Portafina Reviews

Updated Mar 2, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
84%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Portafina Managing Director Jamie Smith-Thompson (no image)
Jamie Smith-Thompson
11 Ratings
  1. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Lots of rules and process

    Mar 2, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some managers get parking spaces reserved. The shifts either start at 10am or 8am, finishing at 4pm is nice. Day off if it's you're birthday

    Cons

    Management clock watch and judge anyone whose late. People who have worked there long term all speak and email in the same way which is strange. Lots of managers jobs seem to be checking other people's daily figures rather than performing a role. Get told off for wearing trainers like your a child

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great place to work!

    Jan 14, 2020 - Senior Administrator in Rochester, South East England, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - The company values create a positive and friendly work environment. - No day is ever the same; there's always new challenges and ideas. - My voice and ideas are heard and acknowledged. - Training is not only provided to newcomers - it is also provided to those that need refreshers. - If you're not sure on something, there is always multiple people around to explain it in a way that will make sense to you. - Full support is provided to all employees and management. - There are always avenues available to be able to progress within the company. - All managers/team leaders and senior management will go the extra mile to make you feel valued as an individual, and achievements are always recognised and celebrated. - Portafina has a great company culture, with opportunities to socialise and relax outside of work.

    Cons

    - In order for the company itself to grow and develop, you have to be able to adapt changes quickly. - To work at Portafina, you also need to be able to work efficiently under pressure, as there are deadlines to meet in target-based roles.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great company to work for

    Jul 14, 2020 - Customer Relations Officer in Chatham, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company is supportive Rewarded for good work with bonuses, quarterly incentives, progression within. Charity events Birthday day off Seasonal gifts from work Continuous training and development. Friendly staff

    Cons

    Not so much a con because it’s good for the company but the company is always changing to grow bigger and better so you have to be able to adapt quickly to new changes that are implemented.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Bad

    Nov 3, 2020 - Case Liaison Officer in Rochester, South East England, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good pay For starting salary

    Cons

    Cliquey culture, difficult to fit in

    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Good money, bad culture

    Aug 28, 2020 - Case Liaison Officer in Rochester, South East England, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good pay for an entry level job. Can also earn bonuses after probation. Pay for qualifications if you want to become a financial adviser.

    Cons

    Very repetitive work. Punished for any small mistake that you make. 90% of the staff are female so it can get very cliquey and gossipy.

    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Low paying customer service role

    Nov 16, 2020 - Customer Relations Officer in Rochester, South East England, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Ok for a first job

    Cons

    not much room for progression

    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Great place to work

    Jan 14, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Rochester, South East England, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Portafina really is a great place to work. Everyone is friendly and helpful and will be rewarded for hard work. Training and support is provided for every employee and there are many perks such as generous payments into our pension plan, private medical insurance, life cover, rewards for people showing the company values, all expenses paid Christmas parties, food treats, and we even get a day off for our birthday. I have worked here for many many years and see myself being here for many more years to come, as I really do thoroughly enjoy my job and the support I receive.

    Cons

    The main car park gets busy. The 8am shift start however does help staff to have the choice of spaces.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Fun Family Feel Company

    Jan 14, 2020 - Senior Administrator in Rochester, South East England, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are many pros to working for Portafina, such as; 2 company parties a year Fun charity events Company awards (resulting in holidays or gift vouchers) Extra day annual leave on birthdays & birthday gift from work Private health insurance Great bonus structure Overtime option Season perks i.e. Easter eggs Work with lots of lovely people Close bond with team mates Relaxed office environment

    Cons

    When there's a local accident sometimes traffic can be quite bad getting off the estate, however we have been told this is being looked into.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    A company that is always trying to get better

    Jan 14, 2020 - Independent Financial Advisor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Really flexible in work life balance Always trying to develop you along with the business Good Culture You don’t feel like a number with little gestures like Christmas and Birthday vouchers, a day off for your birthday, celebrating an exam being passed with a bottle of champagne that sort of thing Good support throughout the departments

    Cons

    With giving a voice sometimes to many opinions get involved when its not necessary

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    A very supportive company to work for

    Nov 2, 2018 - PR & Content Executive in Maidstone, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I’ve been lucky to work in some great places since graduating from university and other places that haven’t been so great. Portafina is without a doubt, one of the best companies I’ve worked for. With such a close-knit team across multiple departments, I felt welcomed the second I joined the company and my work and experience has been valued and appreciated from the beginning. Compared to other companies I have worked for, Portafina offers fantastic employee benefits as well as a great understanding that employees should be rewarded for the hard work they put in. I feel as though I’m part of a family instead of just working for a business. I have been supported throughout helping me to carry out my role to the best of my ability.

    Cons

    It can be difficult at times to get pensions into the everyday conversation with clients and the general public, but I see this as more of a challenge that I enjoy getting to grips with instead of a con!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 32 Reviews

Work at Portafina? Share Your Experiences

Portafina logo
or