Policy Studies Reviews | Glassdoor

Policy Studies Reviews

Updated May 15, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
37%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Policy Studies CEO Margaret M. Laub (no image)
Margaret M. Laub
14 Ratings
  1. "Diverse Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Fishers, IN
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Policy Studies

    Pros

    Flexibility; Consideration is given to creative, positive suggestions

    Cons

    Below market wages Family Medical Benefits are unaffordable

    Advice to Management

    I am uncomfortable responding to this question.

    Policy Studies2010-02-24
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Proceed with caution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manager in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Policy Studies

    Pros

    Work with human services agencies, the people at the project level are usually very talented

    Cons

    Sr. Management has driven off key staff, few opportunities for advancement, poor communication about important events, high spend on initiatives that are risky

    Advice to Management

    Get back to the basics of what made PSI successful.

    Policy Studies2008-06-12
  3. "This company does not deserve it's current rating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Policy Studies for less than a year

    Pros

    Location is cool and co-workers are nice The office is very nice / modern Good places to eat Close to the light rail They provide an eco pass to employees

    Cons

    Known as one of the worst places to work in Denver Arrogant, close minded IT operations people

    Advice to Management

    If I were Maximus, I would consider your acquisition as "an investment into broadening our channel", and bring everything back home and dissolve the PSI Denver, CO office.

    Policy Studies2012-10-08
  4. "PSI is a terrible company to work for. Co-workers and Supervisors have no problem lying to protect their positions."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Policy Studies

    Pros

    I think that the projects out in the field did good work and really cared about serving and helping the participants.

    Cons

    Management communicates poorly to the general staff population and as a result rumors are rampant. Compensation is unevenly administered. There is a total lack of accountability on the part of Director and VP level managers.

    Advice to Management

    The board of directors should replace all executive and VP level managers. Or, they should just sell the company like they were planning to.

    Policy Studies2012-04-04
  5. "If I lose my current position and could not get a job anywhere else maybe I would re-apply"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Policy Studies

    Pros

    Hiring seems inconsistent. One very good entry level followed by terrible mid-level Leader. Met some exceptionally talented people in management. HR appears well informed of proper business practices.

    Cons

    Leaders culture seems as they are experts of everything regardless of field they are addressing. A few exceptional Leaders I met seem to look the other way or don't notice poor lower level managers.

    Advice to Management

    The detailed evaluations on employees and the hiring process appear in the end to be fluff covering poor personal decisions. You are losing very talented people (and missing out on others).

    Policy Studies2011-09-08
  6. "Wouldn't go back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Policy Studies

    Pros

    Good benefits The employees truly care for the people they serve. The company is very inovative and is constantly changing and adapting

    Cons

    Employees are overloaded Employees do not feel appreciated Strict site policies make it feel like a call center not a social services office. No room to move up. Employees are not moved up do to the fact that they have a large caseload Questionable new hires over promoting from within. Some employees are targeted

    Advice to Management

    Give your workers more freedom, change them from hourly to salary and allow them to get their jobs done. Quit holding promotions/raises over employees head and just be honest that they aren't going to get it. Encourage a more "fun" work enviroment. Hold site managers accountable for employee satisfaction instead of just dollars. Offices need an HR presence instead of only HR reps being in Denver.

    Policy Studies2011-04-18
  7. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Site Manager 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Policy Studies

    Pros

    Policy Studies was a good place to work. Sr Mgmt was honest and open about what needed to be done in the difficult economy. They were always very supportive.

    Cons

    The offices could have been located in safer places

    Policy Studies2011-01-31
  8. "Great Human Services experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Policy Studies

    Pros

    Great commraderie among coworkers. Team cohesiveness when it counts. Department able to get the job done despite numerous setbacks and delays.

    Cons

    Over-promise, under-deliver is order of the day. All departments use this philosophy. Externally, to obtain the contract and wow the client, internally, to not be the stand-out that can't be part of the "positive movement forward".

    Advice to Management

    Listen and react to front line workers. Have the nerve to stand up to the client at times and know that PSI has the better way to do things (if/when they do).

    Policy Studies2010-06-09
  9. "Fair Assessment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Policy Studies

    Pros

    Staff work hard and are very dedicated

    Cons

    CEO is irratic and not receptive to opinions of others

    Advice to Management

    learn to listen

    Policy Studies2009-12-14
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Its not just a job, its only a job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Technical 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Policy Studies

    Pros

    A stable paycheck and the coworkers are usually pleasant. A great place for people looking for just a job and who don't want to work too hard.

    Cons

    Some of the technical folks seemed hesitant to make changes or use newer technologies. Bureaucracy was rampant and individuals could not make changes or improvements. Communication was completely lacking, and senior management would decide what they though was best rather than listen to the folks who were doing the job.

    Advice to Management

    Be more open to the experience of the people in the remote offices. Discuss ideas before making broad policy and business practice changes.

    Policy Studies2009-04-29
Found 30 reviews