Porch "high turnover" Reviews | Glassdoor

Porch Employee Reviews about "high turnover"

Updated Jun 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 248 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Matt Ehrlichman
184 Ratings
Pros
  • "A lot of great people came and left porch(in 21 reviews)

  • "Free lunch catered every Friday(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "I think the shift began a long time ago when they first started hiring outside for middle management(in 12 reviews)

  • "Dissatisfied employees and the mood has changed significantly since I've been here leading to high turnover(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "high turnover"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Better find a part-time job as well. Selling an idea, not a real product. Call Center feeling. Laughable wage."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Local Market Specialist in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Porch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The only star is for the employees that work here and the direct managers. Everyone is friendly and you'll make friends.

    Cons

    I'm speaking on behalf of the Local Market Specialist Role. The pay and compensation structure is absolutely horrendous and you are always being nickel and dimed your pay. Dissatisfied employees and the mood has changed significantly since I've been here leading to high turnover. Any person with selling experience DO NOT PERSUE, for your own good. This should only be a very basic...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Have a working product and fix the god-awful pay and commission structure.

    Porch2019-02-21
  2. "Account Manager / Customer Success Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Porch

    Pros

    Porch is truly a melting pot for awesome individuals from varying backgrounds - I made some lifelong friends during my 1.5 years there. The atmosphere is energetic and it retains the allure of a hip start up while maintaining the feel of an established company. A few perks like snacks, ping pong tables, bean bags, scooters and whatnot.

    Cons

    I there is a list of cons but honestly, the cons are the same ones you're going to find at any start up. The hiring process leaves much to be desired, especially for middle management, so during a 6 month span, I had 5 different managers. Employees are overworked and underpaid. Company values like "transparency" and "customer delight" are more idealistic than realistic. High turnover.

    Advice to Management

    Take feedback from the people on the front lines into deeper consideration

    Porch2016-06-30

    Porch Response

    July 6, 2016Cofounder, VP Customer Success

    Thanks for the thoughtful feedback. I'm glad you made some lifelong friends - the people at Porch remain my favorite part about working here. I appreciate the perspective on cons but we aspire to be better. With a rapidly changing business, it's almost impossible to avoid manager ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (8)

    "Hard to Recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Porch full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Health Insurance, some great people, lucked out with an awesome manager, free beer on Friday, some great networking opportunities, learned a lot of what I want and don't want in a company.

    Cons

    Well, as others have mentioned on here, I was pretty much lied to by the recruiter. I was told that 80% of the floor reach their sales goal and you can double or triple the salary often. As others have illustrated, that is not the case. It is true that some, if not most, of management is pretty terrible. I watched most of my training group quit after a short time with their designated manager. Upper management either...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take the high turnover rates seriously and hold turn to the values that Porch has plastered on the walls.

    Porch2016-02-10
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Local Market Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Porch full-time

    Pros

    As a start-up company growing quickly they have done a great job making the environment a fun place to come. The job is tedious and repetitive, but can be rewarding if the product supports who were selling to. Good place for people just entering into their professional career.

    Cons

    High turnover. Stressful. Chaotic - as most start ups. Early morning - like 6am early!!!

    Advice to Management

    Focus on your hiring practices, and stop turning over people. You're losing amazing talent that you don't give the time to realize. There isn't as much opportunity as they lead on to.

    Porch2015-12-28
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Local Market Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Porch full-time

      Pros

      great coaching opportunities for improvement awesome VP to work for great company atmosphere

      Cons

      stressful cold calling sales pressure high turnover lack of mgmt experience in leadership roles

      Porch2015-09-14
    • Helpful (3)

      "Full time employee"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Porch full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Lots of day to day perks such as free food and a casual dress code, and you'll make great friends.

      Cons

      Very low base salaries, little to no progression plan in a given role, and high turnover

      Advice to Management

      Higher base salaries

      Porch2015-08-27
    • Helpful (8)

      "High turnover and low pay for 100% cold calling"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Local Market Specialist in Seattle, WA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Porch full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Catered lunches on friday, ORCA card with funds, good benefits, food perks, energetic atmosphere, young workforce, good vision/mission, good CEO

      Cons

      Low pay for inside sales job with unrealistic expectations to reach quota. Super high turnover, hired a group of 17 then laid off 10 three weeks later. High stress and 100% cold calling 100% of the time. Lots of bad leads. Lots of young inexperienced managers who don't help new hires and don't know how to manage properly.

      Advice to Management

      Do a better job selecting and training sales managers. Increase bonus potential and base. Work on lead sourcing.

      Porch2015-07-15
    • Helpful (23)

      "Reality Bites"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Porch

      Pros

      Inspiring C-Suite. Free beer on Fridays.

      Cons

      Please see the review titled "Wolf in Sheep's Clothing". That person knows what's up. Many of these reviews seem placed to cover honest reports. "Move Fast" = the worst internal communication and middle management I have ever experienced. The right hand does NOT know what the left hand is doing. "Culture" = Frat house environment. Obvious favoritism-- don't expect meritocracy, you better be a suck-up. "Fast Growing"...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Middle management on the sales side needs some serious training! They aren't doing the company any favors. The feeling like "Porch is the next big thing" doesn't exist with many people I've talked to-- and for good reason, at least for now.

      Porch2014-06-30
    Found 248 reviews