Portland State University Reviews

Updated May 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
78%
Recommend to a Friend
37%
Approve of CEO
Portland State University President Rahmat Shoureshi (no image)
Rahmat Shoureshi
34 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay relative to other peer institutions (Oregon/Oregon Sate) and in general due to the high cost of living in Portland(in 25 reviews)

  • "Even though they offer major educational discounts, it is hard to schedule time away from the full-time positions for classes(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "The best team that is flexible with student schedules."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Orientation Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Portland State University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The leaders and managers are fantastic and really prioritize your growth as a student leader. They give you the skills to perfect your leadership, and encourage and are accommodating with growth outside of the role. They really want you to succeed, and the work environment is the best one that I have experienced.

    Cons

    The majority of your work is during the summer, however, they still provide opportunities to work year-round as well.

    Portland State University2020-05-22
  2. "Very good experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    Current Employee - Grader in Portland, OR
    Recommends

    I have been working at Portland State University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The flexibility of schedule, easy job

    Cons

    Sometimes it takes more time than given

    Portland State University2020-05-21
  3. "Perfect Student Job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    Former Employee - Mail Clerk 

    I worked at Portland State University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule Great Management Extra hours available if you need/want it

    Cons

    Low Pay Work can be repetitive

    Portland State University2020-04-29
  4. "Good student job"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Course Support Specialist in Portland, OR

    I worked at Portland State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible hours and schedule. A great opportunity to reinforce your knowledge and help new students learn

    Cons

    Will depend on the professor you work for

    Portland State University2020-05-13
  5. "Excellent experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Portland State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Generous salary, excellent work conditions overall

    Cons

    I cannot think of anything.

    Portland State University2020-04-09
  6. "good place for graduate students in CS"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Portland State University part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Active and friendly environment; sufficient compensation for CS grad student

    Cons

    right in downtown, difficult to find a good apartment for long term

    Portland State University2020-04-06
  7. "Great jobs for Students"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Program Specialist in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Portland State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    PSU motivates and trains their full-time staff to treat student employees well--it's extremely flexible, a lot of jobs are chill, and my position gave me opportunities to actively help other students and learn new skills relevant to my future career.

    Cons

    Oftentimes these student positions don't pay well. It is what it is.

    Portland State University2020-03-20
  8. "Diverse work culture"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Teaching Assistant in Portland, OR

    I worked at Portland State University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Helpful peers, Diverse work culture, Accommodating staff

    Cons

    As a student its hard to manage all the responsibilities in given time

    Portland State University2020-03-11
  9. "Great Place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Worker in West Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Portland State University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This is a great place to work

    Cons

    The university is in downtown so parking can be tough

    Portland State University2020-03-07
  10. "STEM departments pay more than other departments at PSU"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Portland State University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Tuition remission Fees coverage Free hospital available for students, staff and faculty

    Cons

    No health insurance A summer teaching assistantship is not guarantee

    Portland State University2020-02-27
Found 415 reviews