Polycom Reviews | Glassdoor

Polycom Reviews

Updated Jul 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 595 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Joe Burton
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "the Work from Home policy is generous so long as your manager agrees with your doing so(in 63 reviews)

  • "Perfect place for a work life balance(in 49 reviews)

Cons
  • "Didn't have confidence in upper management or direction the company was headed(in 23 reviews)

  • "Looking forward to completing integration with Plantronics and more stability with senior management(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Polycom full-time

    Pros

    Solid company and the best at what they do

    Cons

    Pay is below average I think people would really like to stay but they can make more money at another company

    Advice to Management

    Nothing I feel they are solid and going in the right direction

    Polycom2018-06-01
  2. "great large company with a small company feel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support Engineer in Andover, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Polycom full-time

    Pros

    flexible work schedule, with WFH days,

    Cons

    there was literally NO HR in my building.... and no, it was not a small satellite office, almost 200 people?? not many people leave so reduce advancement opportunities

    Polycom2019-07-23
  3. "Good Solid Company, need some direction and consistency in lower management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Sales Manager in Andover, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Polycom full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    work-life balance is good, the pay is on-par for the industry.

    Cons

    lower management is left to their own devices to determine the roles and duties under them, without a clear vision, this is chaos at best.

    Advice to Management

    structure your vision from top-down and make sure you listen to the front-line employees.

    Polycom2019-07-16
  4. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX

    I worked at Polycom full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Ability to work from home.

    Cons

    There were no cons working here

    Polycom2019-04-21
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Moved US warehouse to Mexico"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shipper in Tracy, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Polycom full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Was like family until they rather go cheap

    Cons

    Shut down warehouse and moved it to Mexico

    Polycom2019-04-16
  6. "support customer with products and services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Polycom full-time

    Pros

    Good work enviornment / Work life balance/ Flexible WFH policy

    Cons

    Too many mergers/Acq. Need more innovation.

    Polycom2018-12-27
  7. Helpful (3)

    "No time to sell--too busy forecasting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Polycom full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people are great. Polycom is one giant family--truly the best of the best. The pay is great--the technology is something you can be proud of, and working from home is fantastic.

    Cons

    There is an insane amount of time resources wasted on forecasting. It's hours and hours a week. I can't even imagine the amount of money that's wasted on guessing what is coming in and when. It is not a very profitable way to operate a business. At the end of every quarter all of the margin is dumped to bring a deal in early. It's always crazed and desperate instead of strategic and natural. This is especially irritating...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Improve the culture by listening to your employees in the field. We know what the hurdles are and we want to fix them. We love the company and want to see it thrive. We would be unstoppable if we would spend more time on selling and less on predicting what will be sold (or won't be since your sellers were at their desks forecasting instead of being with customers and partners). At Polycom, we were all excited when Plantronics...

    Show More
    Polycom2018-12-15
  8. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Polycom full-time

    Pros

    Awesome team, learning culture, and room for growth.

    Cons

    Too much change, unstable environment with leadership and org changes.

    Polycom2018-12-18
  9. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Engineer in Herndon, VA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Polycom full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Work-Life Balance -Great people -Training reimbursement -Flexible schedule -Decent benefits

    Cons

    -Compensation -Little room for career growth

    Polycom2018-12-16
  10. "Customer focused, relaxed atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Polycom full-time

    Pros

    Definitely a Customer focused company that has no problem making things right for customers that have issues / concerns. In addition, management is good to workers, and there is opportunity to advance if you put the work in.

    Cons

    Company growth could be better.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to workers, take care of the good performers.

    Polycom2018-10-21
Found 595 reviews