KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Point B

Engaged Employer

Point B

Add a Review

Point B Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 53 of over 206 reviews

4.2
81%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Point B CEO Mike Pongon (no image)
Mike Pongon
137 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great overall culture, decent work life balance for the industry(in 53 reviews)

  • "Great people, one of the best in the industry(in 19 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Big internal changes (working through transforming from smaller project management to larger solution based full service consulting firm)(in 7 reviews)

  • "No paid vacation, not tons of promotion opportunity(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Phenomenal company

      Nov 19, 2020 - Senior Compliance Analyst in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Takes care of their people, employee owned, good ethics, unlimited PTO, work life balance

      Cons

      No one has their own office so work from home is the standard

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Avoid this firm

      Apr 8, 2020 - Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Most associates are respectful of work-life balance This firm is only valuable if you are looking for a place to kick back until retirement

      Cons

      New titles at firm - if you transfer from another firm, expect a demotion in title. To protect employees who are non-billable they ask that full-time billable employees take pay cuts. hard work is not rewarded but rather penalized to share the wealth with people who are currently bench resources. Early career associates given little to no support for development opportunities. New hierarchy gives priority to associates who have been with the firm the longest. "time with firm" is now taken into account for promotions rather than skill level and demonstration of job attributes at next level.

      Continue reading
      17 people found this review helpful

      Point B Response

      COO

      Thank you for the feedback. As a people business, we put people first. They are the fuel we’ll need when the economy regains its footing; we need to make decisions today to safeguard our ability to respond once this unprecedented disruption is over. We believe the best way to get through this is together as employee-owners. Additionally, it sounds like there are some misconceptions regarding our career development framework. Career Compass is designed to support our people at all stages in their career journey, which includes specific opportunities for early career Point B'ers and also a clear understanding of how to grow skills for the next role. I encourage you to reach out to your 1:1 or directly to me so we can discuss further.

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Firm and Leadership (but has leaned politically far left in recent years)

      Jun 28, 2020 - Associate in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People, work/life balance, opportunities, leadership

      Cons

      Small company, far left leaning culture, compensation, benefits

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful

      Point B Response

      COO

      Thank you for taking time to write a review. Yes, we put time, effort, and heart into the causes we care about, such as racial injustice and LGBTQ+ rights. We support the time and empathy our people bring into listening, understanding and moving forward in a meaningful way. We're committed to supporting our foundational value of Choice here at Point B, both by empowering our teams to make a positive impact in their communities as they see fit (such as partnering with local nonprofits to provide meals and support for homeless teens), and empowering employees to choose how they'd like to engage, or not. Point B focuses on supporting people (versus politics or politicians), and as a people-first company will continue to do just that for our people here at Point B, at our customers and in our communities.

    4. 3.0
      Current Employee

      My Review: For what it is worth

      Jan 17, 2019 - Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great Work Life Balance - Smart Co-workers that have a lot to offer - Travel is optional

      Cons

      -Wet Blanket over you in terms of pay increases and promotions - Used to value its culture and people, now the firm cares primarily for the bottom line.

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful

      Point B Response

      COO

      Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Point B’s compensation model is built around our Total Rewards philosophy which is designed as a package and also takes into consideration our guiding principles such as choice, flexibility and owner mentality. The model is non-traditional in many ways, and it directly supports our values as a firm, and the opportunities we want to provide for people both inside and outside of work. As our firm grows, we are taking steps to ensure that care for our people grows as well, including compensation, pay equity, and career paths. This is a big focus for Point B in 2019. I would like to hear more about your thoughts and experiences as we design the future. Please feel free to reach out to me.

    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Solid company

      Sep 17, 2020 - Senior Consultant in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great overall culture, decent work life balance for the industry

      Cons

      limited options for career growth

      1 person found this review helpful

      Point B Response

      COO

      Thanks for taking time to write a review. Growth of our people and our company are critically important to us here at Point B. As the needs of our customers evolve, so too are our solutions, which will provide more and different opportunities for our people to grow and expand their skillsets.

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Place to Work but Growing Pains

      Sep 16, 2019 - Principal 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work-life balance Inclusive, teaming culture Entrepreneurial environment

      Cons

      Big internal changes (working through transforming from smaller project management to larger solution based full service consulting firm) Lower comp than firms trying to target as competitors

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Point B Response

      COO

      Thank you for taking time to write a review. Our base compensation model is a part of our overall Total Rewards program which includes Incentives, Benefits, Professional Development, and Culture. For each of these pillars we strive to be somewhere between competitive and best in class. Today, our Point B’s Total Rewards philosophy takes into consideration benchmark marketplace data and also our guiding principles such as choice, flexibility and owner mentality to ensure our overall package is competitive. As our firm grows and evolves, we’re taking steps to ensure that our people, culture and processes are set up to grow with us – including internal change management and compensation. To support these efforts and to continue to keep us aware of opportunities, I encourage you to reach out to me directly so we can discuss and learn more from each other.

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      The only company I ever wanted to stay long enough to retire from

      Apr 23, 2014 - Senior Associate in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The culture at Point B is world class. Every company has values that are espoused and listed ona plaquard, but at Point B, we live our values in a very real way every day, especially People, Choice and Ownership. I feel very well cared for at Point B and derive a great deal of satisfaction in knowing that my fellow employee-owners and leadership team are really looking out for me, and I for them. I have a real choice about what types of roles, opportunities and work-life balance I want to have. And as an employee-owner I get to play a direct role in growing a company that will endure. We understand that we are here to do much more than collect a paychek, it's to do meaningful work and building a firm that's a great legacy for next generation of Point Bers.

      Cons

      As employee-owners we are expected to contribute a lot not only to our client work, but also to the firm, to each other and to our community. That's a great thing and an awesome opportunity for those who want to give of themselves in that way. For folks that just want to show up, clock in, do the bare minimum, clock out, and collect a paycheck, Point B wouldn't be a good fit.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great work-life balance

      Jun 29, 2019 - Analyst in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great work-life balance for employees.

      Cons

      experience may vary depending on role.

      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work!

      Nov 14, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Total transparency Great work life balance Great opportunities

      Cons

      Tends to have long deal cycles.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Point B - Bay Area Practice

      Aug 11, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The fact that the company is now 100% employee-owned truly creates a unique culture in the Consulting Industry. There is a genuine emphasis on employee development and work/life balance (no travel required for instance). The flat organization means that everyone has an opportunity to speak their mind, take initiatives and make a difference. Leadership is extremely approachable and open to anyone's suggestions. The assignments are typically challenging and exciting with a lot of variety to expand your skills and grow as a leader.

      Cons

      The culture might not fit everyone. Being an employee-owner means a desire to go the extra-mile, challenge yourself and get out of your comfort zone. You will thrive and learn a lot if you embrace the model and make it your own but could be disappointed if you're looking for a predictable job with a pre-defined career path.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 53 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Point B Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Point B? Share Your Experiences

    Point B logo
    or