Portola Pharmaceuticals Reviews | Glassdoor

Portola Pharmaceuticals Reviews

Updated Dec 12, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
Portola Pharmaceuticals CEO Scott Garland
Scott Garland
0 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Company with alot of growth potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Portola Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to work, committed employees, good additions to executive management.

    Cons

    Can't think of any. Company has been adding employees to sales/marketing and to fill out infrastructure.

    Portola Pharmaceuticals2018-12-13
  2. "Good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Portola Pharmaceuticals

    Pros

    Friendly collegial environment with good benefits

    Cons

    Food should be subsidized for contractors and improve the dry clinical look of the office

    Advice to Management

    They should hire more contractors

    Portola Pharmaceuticals2018-07-26
  3. "TAM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Portola Pharmaceuticals full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Awesome pay and management structure.

      Cons

      Lack of direction and bonus potential is bad

      Portola Pharmaceuticals2018-05-21
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great Place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Portola Pharmaceuticals

      Pros

      Great Environment to work in

      Cons

      Can't really think of anything bad

      Portola Pharmaceuticals2017-09-21
    • Helpful (9)

      "Unprofessional at best"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Portola Pharmaceuticals

        Pros

        A stream of income as well as the many potential drugs that are in the company portfolio. The pay is decent .

        Cons

        A very odd culture in the Quality group ; will seek out staff that isn't the best for projects and label them haphazardly . Senior management is odd due to the top level individuals who come from organizations that were not the best.

        Advice to Management

        What to say to managers who simply don't care

        Portola Pharmaceuticals2017-03-30
      • Helpful (2)

        "Portola at a glance"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook

        I worked at Portola Pharmaceuticals full-time

        Pros

        Small enough to have real impact

        Cons

        Tough work life balance overall

        Portola Pharmaceuticals2017-01-24
      • Helpful (1)

        "Bright future for Portola"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in South San Francisco, CA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at Portola Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        smart people, good pipeline, challenging environment

        Cons

        All manufacturing is contracted out

        Portola Pharmaceuticals2016-03-07
      • Helpful (2)

        "Portola"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at Portola Pharmaceuticals full-time

        Pros

        Great Fast paced environment, where you can actually get things done. Great group of people, most are ready to collaborate to move the company forward.

        Cons

        Fast paced isn't for everyone. If you are the type that would rather not stand out, it would be hard to hide here.

        Advice to Management

        Keep doing what you are doing. The company keeps moving forward, and we get an amazing amount done with very little it terms of resources.

        Portola Pharmaceuticals2015-12-18
      • Helpful (3)

        "Innovative science + Highly experienced management team"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Portola Pharmaceuticals

        Pros

        I found myself surrounded by a lot of smart people who care. Great learning experience.

        Cons

        My manager was rather busy so that I had less time to learn from him in the beginning.

        Portola Pharmaceuticals2014-05-29
      • Helpful (2)

        "Great company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends

        I have been working at Portola Pharmaceuticals full-time

        Pros

        Interesting science is to be had

        Cons

        Some management lacks the knowledge on how to deal with people in a respectful manner.

        Portola Pharmaceuticals2014-03-17
      Found 12 reviews