Polycom "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Polycom Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jul 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
64%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Polycom CEO Joe Burton (no image)
Joe Burton
15 Ratings
Pros
  • "the Work from Home policy is generous so long as your manager agrees with your doing so(in 63 reviews)

  • "Perfect place for a work life balance(in 50 reviews)

Cons
  • "Didn't have confidence in upper management or direction the company was headed(in 23 reviews)

  • "Looking forward to completing integration with Plantronics and more stability with senior management(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great work/life balance, competitive pay, fun products, and amazing culture."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Escalation Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Polycom full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work/life balance, competitive pay, fun products, and amazing culture.

    Cons

    No cons to speak of.

    Continue reading
    Polycom2017-10-04
  2. "Good Solid Company, need some direction and consistency in lower management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Sales Manager in Andover, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Polycom full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    work-life balance is good, the pay is on-par for the industry.

    Cons

    lower management is left to their own devices to determine the roles and duties under them, without a clear vision, this is chaos at best.

    Continue reading
    Polycom2019-07-16
  3. "support customer with products and services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Polycom full-time

    Pros

    Good work enviornment / Work life balance/ Flexible WFH policy

    Cons

    Too many mergers/Acq. Need more innovation.

    Polycom2018-12-27
  4. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Engineer in Herndon, VA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Polycom full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Work-Life Balance -Great people -Training reimbursement -Flexible schedule -Decent benefits

    Cons

    -Compensation -Little room for career growth

    Polycom2018-12-16
  5. "Enjoyable place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Polycom full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    the Work from Home policy is generous so long as your manager agrees with your doing so. Benefits are great, vacation time, medical, dental vision, PTO based on tenure, VTO (volunteer time off) 401k - not a 100% match but a cap; no equity as we're private. Work/life balance nonexistent if you live in the easy bay and have to be at HQ.

    Cons

    See above. There's a lot of transition - going through one 18 months ago and now we're undergoing a second one to Plantronics - too soon to tell the outcome but it doesn't make it feel like a stable place to work.

    Continue reading
    Polycom2018-04-03
  6. "Good Company - Poor Management Decisions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Polycom full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great Co-workers, good pay, great benefits, decent work life balance

    Cons

    Poor management decisions. Many promotions of people that were really bad choices causing many people to leave.

    Polycom2018-03-15
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Future feels bright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Polycom full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Polycom employees are passionate and smart and dedicated to making the company great. Employees are obsessed with the products. Environment is collaborative made all the more so b/c of the technology.

    Cons

    There are pluses and minuses about having such a liberal work-from-home policy. It's great for work-life balance but makes the offices barren.

    Continue reading
    Polycom2017-07-31
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Polycom full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance is great

    Cons

    Tnere is little internal recognition.

    Polycom2017-02-22

    Polycom Response

    April 5, 2017Sr. Director, Global Talent Acqusition

    Thank you so much for your review- I appreciate your taking the time to write about us. You’re right, we’re very lucky to have a flexible work environment that leads to strong work/life balance. It’s not lost on me that I serve as a prime example as 100% remote worker. As for internal recognition, we do have some programs in place, but we could do a better job at socializing what’s available. Our employees are what make us successful, and it’s important that we celebrate THEIR successes. I’m open to suggestions, so if you have any you’d like to share please send me a note directly. Or, if you feel comfortable please put time on my calendar to discuss. Ingrid Smith, Sr. Director Global Talent Acquisition

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Looking forward to seeing what the future holds"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Polycom

    Pros

    Work/Life Balance, benefits, compensation, I work with some amazing dedicated people!

    Cons

    Frequent Layoffs, uncertain but optimistic about what the future holds

    Polycom2016-12-09

    Polycom Response

    January 12, 2017Sr. Director, Global Talent Acqusition

    Thank you for taking the time to review us- much appreciated! I'm with you- I'm really excited to see how our new strategy will change things. Let's face it- we're in turnaround mode, and to pay for our new strategy we had to restructure. Now that we've gotten through them, I'm ready to roll up my sleeves and help get this ship moving in the right direction. If you have any other questions/comments that you'd like to share with me directly please don't hesitate to reach out. Warm regards, Ingrid Smith, Sr. Director WW Talent Acquisition

    Continue reading
  10. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Polycom full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I'm very happy at Polycom. Excellent work/life balance, open door policy with execs when needed, and good compensation and benefits.

    Cons

    We lost some good people due to the pending acquisition. I'm unsure of my long-term stability in this company once we are acquired (though my preference would be to stay)

    Continue reading
    Polycom2016-08-22
Found 62 reviews