Porch Sales Reviews | Glassdoor

Porch Sales Reviews

Updated May 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
38%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Matt Ehrlichman
9 Ratings
  1. "Industry Leading Vision and Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Porch full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The leaders exemplify the vision and values and genuinely care about their employees. The culture is engaging, fun and challenging. So appreciate the openness, teamwork and commitment to our our customers.

    Cons

    None - so refreshing to be part of a team that lives the values and works each day to engage and improve.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for creating an engaging culture and making everyone feel part of the team.

    Porch2019-05-24
  2. "Looking bleak"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Porch full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Location is good, people are easy going.

    Cons

    Pay is pretty awful.

    Porch2019-05-18
  3. "Cool people, hardcore telemarketing and poor product quality/results"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Sales 

      I worked at Porch full-time

      Pros

      Peers are fun, interesting people

      Cons

      Pounding the phones, threats of being fired, constant pressure, "being thrown off the mountain"

      Porch2019-05-13
    • Helpful (2)

      "Only go if u drink the kool-aid"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Sales Associate in Seattle, WA
        Doesn't Recommend

        I worked at Porch full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Hip office, snacks, beer, cool space.

        Cons

        No pay, penalized for speaking out, pay structure constantly changing for the worse. Very very stressful environment and threatened daily on losing job is you don't strong arm some poor contractor into buying something that will not work for them. The company fails to take accountability for poor product blaming the client instead. No one stays much longer than a year if they can make that. Stay away.

        Advice to Management

        Listen to the people who work for you. They are the front line and want to provide a good product. Value the talent of the people you have and don't just give lip service.

        Porch2019-01-29
      • Helpful (3)

        "You might want to look elsewhere"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Sales Representative in Seattle, WA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Porch full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        It's a great vision and concept.

        Cons

        But the execution is horrible. The company has lost its focus on it customers and its team. The team is asked to work outside of hours clocked, under paid, and with no support or tools given to succeed further in your role

        Advice to Management

        Stop micro managing. Book recommendations: Death by Meetings & One Minute Manager

        Porch2018-11-02
      • "Ambitious, young company with strong leadership and growing need for qualified sales people and managers"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Sales Associate in Seattle, WA
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Porch full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Competitive environment Fun office culture Strong executive leadership

        Cons

        Difficult product to sell A lot of competitors in the space Dealing w disgruntled customers is par for the course

        Advice to Management

        Focus on what value could be provided and sold to contractors (maybe offering a back-end software, estimating platform, or other software solution to make your offer more enticing). Work on cross-channel communication throughout the organization. Develop possible routes for advancement within organization.

        Porch2018-10-17
      • "Getting it Right"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Sales Manager 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Porch full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Porch is a company that lives by its values, putting people first. They are flexible when needed and always striving to do what's best for employees, customers, and the business.

        Cons

        Things change frequently and occasionally communication breaks down between departments.

        Porch2018-06-11
      • Helpful (1)

        "Not compensated or valued accurately"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Sales in Seattle, WA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Porch full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Culture is fun, and all of the people are great

        Cons

        - Compensation is well below the average for the market in the area. They will claim that it is on target but it is extremely frustrating. You will work very hard, and never truly be valued in a financial aspect. - Management is terrible - most of the time absent elsewhere in the office, and truly does not do a good job of training or making sure new or current employees are taken care of. - The company has so many...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Stop focusing on everything else besides your people. When bringing new people on board make sure they know what they are getting into and have guidance and the training necessary to be successful.

        Porch2018-06-13
      • Helpful (3)

        "It was fun, but not a career"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Sales Representative in Seattle, WA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Porch full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Great people, who are fun to work with and the culture is great

        Cons

        Absolutely awful middle management. Also the have a lot of fake promotions like team lead and such, but no real promotions. You start at a salary of 32k which can go up to 48k in the first few years...so I hope you have roommates or rich parents. I'm kinda rooting for the company, because there's some good people there who really want it to work, but it's a sinking ship.

        Advice to Management

        Respect your employees, quit threatening to fire people left and right and stop running out all of the good talent. Too many unfulfilled promises was why I quit.

        Porch2017-12-10
      • "Sales Rep"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Sales Representative in Seattle, WA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Porch full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        The team culture is incredible. I've never seen a more supportive and team oriented environment like this before. From my peers to my manager to the VPs and Executive team, the people here are amazing.

        Cons

        The pressure of performing can be intense at times. Everyone here is focused and constantly raising the bar so it keeps me dialed in and makes me uncomfortable when I'm not.

        Porch2017-06-09
      Found 15 reviews