Portsmouth Naval Shipyard Reviews | Glassdoor

Portsmouth Naval Shipyard Reviews

Updated Aug 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 34 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Industrial Engineer in Kittery, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Portsmouth Naval Shipyard full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, patriotic, good work life balance

    Cons

    Lots of red tape but you get used to it

    Continue reading
    Portsmouth Naval Shipyard2018-12-07
  2. "Worked at PNSY for 3 years after a few years of military work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Test Engineer in Kittery, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Portsmouth Naval Shipyard full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Growing, opportunities to move around, overtime, and job security. Rewarding, though. Every day I went home feeling like I had done something good for this nation and our tax payers but that might just be me.

    Cons

    Government entity, so there is little chance of changing anything (although some changes do occur). Good Ole' Boy system for promotions. A lot of cranky people to deal with. Fear prevents beneficial changes. Workers are not really empowered with everything necessary to best perform their jobs. VERY VERY VERY silo functioning organization. Also, it is nuclear power, and nuclear power is > literally anything else in anyone's life. It will come first.

    Continue reading
    Portsmouth Naval Shipyard2019-08-14
  3. "Good pay, benefits, time off and fullfilling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Shop Zone Manager in Portsmouth, NH

    I have been working at Portsmouth Naval Shipyard full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay, time off, benefits, travel, interesting work

    Cons

    Parking on yard can meet getting to work long before shift or sitting in traffic at the end of the day

    Continue reading
    Portsmouth Naval Shipyard2019-05-24
  4. "Decent place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Shipwright 

    I have been working at Portsmouth Naval Shipyard full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, travel, pay, overtime

    Cons

    Management, protected employees that have bad attitudes

    Continue reading
    Portsmouth Naval Shipyard2019-04-08
  5. "Stay clear"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Kittery, ME
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Portsmouth Naval Shipyard full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good salary after first three or four years, decent benefits

    Cons

    nepotism, favoritism, and all the isms.

    Continue reading
    Portsmouth Naval Shipyard2019-02-05
  6. "Good for some"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kittery, ME
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Portsmouth Naval Shipyard full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Enough overtime for everyone. Good place to work if you aren't that "think out of the box" smart. Great if don't want to go to college and start after high school.

    Cons

    I think my pros kind of laid out one of the con. Not great if you don't want to be bored and want an exiting career.

    Continue reading
    Portsmouth Naval Shipyard2019-01-29
  7. "Nuclear systems engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Portsmouth Naval Shipyard full-time

    Pros

    Great operational experience. You learn how to interface with many departments, and work on very complex systems.

    Cons

    Promotions appear to be based on popularity, as talented engineers can remain in the same roles for years.

    Continue reading
    Portsmouth Naval Shipyard2018-11-06
  8. "Shift Test Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Portsmouth Naval Shipyard full-time

    Pros

    Great people, lots of travel and overtime.

    Cons

    Lots of travel and overtime.

    Continue reading
    Portsmouth Naval Shipyard2018-11-09
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Mechanical Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanical Engineer in Kittery, ME
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Portsmouth Naval Shipyard full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting products and challenging work. Depending on the Division, my work was very enjoyable, and I actually used my engineering knowledge. If you find the right place for you, it can be a great career. Free clearance included. Fantastic work-life balance because you can't take anything home. Hourly pay and overtime for every position, if available.

    Cons

    That being said, there are so many employees in most Divisions that are coasting to a cushy retirement. The pension and benefits attract people who work for 3 years to become permanent, and then look at the ocean after that until age 62. Pay is not very competitive, around 20% below average, and that increases as engineers gain experience. Hiring process makes promises that they can't keep. No benefit for work above and beyond, or recognition/reward for exemplary employees, other than advancement opportunities down the road. The rules and regulations, red tape can bog down pay, leave, work process, delivery, safety etc. Veteran preference can push aside qualified candidates for positions. Long onboarding process, 6+ months.

    Continue reading
    Portsmouth Naval Shipyard2018-11-02
  10. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Portsmouth Naval Shipyard full-time

    Pros

    Great work flexibility and certain jobs give the ability to travel for work.

    Cons

    Can be slow getting work done.

    Continue reading
    Portsmouth Naval Shipyard2018-10-16
Found 34 reviews