Porch Reviews | Glassdoor

Porch Reviews

Updated Aug 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 267 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Matt Ehrlichman
201 Ratings
  1. "Fantastic place to be an engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Porch full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Porch is a great company to work as an engineer, as you will work in a fast-paced environment with lots of bleeding-edge technologies. As ICs, we are given a lot of autonomy and say in the technical direction of the company (both day-to-day and long-term). And thanks to a great CI/CD and logging/debugging toolset, build/deploy/rollback/debug is usually painless. A culture of testing and software craftsmanship means...

    Show More

    Cons

    Cross-department communication and planning has been a long-running problem, but has been improving. The food/snack situation is hit-or-miss (sometimes there's lots of food, sometimes there's almost nothing). Meeting culture is terrible, frankly (specifically in terms of logistics, see below).

    Advice to Management

    To help improve the meeting culture, C-Suite/VPs/Directors need to set a better example to the rest of the company by starting meetings on time, ending meetings on time, and not stealing meeting rooms.

    Porch2018-10-01
  2. "Best company I've worked for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Porch full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Career: I've work for startups in the past where you have the ability to grow your career by wearing multiple hats at the company. This usually includes building web components, building services for the web to consume, then maybe some devops work to maintain the infrastructure to run in. At Porch, I've had the opportunity to 10x that by working in almost every part of the company. As long as you're engaged you will...

    Show More

    Cons

    As of today, there are no downsides to working here.

    Porch2018-09-28
  3. "Great place to grow your career fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Lead in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Porch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Supportive and collaborative environment, employees held accountable, great benefits; insurance, vacation and great free snacks. Love the bi-monthly all company meetings where exciting new changes are introduced. Looking forward to going public.

    Cons

    Need to be comfortable navigating through an ambiguous environment, but if you're entrepreneurial minded you'll do well.

    Advice to Management

    Update the porch.com/about/team page as well as the atrium. Email all Porchies when employees move on and new ones join the team!

    Porch2018-09-26
  4. "Biggest incubator of growth in my career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Porch full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Porch is a place to plant your flag and become who you want to be. There are many problems to solve and there isn't a stand-in line/wait your turn environment that stunts an individuals growth. It has easily been the place that has pushed me to grow more than an other stop in my career.

    Cons

    You can nitpick if you want. Some aren't cut out for the start up mentality and open office environment that Porch fosters. I could imagine someone might find the limited bathroom capacity annoying.

    Advice to Management

    Keep growing and pushing your employees to grow. As we grow, don't forget to grow the systems and structure to keep the same spirit that has driven us this far.

    Porch2018-09-25
  5. "I'm happy :)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Porch full-time

    Pros

    The people are great, the snacks are ever-flowing, and the commitment to fun events and activities is great

    Cons

    Sometimes the work/life balance isn't ideal and if you're not comfortable with minimal direction this may not be your place

    Porch2018-09-25
  6. "Growing and developing in a fast paced start-up."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Porch full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Create your own path Smart leadership team Great environment to learn

    Cons

    Normal start-up things, but nothing of concern.

    Advice to Management

    Keeping plowing ahead.

    Porch2018-09-24
  7. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Porch full-time

    Pros

    Porch offers a lot of opportunities for employees to grow professionally by offering various courses and shadowing programs. Porch is also full of great, smart people and has a good sense of community.

    Cons

    Focus seems to shift often, causing it to feel a bit chaotic.

    Advice to Management

    Stay focused

    Porch2018-09-24
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Porch full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Incredible opportunity to learn and advance - Able to work on cutting edge tech - Quality and functional agile development process - The engineering team and culture is top notch

    Cons

    - Opportunity and advancement can vary wildly based on what team you are placed on - Some technical teams can be bottlenecks and resistant to change

    Advice to Management

    Insurance and 401k options could be better.

    Porch2018-09-22
  9. "Amazing, high growth company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Porch full-time

    Pros

    An amazing culture filled with people who really care about each other and the work we are doing.

    Cons

    We are growing so fast that we can't keep up with hiring

    Porch2018-09-20
  10. "Come grow with us"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Operations Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Porch full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    * Really amazing people. * Learning atmosphere * High level of Collaboration

    Cons

    * Most of our employees are entrepreneurs at heart, so they thrive on starting new things. People that succeed at Porch don't jump at every opportunity presented to them here, but rather have the insight to find the right thing to do, the guts to focus on it, and the grit to see it through.

    Porch2018-09-19
Found 267 reviews