career, whether internally or externally.

      Cons

      As with any consulting firm you may not always have clarity into the project staffing process. They are working to evolve their client offerings, jury is still out on this.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      They put the CULT in Culture

      Oct 11, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are some really smart people there and decent live/work balance.

      Cons

      1. They beat you over the head with culture. If you have a good culture you dont need to keep pushing it on people. And saying things like - you need to fit our culture is more exclusive than inclusionary. God forbid you dont fit their culture. You must go out to events. 2. As a consulting firm they tried to build a sales team. But as consultancies usually do they think their consultants can sell - that is where there minimal growth comes from. Then they have sales people dotted line to the regional practice directors that know nothing about sales and the sales mgmt they promoted are simply legacy consultants. What a disaster. Sales is its own beast and not everyone can be a salesperson. Mgmt never really defined sales role and let each practice director and region decide how to use sales - disaster. 3) There seems to be a liberal air about the company. Every time there was a political happening the CEO had to chime in with a long letter on his thoughts. I dont know why companies do this - focus on running the company and keep your political views out of it. Overall there is alot of mediocrity and people are ok with that. There isnt strong leadership and the regions are somewhat autonomous. Its a throwback to the old Big 4 consultancy days - those days are over.. wondering how much longer they can stay around with such paltry growth...

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful

      Point B Response

      COO

      We really do pride ourselves on our culture. In fact we actively welcome all points of view aimed at making it better, including yours. We want our people to talk with their directors or me to share opinions and work through the issues they feel are impacting their ability to thrive. Additionally, our sales and growth efforts have had some great successes, and I would also agree we have a lot of opportunities to approach or lead things differently, which we continue to explore and try. We wish you the best in your career.

    6. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Be weary of joining - ask tough questions

      Sep 24, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working alongside great people; you will build lasting friendships.

      Cons

      Leadership inexperienced at running management consulting firm. Decisions made in 2012 led to financial pressures. Too much internal focus rather than understanding external/market indicators. Promotions into leadership often a stretch and then leaders don't receive adequate training and mentorship. Virtually no external hires into leadership. No external perspective on the Board.

      Continue reading
      15 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Point B - Experiencing Growth

      Nov 29, 2013 - Senior Associate in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Point B is filled with intelligent leaders with years of experience leading challenging projects. The opportunity to learn from outstanding colleagues is one of Point B's main values. Point B offers associates the ability to work in a variety of client settings. Each engagement is unique which enables associates to expand and grow.

      Cons

      The company culture has changed with expansion. It has the feel of a large consulting firm culture now.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 7 of 7 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with Point B Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Point B? Share Your Experiences

    Point B logo
    or