Policy Studies Reviews | Glassdoor

Policy Studies Reviews

Updated 15 May 2016

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
37%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Policy Studies CEO Margaret M. Laub (no image)
Margaret M. Laub
14 Ratings
  1. "Policy studies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Policy Studies for less than a year

    Pros

    Clients were wonderful, employees great, was a fun experience. Worked here for 4 years.

    Cons

    I can not think of any.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Policy Studies2016-05-16
  2. "Data Entry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Specialist in Denver, CO

    I worked at Policy Studies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    got to listen to music, decent enough co-workers

    Cons

    not much room for advancement, repetitive work

    Policy Studies2015-07-28
  3. "PSI review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Omaha, GA

    I worked at Policy Studies

    Pros

    good benefits and pay and holiday pay

    Cons

    no overtime pay and very few raises

    Policy Studies2015-06-01
  4. "Ok place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Data Architect in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Policy Studies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    very liberal with working from home, some travel but usually monday to Thursday, hoteling within the office, most employees friendly, easy commute

    Cons

    angry managers, very little training, tend to sub-contract to other companies, more interested in billable hours than actually helping clients

    Policy Studies2015-05-28
  5. "Excellent experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Policy Studies

    Pros

    The mid management team had a genuine concern for the project level team and provided excellent support to those projects.

    Cons

    Projects were separated geographically making it difficult to move within the organization.

    Advice to Management

    Continue providing support at the project level

    Policy Studies2014-11-18
  6. Helpful (1)

    "One of the worst non-profit companies around. Deserves to go out of business."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Fort Pierce, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Policy Studies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Ostensibly founded to do good work.

    Cons

    Huge disparity in pay. Executives and management continually increase their salaries and bonuses while paying their staff in other states minimum wage. The office manager made the entire staff drive in to work DURING a hurricane while management all stayed home. Only departed the facility when the police forced us to evacuate. Even then the office manager was arguing with them that staff had to stay in their... seats.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I would really consider caring about the employees that work hard and long hours for the company instead of tracking their times to the second and writing them up for being 20 seconds late.

    Policy Studies2014-07-27
  7. "Great Opportunity and Company to work for ."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - TANF Program Specialist in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Policy Studies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This company cares about the Employees that they employ, The offer continued training if needed in a group or one on one sitting. They offer incentives for their employees.

    Cons

    That the work they were offering here in Dallas at the time were contracted jobs

    Advice to Management

    Continue with the treatment of your employees the love and care that was shown in Dallas, TX doing the Dallas County WorkSource contract was a great opportunity for me and if it was ever to be offered again I would jump on it.

    Policy Studies2014-04-02
  8. "I got hired through a temp agency prior to getting hired with the company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mail Processor in Tallahassee, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Policy Studies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The best reason to work at Policy-studies was the way they compensated me. They value the work ethics was rewarded

    Cons

    Cons, to job secure wasnt gauranteed. 2 months after hiring me and 2 others, they told us that they would be closing down the office.

    Advice to Management

    Re hire me.

    Policy Studies2013-12-10
  9. "Government contracts...ride the wave"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Policy Studies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great co-workers, willing to help each other out to get the job done. Nice office. Standard cube layout, but a good location in downtown denver. Flexible hours. Can work from home if you need to.

    Cons

    Upper management does not seem to understand what it takes to run an IT organization. Contract negotiations take so long and cut into actual time to work on product. Latest and greatest is not necessarily used here due to bids on contracts.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff.

    Policy Studies2013-04-23
  10. "Decent hours, but lots of job uncertainty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Training Specialist in Milwaukee, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Policy Studies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent hours. They are strict about overtime, so you will rarely have to work overtime. You have your own cube, and a computer, and you work under minimal supervision.

    Cons

    Because of the nature of the job there is a lot of uncertainty. Government policy changes, which means that budgets change, and your job security will also change. Also, it is boring and you work with a very difficult population. Benefits were not that great, they were very expensive even for one person. The pay is average, maybe less than average, and your corporate headquarters is located in Wynkoop, CO. You... are working in a building that is rented by the government.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be more aware of your staff. Come out of your office. Know your staff. Pay them fairly.

    Policy Studies2013-04-12
Found 30 reviews