Pond5 Reviews | Glassdoor

Pond5 Reviews

Updated Feb 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
79%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Pond5 CEO Jason Teichman (no image)
Jason Teichman
14 Ratings
  1. "Good experience overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pond5

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule, open office environment, friendly people, global company

    Cons

    As someone who has been with Pond5 for a few years, the company has had its share growing pains but overall it’s been a great place to work. The recent attacks by former employees are hard to understand or agree with and I am posting to bring balance to the conversation. Criticism about strategy and decision making I think are fair but I don’t think the environment is toxic and I don’t think most others who work here now would agree either.

    Continue reading
    Pond52020-02-27
  2. "Change is good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pond5 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - People are all really smart, driven. - Diverse culture. For a small company its very global - people all over the world. Lots of different people from different backgrounds -I like the responsibility i'm given. I've been given lots of opportunities to take on more. Probably would not get that at other places

    Cons

    - You have to be ok working with people in other time zones. Makes communications hard, but everyone tries to make it work - Can feel stressful at times. - Balancing our artist friendly history and the business needs seems hard

    Continue reading
    Pond52020-02-26

    Pond5 Response

    February 27, 2020Chief People Officer

    Thanks for encouragement that we're on the right track! We'll continue to work on improving communication and appreciate your taking time to share the positive feedback.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Transparent Sexism Awaits at this Exciting Startup!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pond5 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You may get to travel abroad every couple years.

    Cons

    On the surface, Pond5 seems like an ideal work environment but sadly you don't need to pick very deep at all to find patterns of inequity and injustice for women and non-white employees. This is just a partial list of what I witnessed in my time at the company: Longtime CFO Tom Crary has been known to play the juvenile game of rating women's physical attractiveness, asking people in the lunch room to assign women scores of 1-10. If this had taken place in a room full of men, it would still point to a broken company culture; the fact that it repeatedly happened in front of women in their own workplace, and never led to any concrete action on the part of HR despite numerous filed complaints shows how deeply Pond5 devalues women. Gossiping (in a public space, once again) with a group of men about a female colleague who had recently quit, Crary said she didn't have much to offer, but did have nice "assets." His all-male audience laughed out loud. He not only rejected but openly mocked expense reports for women's team building outings, and bullied the employee who submitted them. Tellingly, the company yet again took no measures to remedy the situation or address the underlying issues that allowed it to happen in the first place. In spite of this well-documented pattern of behavior, Crary continues to be a key decision-maker on salaries, raises and bonuses. As someone with inside knowledge on compensation, I know that Pond5 paid women and men unequally for identical work. This acceptance of bullying and inequity penetrates into the middle and lower ranks, and is endemic in the culture of Pond5's middle management: Example 1: a music director was given to frequent racist outbursts, shouting "these [expletive] Russians, these [expletive] Ukrainians" and ranting about how "these [expletive] people from Eastern Europe" are all fraudulent. At the time, this Director sat next to Eastern European colleagues in the office and managed a team based in Eastern Europe. When asked to stop by one of his Eastern European coworkers, he treated the situation is a joke and continued to do it. Example 2: a product director once casually mentioned the "n word" at the lunch table, with no consequence. This person managed a team with non-white employees.  It is clear that in each of these cases the c-levels and directors have priority over lower level employees and that they can reasonably expect to walk away from these situations without facing any consequences or serious pressure to moderate or change their behavior. When confronted with this, Pond5 will tout its "global" team, which includes highly underpaid team in Prague and Dublin.  In short: if you are a woman, and especially if you are not white, be wary of accepting an offer from this company. While at first sight it may seem like an exciting and creative organization, you will be underpaid and consistently made to feel like you are worth less than your male counterparts. If you complain even in the most professional of ways, you can be sure the side of the higher-up will be taken. 

    Pond52020-02-24

    Pond5 Response

    February 26, 2020Chief People Officer

    While we're open to constructive feedback, these statements are hurtful and unfounded. Through our words and our actions, we place great value on a diverse, inclusive, respectful, and professional environment. We have demonstrated no tolerance for behaviors that don't align with these values. In our last engagement survey, 91% of Pond5ers reported feeling included, 95% reported having a positive relationship with colleagues, 88% reported trust our leaders, and 89% shared that managers care about them as a person. We are proud to be part of BuiltinNYC's Best Mid-Sized Companies to Work for as well as Weatherfront's list of career-launching companies for 2020. I encourage any employee (or in your case past employee) to contact me or to reach out anonymously to our PEO's employee advocate at 415-937-9299 to discuss any concerns. I can assure you that we take seriously and investigate any complaint that is raised. While we know we can always improve, and we invest heavily to do so, we are proud of the diverse, multicultural, inclusive organization we have built and the people that make Pond5 a great place to work.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Deplorable Workplace for Women"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pond5 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No pros to share for this place

    Cons

    HR constantly heard complaints about gender inequality from several female staff members for several years, and nothing was ever really done to take care of the root issue. In this day and age, it's unfathomable that a company is allowed to continue to hire , employ, and congratulate men who are disrespectful at all levels of staffing - from senior management to jr level- this company needs to be held accountable for it's awful actions.

