Point72 Analyst Reviews | Glassdoor

Point72 Analyst Reviews

Updated Dec 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
94%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Point72 Chairman, Chief Executive Officer, and President Steven A. Cohen (no image)
Steven A. Cohen
4 Ratings
  1. "Good but very taxing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in New York, NY

    I worked at Point72 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing people, very smart, from all walks of life

    Cons

    Insane hours, very stressful when quarter end comes, people are often reduced to numbers

    Point722019-10-08
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Cubist Data Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Equity Research Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Point72 full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    One of the most compelling reason for any Quant PM /Researcher to pick Cubist is the quality and variety of data. Data Services team is highly proficient at Cubist and they go extra mile in making sure that the data you need is delivered to you in an easy to use format. Most of the Data team analysts are very smart and have a graduate degree in Computer Science/Statistics or relate d fields. Also, the team has put in a lot of hard work in documenting data and also becoming familiar with the data as a Subject Matter Experts to answer detailed data related questions. Data related support is 24/7 and thus there are not many data related production outages. Another important differentiating factor is many datasets have been collected PIT in-house and thus not available at other places. While I was at Cubist, I was able to get access to pretty much all the data sources which were mentioned in academic literature and more.

    Show More

    Cons

    I stayed with the firm over a decade and can't think of any negatives about the place. Probably there is a room for improving snacks in the Pantry

    Advice to Management

    Please keep up the good work and culture of excellence at Cubist.

    Point722019-09-24
  3. "The team is very open to new ideas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Research Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Point72 for less than a year

    Pros

    The investment team is very open to new ideas including machine learning. People are very friendly.

    Cons

    People are not encouraged to talk with others about what they are doing.

    Point722019-09-24
  4. "company review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Research Analyst in New York, NY

    I worked at Point72 for less than a year

    Pros

    Great and professional people so that you can gain a lot from your colleagues.

    Cons

    Kind of stressful because many people get to work very early and leave very late and you also adapt to do that

    Point722019-09-28
  5. "Point72 Work Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Summer Analyst in Stamford, CT

    I worked at Point72 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Atmosphere. Good People. Excellent Business

    Cons

    No cons at the moment.

    Point722019-05-24
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Cubist - Great place for quants"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Point72 full-time

    Pros

    Cubist has been a great place to work, especially compared to other multi-manager shops. The firm promotes individual growth even for junior research analysts. The management organizes various activities to give employees the opportunity to socialize with other teams. Lots of efforts have been made to produce competitive edges as a firm.

    Cons

    The monthly breakfast is great. Could be even better if it's daily.

    Point722018-08-10
  7. "Amazing. Great people, just prepare to be as competitive as possible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Research Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Point72 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Surrounded by the smartest minds in finance

    Cons

    I don’t have any personally

    Point722018-08-09
  8. "Investment Services - Summer Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Summer Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Point72

    Pros

    The intern program has a fantastic structure and within my team I learned so much. A really supportive culture and from Day 1 I was made to feel like a key member of the team. I wasn't given busy work -- the work I did made a clear difference for the future of my department.

    Cons

    If you're interning in a smaller department you don't really get to see the other interns very often. It can also be a bit annoying to have to work between the Stamford and NYC office, depending on where you're based.

    Point722018-03-29
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Good place to work for if you are successful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Point72 full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I've worked for cubist and before for many years. Management team has done a great job improving the quantitative trading business over the years. People working here are usually friendly. The firm offer various opportunities for people that want to move to a different role or when a team is not successful and need to be dismissed. The firm seems becoming more patient for team to be successful and grow since apparently a quant business takes time to build. The firm is also investing heavily expanding the business. The firm also put lots of effort to make the management to be more transparent.

    Show More

    Cons

    The supporting teams could be more efficient. sometime it could take a long time for a issue to be resolved.

    Advice to Management

    I definitely like to see those individual PMs and analysts have more saying in the direction of the business.

    Point722018-01-08
  10. "Good place for quant trading"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quantitative Research Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Point72 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Cubist is a great place for self-motivated, bright, eager quant traders. There are lots of resources to help you be successful

    Cons

    High expectations and competitive environment lead to long work hours

    Point722018-01-16
Found 32 reviews