KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Polytechnic Institute of NYU

Is this your company?

Polytechnic Institute of NYU

Add a Review

Polytechnic Institute of NYU Reviews

Updated Aug 25, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 134 of over 142 reviews

4.0
82%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Polytechnic Institute of NYU President Katepalli R. Sreenivasan (no image)
Katepalli R. Sreenivasan
12 Ratings
Pros
  • "math department has a friendly work environment(in 17 reviews)

  • "The work itself is what you make of it - if you only work the class sessions (labs, lectures, tours) then it's enjoyable work with flexible hours(in 8 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Low pay, amount of work is not equivalent to the effort needed(in 5 reviews)

  • "pay rate(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      ResearchAssistant

      Aug 25, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      NYU Tandon has good Resources, connections, and facilities

      Cons

      To access full NYU resources would be difficult

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Mixed bag of who you work for there.

      Jul 26, 2021 - Assistant Manager in Brooklyn, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Opportunity to go for a higher education while working. Working with the students is overall a pleasant experence.

      Cons

      Accountability for higher manager needs work, Better training could be done for new employees.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Best

      Jan 4, 2021 - Student in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Its the best job available

      Cons

      No cons that I can think of.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Overall Good

      Nov 17, 2020 - Teaching Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work as a student, helps with experience and provides a decent income for a student

      Cons

      The administration does not really listen to students, could use more work there.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good Work place for students

      Nov 19, 2020 - Teaching Assistant in Brooklyn, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      localized payment, tax, and community Understanding of academics

      Cons

      Limited positions available, not highly promoted.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Demanding but worth it

      Sep 4, 2020 - Associate Director in Brooklyn, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great community of faculty and staff; motivated and hard-working students; good benefits

      Cons

      Staff wear many hats and are a bit overworked

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good

      May 15, 2020 - Graduate Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good. Union labor benefits. Insurance benefits... Everythign is great to work here

      Cons

      Not much.. Not much to comment on ..

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      NYU center for urban science and progress

      Jul 31, 2019 - Student Researcher in Brooklyn, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      nice co-workers and environment

      Cons

      a university research apartment

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Work as General Engineering Teaching Assistant

      Nov 21, 2014 - Teaching Assistant in Brooklyn, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working as a TA for General Engineering comes with a lot of benefits. You have access to an office where you can study and do your work. There are always people there that you can collaborate with and it has been a huge blessing during my time at Poly. The work itself is what you make of it - if you only work the class sessions (labs, lectures, tours) then it's enjoyable work with flexible hours. The real fun is doing some of the projects - I worked on an R&D project and learned a ton while having something to put on my resume. I cannot say enough good things about this position.

      Cons

      Very few - I had some trouble getting paid but that was more on the university than the department and I had been inactive for a bit due to an internship. The R&D projects were great for getting experience but as an upperclassman, I needed more complex projects to put on my resume. Still kept the EG job, just didn't do as many hours.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Work at ResLife

      Mar 27, 2014 - Resident Assistant in Brooklyn, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Residence life was the best department to work for. It was a friendly, energetic and fun work environment. There are a lot of experiences that I've had to set apart my college experience. I have truly enjoyed my time working here until Fall 2013.

      Cons

      NYU has a completely different system which I can see works for them. However, the way Poly RAs were trained help them handle situations of all kinds. I feel NYU policy and training will ruin that advantage that Poly RAs have.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 134 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Polytechnic Institute of NYU Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Polytechnic Institute of NYU? Share Your Experiences

    Polytechnic Institute of NYU logo
    or