    Continue reading
    Pond52020-02-25

    Pond5 Response

    February 26, 2020Chief People Officer

    Through our words and our actions, we place great value on a diverse, inclusive, respectful, and professional environment. We have demonstrated no tolerance for behaviors that don't align with these values. In our last engagement survey, 91% of Pond5ers reported feeling included, 95% reported having a positive relationship with colleagues, 88% reported trust our leaders, and 89% shared that managers care about them as a person. We are proud to be part of BuiltinNYC's Best Mid-Sized Companies to Work for as well as Weatherfront's list of career-launching companies for 2020. I encourage any employee (or in your case past employee) to contact me or to reach out anonymously to our PEO's employee advocate at 415-937-9299 to discuss any concerns. I can assure you that we take seriously and investigate any complaint that is raised. While we know we can always improve, and we invest heavily to do so, we are proud of the diverse, multicultural, inclusive organization we have built and the people that make Pond5 a great place to work.

    Continue reading
  5. "Treat your employees better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pond5

    Pros

    There are really great people who work here. Very hands on.

    Cons

    The Executive team is cold and unapproachable. The office culture has increasingly declined.

    Continue reading
    Pond52020-01-28

    Pond5 Response

    February 3, 2020Chief People Officer

    We are agreed that there are really great people who work here! I wanted to thank you for your feedback and let you know that we'll continue to work hard to ensure a great environment for all.

    Continue reading
  6. "Poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pond5 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    $12 seamless for lunch is a great perk

    Cons

    “Generous PTO” that only applies to some. If you have a manager who doesn’t care to submit your time off, then I guess you can say they offer a great PTO package. But there are managers who make you feel guilty for taking time off, or who expect you to use sick time with “advance notice” ( If you’re sick and call out they're very passive-aggressive) and others who expect you to be available on your PTO! It’s all a big joke. No one here knows anything about management. CPO is an anti-feminist and unapproachable. The CEO treats people poorly, no interaction with his staff, I’m not sure he knows who actually works at his company. The office is outdated, dark and depressing and makes for a negative working environment. The penny pinching occurring lately is so obvious and it’s affecting the office in general. The men’s bathroom is disgusting! The furniture is falling apart and couches smell.

    Continue reading
    Pond52020-02-01

    Pond5 Response

    February 8, 2020Chief People Officer

    It's disappointing to hear that you aren't having a positive experience. We'll continue to work to ensure that our policies are applied consistently, our office is comfortable and productive, and our leadership team is accessible. I hope that you'll come share further feedback with me personally so that we can work to address your specific concerns better than we can via an anonymous forum.

    Continue reading
  7. "Hatred of minorities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pond5 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some people are really good mates

    Cons

    Chief people officer keeps acting like she's the one and only important in the company. She plays she's your buddy, but once you turn your back to her, here comes a knife straight in the middle of your back. When she learned I'm lesbian, she immediately made the best to get rid of me. And she finally succeeded. It was horrible experience. I'm still visiting medical assistance. But hey, live goes on...

    Continue reading
    Pond52019-11-28

    Pond5 Response

    December 2, 2019Chief People Officer

    It was disappointing to read this review, as it does not resemble anything I've witnessed or been a part of at Pond5. We enthusiastically promote diversity and inclusion across our global team. It is part of who we are. Would love to be able to have a conversation with you about this- or put you in touch with our CEO, who feels as passionately about this as I do.

    Continue reading
  8. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pond5 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company is very upfront about goals and expectations. Working at Pond5 has been an amazing experience. There is room to learn and grow through numerous trainings and shadowing opportunities. The culture is very family friendly with a good work to life balance. Additionally it feels good to be working for a company that is making a difference and giving opportunities for artists. This is a young company but they have a mid level vibe. The pay is good and they have a great vacation benefits package. Additionally, they are big on D&I.

    Cons

    I haven't run into any as of yet.

    Continue reading
    Pond52019-07-11

    Pond5 Response

    July 12, 2019Chief People Officer

    So glad it's been a good experience!

    Continue reading
  9. "On the up and up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pond5 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Collaborative work environment -Contribute a lot to the companies growth and success -Free Lunch Subsidy Everyday -Talk to fun and interesting customers every day -Lot of potential in the market -Friendly coworkers -Not the toughest sale

    Cons

    -Startup pains for not being a startup -Hard to get conference rooms -Should really consider getting a bigger and better office -Could do more work events outside of the office

    Continue reading
    Pond52019-07-11

    Pond5 Response

    July 12, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thanks for taking the time to give feedback, we appreciate it!

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (6)

    "All glossy photo, no substance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Salesperson in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pond5 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice neighborhood. Promising products.

    Cons

    Management has their heads up their rear ends. I have seen the way they treat candidates and shuffle their status around and lead them on only then forget about them. Like so many companies they want to “promote from within”, but always go across the street.

    Continue reading
    Pond52018-12-18

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 24 reviews