Porch Reviews | Glassdoor

Porch Reviews

Updated Aug 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 250 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Matt Ehrlichman
185 Ratings
  1. "Cool people, hardcore telemarketing and poor product quality/results"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales 

    I worked at Porch full-time

    Pros

    Peers are fun, interesting people

    Cons

    Pounding the phones, threats of being fired, constant pressure, "being thrown off the mountain"

    Porch2019-05-13
  2. "Porch Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Local Market Specialist in Seattle, WA

    I worked at Porch full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work hours were great, get in early leave early Relaxed management style when you were a top performer

    Cons

    Always new people coming in. Compensation was low based on revenue generated

    Porch2019-04-09
  3. "Claims to 'Care Deeply' & 'Win Together' STAY AWAY!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Porch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Co-workers were like family, upper management didn't care about us!

    Cons

    Porch does not care about their employees. Values are pushed on everyone but not even followed by upper management. To work here its WHO YOU KNOW not what you know. They blindside employees with multiple mass firings & will manipulate any real concerns you or others may have. Do not waste your time. This is not a career.

    Advice to Management

    Start by following the company values and leading by example.

    Porch2019-04-09
  4. "Together We Win....ya right together you win and we all lose...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - NHB Team Lead in Canton, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Porch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The atmosphere and the people you get to work with....

    Cons

    1. NOBODY with in this company follows its "values" - the cofounder plays favorites and is EXTREMELY biased in every situation presented. 2. They make you read a book as a management team and tell you manage along those lines: dont care take, confront one another, and blend your personal and professional life - when you confront someone, you are reprimanded for it and told to stop...yet you told us you want us to...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Follow your own guidance and values. Stop passing the crap end of the stick down the totem pole and HOLD YOURSELF ACCOUNTABLE TO THE SAME VALUES ON THE WALLS!!

    Porch2019-04-09
  5. Helpful (4)

    "RUN FAST"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Porch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My co-workers were my sanity. I loved the people I was surrounded by. Some of them became my family.

    Cons

    The higher ups do not care about their employees. They only care about the money they can earn from the employees. They will lie to your faces about major concerns you had. They do not go by their values that they harp on and expect everyone else to go by. They also have favorites among locations. This is not a company you would want to work for. They will just screw you over.

    Advice to Management

    Realize who really needs to be gone because you guys are not making good choices within the last two weeks.

    Porch2019-04-09
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Toxic talent is valued over product and team health"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Porch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Immediate bosses and leads do genuinely care about you. Lots of opportunities for growth, learning, and ownership. Plenty of unique projects available. Great comp and location!

    Cons

    Same bosses and leads are hamstrung by upper management. Moving too fast for their own good leaving many good acquisitions and people behind.

    Advice to Management

    Nobody is irreplaceable. Please remember the values that are put up on the wall, especially the ones talking about no ego and no jerks. People are leaving for a reason.

    Porch2019-04-06
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Better find a part-time job as well. Selling an idea, not a real product. Call Center feeling. Laughable wage."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Local Market Specialist in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Porch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The only star is for the employees that work here and the direct managers. Everyone is friendly and you'll make friends.

    Cons

    I'm speaking on behalf of the Local Market Specialist Role. The pay and compensation structure is absolutely horrendous and you are always being nickel and dimed your pay. Dissatisfied employees and the mood has changed significantly since I've been here leading to high turnover. Any person with selling experience DO NOT PERSUE, for your own good. This should only be a very basic entry level job if that. We are forced...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Have a working product and fix the god-awful pay and commission structure.

    Porch2019-02-21
  8. "Good place to learn and grow quickly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Management in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Porch full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    World class talent on the team, fast-paced environment, high degree of autonomy and ownership in the EPD org.

    Cons

    Lower pay vs. Amazon, MSFT etc

    Porch2019-01-29
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Only go if u drink the kool-aid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Porch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hip office, snacks, beer, cool space.

    Cons

    No pay, penalized for speaking out, pay structure constantly changing for the worse. Very very stressful environment and threatened daily on losing job is you don't strong arm some poor contractor into buying something that will not work for them. The company fails to take accountability for poor product blaming the client instead. No one stays much longer than a year if they can make that. Stay away.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the people who work for you. They are the front line and want to provide a good product. Value the talent of the people you have and don't just give lip service.

    Porch2019-01-29
  10. "Amazing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Porch full-time

    Pros

    --Smart Colleagues --Free Snacks/Drinks --Management is open to ideas

    Cons

    --Little low on salary compared to market

    Advice to Management

    Keep rocking

    Porch2019-01-02
Found 250 reviews