Porch Reviews | Glassdoor

Porch Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 242 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Matt Ehrlichman
179 Ratings
Pros
  • "A lot of great people came and left porch(in 21 reviews)

  • "Free lunch catered every Friday(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "I think the shift began a long time ago when they first started hiring outside for middle management(in 12 reviews)

  • "Dissatisfied employees and the mood has changed significantly since I've been here leading to high turnover(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "Great place to grow career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Porch full-time

    Pros

    Porch is in growth mode currently so there's lot of opportunities to take on new things. If there's something you want to try, you have the ability to implement it. The people who work here are also awesome. Friendly, collaborative and fun to be around.

    Cons

    The office location can be kind of tough since it's outside the core, but not a huge issue for me, personally.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to empower your employees.

    Porch2018-10-29
  2. "Good place to learn and grow quickly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Management in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Porch full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    World class talent on the team, fast-paced environment, high degree of autonomy and ownership in the EPD org.

    Cons

    Lower pay vs. Amazon, MSFT etc

    Porch2019-01-29
  3. "Looking bleak"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Porch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Location is good, people are easy going.

    Cons

    Pay is pretty awful.

    Porch2019-05-18
  4. "Cool people, hardcore telemarketing and poor product quality/results"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Sales 

      I worked at Porch full-time

      Pros

      Peers are fun, interesting people

      Cons

      Pounding the phones, threats of being fired, constant pressure, "being thrown off the mountain"

      Porch2019-05-13
    • "Porch Sales"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Local Market Specialist in Seattle, WA

      I worked at Porch full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Work hours were great, get in early leave early Relaxed management style when you were a top performer

      Cons

      Always new people coming in. Compensation was low based on revenue generated

      Porch2019-04-09
    • Helpful (2)

      "Toxic talent is valued over product and team health"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Software Engineer 
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Porch full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Immediate bosses and leads do genuinely care about you. Lots of opportunities for growth, learning, and ownership. Plenty of unique projects available. Great comp and location!

      Cons

      Same bosses and leads are hamstrung by upper management. Moving too fast for their own good leaving many good acquisitions and people behind.

      Advice to Management

      Nobody is irreplaceable. Please remember the values that are put up on the wall, especially the ones talking about no ego and no jerks. People are leaving for a reason.

      Porch2019-04-06
    • Helpful (4)

      "RUN FAST"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Porch full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      My co-workers were my sanity. I loved the people I was surrounded by. Some of them became my family.

      Cons

      The higher ups do not care about their employees. They only care about the money they can earn from the employees. They will lie to your faces about major concerns you had. They do not go by their values that they harp on and expect everyone else to go by. They also have favorites among locations. This is not a company you would want to work for. They will just screw you over.

      Advice to Management

      Realize who really needs to be gone because you guys are not making good choices within the last two weeks.

      Porch2019-04-09
    • "Together We Win....ya right together you win and we all lose...."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - NHB Team Lead in Canton, GA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Porch full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      The atmosphere and the people you get to work with....

      Cons

      1. NOBODY with in this company follows its "values" - the cofounder plays favorites and is EXTREMELY biased in every situation presented. 2. They make you read a book as a management team and tell you manage along those lines: dont care take, confront one another, and blend your personal and professional life - when you confront someone, you are reprimanded for it and told to stop...yet you told us you want us to...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Follow your own guidance and values. Stop passing the crap end of the stick down the totem pole and HOLD YOURSELF ACCOUNTABLE TO THE SAME VALUES ON THE WALLS!!

      Porch2019-04-09
    • "Claims to 'Care Deeply' & 'Win Together' STAY AWAY!!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Manager 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Porch full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Co-workers were like family, upper management didn't care about us!

      Cons

      Porch does not care about their employees. Values are pushed on everyone but not even followed by upper management. To work here its WHO YOU KNOW not what you know. They blindside employees with multiple mass firings & will manipulate any real concerns you or others may have. Do not waste your time. This is not a career.

      Advice to Management

      Start by following the company values and leading by example.

      Porch2019-04-09
    • "......."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Porch full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Fellow employees who help you learn

      Cons

      Blurred line of information that trickles down and changes accordingly.

      Porch2019-03-01
    Found 242 reviews