Point72 Analyst Reviews | Glassdoor

Point72 Analyst Reviews

Updated Feb 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
94%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Point72 Chairman, Chief Executive Officer, and President Steven A. Cohen (no image)
Steven A. Cohen
4 Ratings
  1. Helpful (21)

    "Cubist Systematic Strategies - Great Firm with great upside"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Point72 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Note - I work as a Research Analyst at Cubist and below is my personal experience 1. Senior management at Cubist is very open to your thoughts/ambitions and take sincere interest in furthering your career 2. My job is to find Alpha . No time is wasted on client requests/meetings and I get to spend 90% of my time on Research/Trading. The firm provides more resources than most places to help you be successful 3. The firm is run by adept PMs and the opportunity to leverage their thoughts and experience is invaluable 4. The fund has a flat structure and growth can be exponential for people with new ideas/strategies 5. The "family office" work culture is a welcome change with some very humble, extremely successful PMs / Managers running the show 6. Pay is fair/competitive

    Cons

    The prop trading environment has its own set of downsides. 1. Extremely secretive with not much color at times on what your own team is doing 2. Can be over bearing for people without prior research/ trading experience

    Continue reading
    Point722016-01-21
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Culture at Cubist Systematic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quantitative Research Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Point72 full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - Excellent work environment designed to bring the best out of an individual - Frequent research presentations by Academicians, brokers and vendors about new ideas, new technologies and new data - Vast resources in terms of datasets, operations and infrastructure help is available which is critical for the success of a quant manager - Top management is very accessible and working hard to make you succeed by having one to one meetings, providing new ideas and helping you get over any kind of hurdle - HR and support staff at Cubist is the best and most helpful you can find anywhere - Most of the people have been around for a long time at the fund and you get a feel of being at home and not at work

    Cons

    - Very competitive as you are always competing against the best in the industry, so you get very little time to learn any new skill at work

    Continue reading
    Point722016-02-18
  3. Helpful (21)

    "MultiQuant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Analyst in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Point72 full-time

    Pros

    Generous 401K, kind management access to a lot of data sets, access to professional lectures.

    Cons

    The interaction between PM and his team is not standard. Teams are organized along racial and linguistic lines, which is not a problem if you are in the right team. Very little opportunity to grow if you are working for a PM. The PM has no incentive to let you grow and become an independent PM. The teams are silod and there are a lot of secrets even between the team members. This use to be a great place, but recent years saw a rapid hiring which broke down the structure.

    Point722016-02-09

    Point72 Response

    April 12, 2016Head of Human Capital

    Thank you for writing a review of your experience at Cubist. We’re disappointed that you believe your experience fell short of our Mission and Values, but I’m also surprised. Cubist employees hail from more than 20 countries and speak many languages. It’s common to hear French, Mandarin, Russian, Spanish and Greek – as well as English – at Cubist, and often in the same team. Our teams are organized by their Portfolio Managers (PMs) and the only criteria they care about is the talent of new team members, nothing else. You note the interactions “between PM and his team is not standard,” to which I respond, of course they aren’t: our very diversity of employees not only reflects national origins and languages, but management styles, too. We think diversity is a strength and hope you do too, but I can point out two things that are universal across every team, and the whole Firm. First, our Mission is “To be the industry’s premier asset management firm through delivering superior risk-adjusted returns, adhering to the highest ethical standards and offering the greatest opportunities to the industry’s brightest talent,” and we measure ourselves against it every day. Second, as part of that Mission, we seek to nurture our talent and we have a carefully defined career path at Point72. At Point72, 70% of our PMs started as Analysts. At Cubist, a handful have. We regret this turned out to not be the place for you, but given the low turnover rate at Point72 – our PMs are here on average twice as long as the industry average, even longer in Cubist – we think we’re on to something good at Cubist and Point72.

    Continue reading
  4. "Quantitative Research Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quantitative Research Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Point72 full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You get to work with amazing people - best in the industry. Everyone (well almost) is sharp, reasonable and pleasure to work with. One learns a lot. Fast paced work environment. Some people burn out and leave, others adjust. Pay is good and benefits are great.

    Cons

    Many groups are working in silos. No way around this though.

    Continue reading
    Point722014-10-10
  5. "Great learning experiences but sub-par comp"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Analyst in Stamford, CT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Point72 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people and management. fast paced

    Cons

    Comp not very competitive can be long days

    Point722014-07-15
  6. "Great Internship Program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Research Analyst in Greenwich, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Point72

    Pros

    Great pay and I learned a lot. Lots of Excel work and you must be prepared to learn yourself, nobody is going to teach you anything.

    Cons

    Sometimes poor-communication while working from a remote location.

    Continue reading
    Point722014-05-30
  7. "Intense"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Point72 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Best in the business Highly competitive Best infrastructure

    Cons

    Pressure cooker Bad press No analyst development

    Point722014-01-20
  8. "Huge learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Equity Analyst in New York, NY

    I worked at Point72

    Pros

    Lots of investment responsibility and working with smart people

    Cons

    High stress environment and intense competition

    Continue reading
    Point722011-07-12
  9. "10"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Business Financial Analyst in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Point72

    Pros

    The benefits at SAC were great, including health insurance, tuition reimbursement, and vacation days. Most of the coworkers were friendly, and SAC is a reputable hedge fund in the industry. While other hedge funds were losing money, SAC was one of the few that reported a profit in the quarter.

    Cons

    Many of the downsides I found at working at SAC was upper management. Your talents aren't truly recognized by management, therefore there isn't efficiency. Even though there was scope for advancing, management tries to keep you where you are for their own needs. Some management weren't right for the job - a sentiment that was shared by many.

    Continue reading
    Point722010-09-16
  10. "Operations Analyst - Fixed Income"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Analyst - Operations in New York, NY
    Recommends

    I worked at Point72

    Pros

    Young environment open door policy - you can walk in into any director or VPs office and chat if need be there is a relationship between analyst and directors opportunity to cross- train great benefits Out of work events helps build relationships

    Cons

    - As an Analyst you will most likely work in the Stamford office which may be a downside for anyone wanting to work in the city.

    Continue reading
    Point722010-08-03

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 33 reviews