Porter & Chester Institute Reviews

Updated May 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.3
24%
Recommend to a Friend
28%
Approve of CEO
Porter & Chester Institute President and Chief Executive Officer James Bologa (no image)
James Bologa
40 Ratings
Pros
  • "If you care about helping students succeed and can ignore management it is a great place to be(in 7 reviews)

  • "The frontline staff, mostly great people that work very hard to make a difference for the students(in 3 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Admin"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Porter & Chester Institute full-time

    Pros

    Porter and Chester is highly respected in the CT and MA markets. We provide highly skilled training to our students in all of the programs that we offer. It is a privilege to be part of their success everyday. Porter and Chester has afforded me opportunities in my professional growth, that I feel I would not have learned or been exposed to at another company or school. They truly care about their employees.

    Cons

    I cannot think of any cons at this time.

    Continue reading
    Porter & Chester Institute2018-02-28
  2. "Not a good place to work at all."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Porter & Chester Institute full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good people doing their best to educate their students. Helping students achieve their goals and get good paying jobs.

    Cons

    Owned by a hedge fund. CEO is a CPA not an educator. His number one goal is to maximize profits and give minimum to students and staff. They don't give any raises and keep cutting staff. Then the work is given to the people that are left. No department budgets and very difficult to get needed supplies. Extremely low moral.

    Continue reading
    Porter & Chester Institute2020-05-07
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Get what you put in"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Career Services Advisor 

    I worked at Porter & Chester Institute full-time

    Pros

    Students and some of the staff

    Cons

    Not a lot of growth opportunities

    Continue reading
    Porter & Chester Institute2019-10-14
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Don’t work here"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructor in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Porter & Chester Institute full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great staff to work with.

    Cons

    No raises and work long days with no appreciation.

    Continue reading
    Porter & Chester Institute2019-09-28
  5. Helpful (1)

    "do go there"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher in Woburn, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Porter & Chester Institute part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    teaching automotive in class and shop

    Cons

    bad atmosphere. divide no support from management, poor pay

    Continue reading
    Porter & Chester Institute2019-08-18
  6. Helpful (1)

    "fun job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Porter & Chester Institute part-time

    Pros

    very interesting meeting the students and the new students coming in

    Cons

    sometimes pace is very fast

    Porter & Chester Institute2019-04-18
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Run Away!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Porter & Chester Institute part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Direct staff at my location are amazing people and very hard workers. The students we enroll are charismatic and fun to talk to.

    Cons

    Far too many to list but let me summarize: you will never be more than an expense to the higher management. They DO NOT care about their employees at all. They are like a narcissistic ex that won't go away. Only education staff get paid vacation weeks while admissions and support staff have to still work. We haven't had a holiday party or any type of team building event since I started almost 2 years ago. I would have left after my first month if it wasn't for the people I met while working here. Don't waste your time being underpaid and under appreciated find a job somewhere else. Anywhere else.

    Continue reading
    Porter & Chester Institute2018-11-06
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Dishonest people and Company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CPS 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Porter & Chester Institute full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Was a learning opportunity to see how each student was just a number, some CPS didn’t care if the student was going to make it or not. They wanted to reach there enrollment goal.

    Cons

    Nasty culture, coworkers will stab you in the back to reach the goal of applicants. Feel bad for students who are being set up to promises for a future career/ opportunity to only end up jobless and in major financial debt.

    Continue reading
    Porter & Chester Institute2018-07-19
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Student"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student in Woburn, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Porter & Chester Institute full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Huge debt no skills (sarcasm)

    Cons

    Get a job changing tires if you want to work on cars you can learn and earn. You will have huge debt and min wage pay. They will give easy tests so you can have a grade to allow you to keep taking loans. You can do an income driven repayment plan that forgives the loan after 25 years, but they tax you on the amount forgiven. So simply put say 15k loan plus interest in 25 years @ 40k at a moderate tax of 25% 10k almost the original note! DONT DO IT IT WILL F UP YOUR LIFE!!!!

    Porter & Chester Institute2018-07-14
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Financially Driven Institute"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructor, College Or University in New Haven, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Porter & Chester Institute full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Ability to help sculpt Adult Learners who can have a life changing experience.

    Cons

    Pay for instructors and safety. All about numbers and not about quality.

    Continue reading
    Porter & Chester Institute2018-03-19
Found 57 reviews