Porch Reviews | Glassdoor

Porch Reviews

Updated Jun 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 249 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Matt Ehrlichman
186 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "Porch is the best company I've worked at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Porch full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Porch isn't for everyone. It's fast moving, dynamic, and people who work here need to be nimble because the company is comfortable and openly accepts change. Porch and leadership are very focused on driving rapid growth and it is an extremely ambitious company. It is fun to see this payoff with the company growing extremely rapidly over the last several years and from what we see, it doesn't feel like it will slow. ...

    Show More

    Cons

    It will be nice when the company is a bit larger and more funds can be put toward weekly lunches. I like the perks we have, but would love lunches.

    Advice to Management

    It would be great to get all of our offices around the country together on an annual basis.

    Porch2019-05-28
  2. "A Great place to build your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Porch full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    High energy, positive and dynamic environment. Great culture, living their values- no jerks no egos- all opinions matters. A very diverse workplace that respect and appreciate different opinions. The company is growing and there are a lot of internal opportunities to grow and develop your career.

    Cons

    Working in an open space- does not fit everyone Not a lot of food options in the sodo area

    Porch2019-05-29
  3. "Industry Leading Vision and Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Porch full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The leaders exemplify the vision and values and genuinely care about their employees. The culture is engaging, fun and challenging. So appreciate the openness, teamwork and commitment to our our customers.

    Cons

    None - so refreshing to be part of a team that lives the values and works each day to engage and improve.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for creating an engaging culture and making everyone feel part of the team.

    Porch2019-05-24
  4. "Good place to learn and grow quickly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Management in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Porch full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    World class talent on the team, fast-paced environment, high degree of autonomy and ownership in the EPD org.

    Cons

    Lower pay vs. Amazon, MSFT etc

    Porch2019-01-29
  5. "Amazing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Porch full-time

    Pros

    --Smart Colleagues --Free Snacks/Drinks --Management is open to ideas

    Cons

    --Little low on salary compared to market

    Advice to Management

    Keep rocking

    Porch2019-01-02
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to grow career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Porch full-time

    Pros

    Porch is in growth mode currently so there's lot of opportunities to take on new things. If there's something you want to try, you have the ability to implement it. The people who work here are also awesome. Friendly, collaborative and fun to be around.

    Cons

    The office location can be kind of tough since it's outside the core, but not a huge issue for me, personally.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to empower your employees.

    Porch2018-10-29
  7. "Smart team, fun culture, exciting strategy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Porch full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very high talent bar - get to work with people that make me better every day. Exciting strategy and large upside if the company works, which appears to be more and more likely each quarter.

    Cons

    Typical of a startup, fast to change direction which can be organizationally tough, but this is also getting better as the company matures.

    Porch2018-10-22
  8. "5 years & wouldn't change a thing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Porch full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I've gone through the ups and downs of Porch during tenure. I can honestly say that I wouldn't change a thing. Sure it was hard, but it's the type of hard that makes you a better person and employee. I feel like I've packed 20 years worth of experience into my time here because of how much it's pushed me to grow and improve. It's fast, challenging, and will bring out the best in you. This isn't the cushy place that you...

    Show More

    Cons

    Lunch options in SODO are weak

    Advice to Management

    Bring back an anonymous feedback loop so employees that may not be as strong willed can feel comfortable voicing strong opinions to leadership.

    Porch2018-10-09
  9. Helpful (1)

    "This is why Start-ups are great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Porch full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun work environment - team frequently eats together at lunch and plays cards Hard problems to solve and management expects everyone to contribute to the solution I work in my area of expertise and I am expected to jump in where ever it is needed

    Cons

    I don't know if it is a pro or a con. Open office working space - things can get a bit noisy, but make it easy to connect with colleagues. Planed career moves are hard, but easy to get new unexpected opportunities

    Advice to Management

    Continue to talk and follow the Porch values. Invest more in leadership training for all managers. Keep up the ATP meetings - good way to understand what is happening at the company.

    Porch2018-10-09
  10. "Porch fosters a growth-mindset"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Porch full-time

    Pros

    One of my favorite things about Porch is the way it fosters a growth-mindset. Individuals are empowered to seek out personal and professional development both in house and elsewhere. Employees are encouraged to work hard, take initiative, ask questions and collaborate cross-functionally. Keeping the team as well as the collective goals of the company top of mind is a deeply-rooted aspect of our culture. Another great...

    Show More

    Cons

    Porch moves fast--sometimes too fast. As we're running towards solutions and innovation, sometimes we miss out on opportunities to anticipate repercussions. The result of this is that we're often operating in a reactive manner, versus a proactive manner. Porch has a very meeting-heavy culture, which at times can make for very productive conversations, but other times results in a lot of unnecessary deep-diving that...

    Show More
    Porch2018-10-05
Found 249 reviews