Polaris Reviews | Glassdoor

Polaris Reviews

Updated 12 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 311 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Polaris CEO Scott W. Wine
Scott W. Wine
158 Ratings
Pros
  • "Profit sharing and employee stock ownership program(in 42 reviews)

  • "Corporate Team has great people of character(in 28 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work-life balance is hard - very fast paced(in 44 reviews)

  • "Many layers of management slow down the decision making process in our fast paced environment(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great Corporate Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Sales Manager in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Polaris full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Corporate Team has great people of character

    Cons

    Horrible Ethics from an Acquisition I was involved in. Polaris does not have management to take over acquisitions. I was a whistle blower against my division Transamerican for theft from clients.

    Advice to Management

    I was terminated for whistle blowing. Within 6 weeks all executives I had records on were terminated. After I met with Corporate and presented SEC Violations and massive theft from clients, I was only contacted by HR Manager. My Territory achieved the highest growth in company until clients were advised of theft. I am not finished presenting information to authorities and clients.

    Polaris2019-06-02
  2. "Do not work here if you do not love the product!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Supervisor in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Polaris full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lots of smart young people to work with. Fun products.

    Cons

    no work-life balance, work demands can mean you have no time to enjoy, or even experience, the fun products you work on. Management doesn't care about employees or quality of product.

    Advice to Management

    Spend less time being concerned with speed-to-market, market share, and wringing the last drop of blood out of your employees, and be more concerned with building quality products and growing/supporting good employees.

    Polaris2019-09-13
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Run."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Paralegal in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Polaris full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Awesome products, some genuinely really nice managers and people.

    Cons

    They are now hiring the 4th person for the same specific paralegal role in a 12 month period. Enough said. Saw the posting and had to come here and at least attempt to warn whoever applies.

    Advice to Management

    Your company is far too large to attempt to manage it like the small company it used to be. I've seen you fire multiple people for just offering up current best practices that are supported by multiple professional agencies and spoken with several mid level employees that agree. Sr. leadership appears to be just ruthless and new ideas are anathema to company culture. You are going to have an impossible time... adapting to the millennial wave unless you start shaping up now, it is a hostile environment for them.

    Show More
    Polaris2019-08-28
  4. "Good job for a college student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Associate in Vermillion, SD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Polaris full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good people, mostly. Good pay for a student. PTO and bonus, even for part-time employees.

    Cons

    Lots of overtime, although it is getting better.

    Advice to Management

    Help and encourage your student employees to find internships in the company, areas for advancement, etc.

    Polaris2019-08-19
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Tell you one thing and change it within minutes. Too many lies."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assembly Line Worker in Huntsville, AL

    I have been working at Polaris full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay, and great co workers

    Cons

    Production Organization, and Poor Management

    Advice to Management

    Respect is earned and not given based off your title.

    Polaris2019-08-20
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Rewarding & Frustrating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Polaris full-time

    Pros

    Good with the development of new and updated vehicles (they are really great vehicles) Compensation is fair (profit sharing, 401k match, loaner vehicles, base salary is below average) Good opportunities to move around for hard workers (if management approves) Self improvement is encouraged as long as it doesn't get in the way of work and is self funded

    Cons

    Management sometimes gives conflicting direction Micromanagement can be counterproductive Speaking up when you see a problem can put you in the line of fire People move around a lot so it can be hard to know who is responsible or who has the background info you need

    Advice to Management

    Make it easier for employees to understand company goals and how their work supports these goals A few attaboys when the team does a good job can help morale, don't just focus on where you think people did the wrong things Set the example with your actions

    Polaris2019-08-07
  7. "solid company overall, expect long hours and micromanaging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Industrial Designer in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Polaris full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great perks, small studio and the products are a blast

    Cons

    direct managent in ID

    Advice to Management

    hire more staff, reward the successful staff you have and trust in your employees more.

    Polaris2019-07-23
  8. "Great Product"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Polaris full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Design and build the stuff you love to do

    Cons

    More and more corporate everyday. More and more people joining that aren’t as passionate or understand the power sports industry.

    Polaris2019-07-07
  9. "family feeling at the location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Laborer 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Polaris full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    fun, teamwork, love for the industry

    Cons

    challanages to the rewards - wages low

    Polaris2019-06-27
  10. "Welding in a power sports industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Welder in Spirit Lake, IA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Polaris full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Steady hours most of the year, benefits such as 401K, Profit Sharing, Personal and Vacation. Relatively stable company. Options for changing departments, plants, and jobs within the company. Good coworkers.

    Cons

    Questionable upper management actions and decisions about products, product build. Very poor communication from the top down. Inconsistent management. Erratic and inconsistent decisions on plant set up, department structure, processes.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate, communicate, communicate. Don't allow your workforce to wallow in rumors and miscommunication. Establish long-term, sustainable business and production models rather than chasing the elusive market share rabbit.

    Polaris2019-06-06
Found 311 reviews